how to get transform tool to *not* effect adjacent frames before application

Please use this part to report bugs & errors, ask questions & "How to..."
Post Reply
etillmans
Posts: 1
Joined: 15 Jan 2020, 00:29

how to get transform tool to *not* effect adjacent frames before application

Post by etillmans » 15 Jan 2020, 18:16

I'm working with a veteran animator who is comfortable with several animation programs but is new to TV Paint. I'm trying to help him by finding ways for him to recreate the workflow he's used to.

What he wants is to be able to transform pieces of his animation and flip back and forth between other frames before applying the transformation. He's used to other programs where he can transform a selected piece and flip back and forth to check it. Transform, flip, transform, flip. Once he likes it, then he applies the transformation. In TV paint this is what we're starting with (f45):

Image

In that frame (f45), he rotates the selection a bit:
Image

but now if he wants to flip ahead or behind, he gets frames like these (f47):
Image

So when he goes back and forth (45/47/45/47), he gets this:

Image

but he wants to compare to the unaltered frame. He wants to see this when he goes back and forth (45/47/45/47):

Image

Is this possible? Thank you in advance for any help.
E

User avatar
Soom
Posts: 758
Joined: 25 Jul 2011, 16:25
Location: World
Contact:

Re: how to get transform tool to *not* effect adjacent frames before application

Post by Soom » 16 Jan 2020, 00:50

Oooooohh, yes, very painful behavior, I don't like it either. Unfortunately that's the only way this works.
There must be an option to disable that!
You should submit it as a feature request if it wasn't already
I somehow got used to it, and learned to quickly work around it (a series of transforms and undoes until I reach the desired result), but I agree it is kind of an overlook, slows down certain workflows, and should be solved.
iMac, Os 10.12.6, Cintiq 22", TVP Std 11.0.8

User avatar
Hironori Takagi
Posts: 77
Joined: 14 May 2018, 10:15
Location: Tokyo, Japan
Contact:

Re: how to get transform tool to *not* effect adjacent frames before application

Post by Hironori Takagi » 16 Jan 2020, 03:31

What do you want matched below?

・When using the transform tool and move to the next instance, want to be previewed in its original position

This problem was requested long ago, but no solution has been provided.
I think the answer from development is as follows.
"Can you recognize the next instance by displaying the next instance using the light table?"
TVPaint 11.0.9, Windows10 Pro, DELL Precision M3800 / Mac OS 10.15, Apple Mac Pro(Late 2013)

User avatar
Catriona
Posts: 45
Joined: 10 Apr 2018, 09:34
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: how to get transform tool to *not* effect adjacent frames before application

Post by Catriona » 16 Jan 2020, 10:14

This feature is always catching me out too. I'd love to be able to turn it off. It throws me into a panic when it starts to shift things around without me asking it to!

User avatar
daninski
Posts: 215
Joined: 01 Oct 2015, 12:13
Location: Budapest/Newport
Contact:

Re: how to get transform tool to *not* effect adjacent frames before application

Post by daninski » 16 Jan 2020, 12:33

It is annoying as hell. I've made myself try and use the onion skinning to try and judge it, but that's not ideal.
http://www.daninski.com
Award winning director with an iMac from about 2013 and a cintiq from about 2009, there's some RAM too.

Post Reply