Another Brush Request

Please use this part to report bugs & errors, ask questions & "How to..."
Post Reply
trashmold
Posts: 2
Joined: 29 Nov 2019, 10:11

Another Brush Request

Post by trashmold » 15 Dec 2019, 10:34

Hey fellas.
Fist post here so I'm sorry if this is the wrong place or if people already asked this.
It's not possible to import a photoshop brush into tvpaint... right?
If so, how can I recreate this certain brush?
Image
Thanks for the help!

User avatar
slowtiger
Posts: 2468
Joined: 08 May 2008, 21:10
Location: berlin, germany
Contact:

Re: Another Brush Request

Post by slowtiger » 15 Dec 2019, 10:44

This is quite simple. Create some frames with irregular shapes in different sizes: these arte the brush tips. Cut out all as AnimBrush. Set animation and direction to random, size to pressure, and experiment a bit with the other settings. Enjoy.
TVP 10.0.18, Mac Pro Quadcore 3 GHz, 16 GB RAM, OS 10.11, QT 7.7.3

trashmold
Posts: 2
Joined: 29 Nov 2019, 10:11

Re: Another Brush Request

Post by trashmold » 15 Dec 2019, 10:58

slowtiger wrote:
15 Dec 2019, 10:44
This is quite simple. Create some frames with irregular shapes in different sizes: these arte the brush tips. Cut out all as AnimBrush. Set animation and direction to random, size to pressure, and experiment a bit with the other settings. Enjoy.
I think this is going into the right direction but i still need to experiment more.
Thanks for the reply! While i have you here, how come the brush is always a bit laggy when I draw?
Its like i have to move a certain amount before the stroke appears...
Image

User avatar
slowtiger
Posts: 2468
Joined: 08 May 2008, 21:10
Location: berlin, germany
Contact:

Re: Another Brush Request

Post by slowtiger » 15 Dec 2019, 17:31

Can depend on so many things - but take care to switch off smoothing in the brush settings, you don't need it here.
TVP 10.0.18, Mac Pro Quadcore 3 GHz, 16 GB RAM, OS 10.11, QT 7.7.3

User avatar
Soom
Posts: 772
Joined: 25 Jul 2011, 16:25
Location: World
Contact:

Re: Another Brush Request

Post by Soom » 16 Jan 2020, 01:16

trashmold wrote:
15 Dec 2019, 10:58
While i have you here, how come the brush is always a bit laggy when I draw?
Its like i have to move a certain amount before the stroke appears...
Please post all your computer specifications and TVP version
Hackintosh, OS 10.13.6, Cintiq 22", TVP Std 11.0.10, http://danasb.com

User avatar
daninski
Posts: 248
Joined: 01 Oct 2015, 12:13
Location: Budapest/Newport
Contact:

Re: Another Brush Request

Post by daninski » 21 Jan 2020, 11:20

You might want to make your brush size similar to the size you'll be drawing with it. Scaling a brush too far from it's origin will start getting laggy.
http://www.daninski.com
Award winning director with an iMac from about 2013 and a cintiq from about 2009, there's some RAM too.

Post Reply