Unable to 'save as,' bug

Please use this part to report bugs & errors, ask questions & "How to..."
Post Reply
User avatar
my1ironlung
Posts: 18
Joined: 18 Sep 2013, 15:22

Unable to 'save as,' bug

Post by my1ironlung » 02 Jul 2020, 03:03

Hi, I recently opened up an auto saved file, and then tried to 'save as' a normal project, and after i press 'Save,' the save dialog would freeze and go blank for about 30 seconds, then revert to same saving window as if I had not pressed anything. Eventually I had to force quit. This happened to a co worker as well, when she was trying to save a project that the size of the canvas was modified.
specs:
mac OS catalina, 10.15.5
tvapaint v11.0.8
Mac Pro from 2014,

Padruig
Posts: 14
Joined: 04 Jul 2011, 16:33

Re: Unable to 'save as,' bug

Post by Padruig » 02 Jul 2020, 03:47

I had this happen to me twice. I created a post about it here: viewtopic.php?f=10&t=13405

The developers looked into it, but couldn’t recreate the issue. I am using a Mac as well. Hopefully, the problem can be found. I haven’t had it happen for while but nervous it will occur again.

User avatar
my1ironlung
Posts: 18
Joined: 18 Sep 2013, 15:22

Re: Unable to 'save as,' bug

Post by my1ironlung » 02 Jul 2020, 03:55

Ah ok, sounds like the consensus is to remove the preferences/config file so that it can be rewritten fresh.

User avatar
Xavier
Site Admin
Posts: 247
Joined: 01 Oct 2019, 11:08

Re: Unable to 'save as,' bug

Post by Xavier » 02 Jul 2020, 09:13

my1ironlung wrote:
02 Jul 2020, 03:55
Ah ok, sounds like the consensus is to remove the preferences/config file so that it can be rewritten fresh.
Well, this could help when we don't know what's happening
teeveemoooo !

User avatar
Xavier
Site Admin
Posts: 247
Joined: 01 Oct 2019, 11:08

Re: Unable to 'save as,' bug

Post by Xavier » 02 Jul 2020, 09:16

my1ironlung wrote:
02 Jul 2020, 03:03
This happened to a co worker as well, when she was trying to save a project that the size of the canvas was modified.
Looks like a hint for a bug !

But what happens if you just "save" the file, without using the "save as" dialog ?
Are you able to share your file so that we can try and reproduce the issue ?
teeveemoooo !

User avatar
Dean
Site Admin
Posts: 285
Joined: 28 May 2018, 09:07

Re: Unable to 'save as,' bug

Post by Dean » 02 Jul 2020, 09:23

Hi my1ironlung,
We have found that resetting one's configuration file solves this kind of issue.

There are 2 ways to do it:

1) In the Startup tab of the Preferences, choose "Open startup Panel"

Image

On the startup panel, you can delete/duplicate/create a new config for your TVPaint.

Image

or

2) You can delete the config manually and a new one will be generated at next launch.

It is located in Library > tvp animation 11/pro > default > config.ini (name of the file you have to delete).

But the system Library folder is hidden by default on MacOS, you can follow this guide to reveal it:

https://www.noterepeat.com/articles/how ... ry-folders
-Sales and Support-
Probably a vampire

m-ries
Posts: 3
Joined: 26 Feb 2016, 14:01

Re: Unable to 'save as,' bug

Post by m-ries » 03 Jul 2020, 16:12

Hello,

I experienced the same problem before and am now experiencing it again.
I already once deleted my config file after the problem appeared (also did so because of the retina-display-lag-bug) but now the problem appeared again.
Did not change the canvas size as previously assumed; just opened a project file, worked on it, tried to save as new version – lost my work because TVP stopped responding in the "save as" dialogue.

Best regards

Matthias

User avatar
Xavier
Site Admin
Posts: 247
Joined: 01 Oct 2019, 11:08

Re: Unable to 'save as,' bug

Post by Xavier » 17 Jul 2020, 10:59

m-ries wrote:
03 Jul 2020, 16:12
I experienced the same problem before and am now experiencing it again.
I already once deleted my config file after the problem appeared (also did so because of the retina-display-lag-bug) but now the problem appeared again.
Did not change the canvas size as previously assumed; just opened a project file, worked on it, tried to save as new version – lost my work because TVP stopped responding in the "save as" dialogue.
Which version do you use ?
teeveemoooo !

User avatar
Dean
Site Admin
Posts: 285
Joined: 28 May 2018, 09:07

Re: Unable to 'save as,' bug

Post by Dean » 17 Jul 2020, 11:05

I have noticed that hitting ESCAPE while in the save/open dialogue closes the file explorer and allows you to work again and retry saving.
In somes cases, just clicking out of the explorer window fixes the issue.

We are currently looking into this issue :)
-Sales and Support-
Probably a vampire

Post Reply