multipy mode difference

This section is dedicated to the feature & improvement requests (be sure what you are asking does not exist yet in TVPaint Animation ;) )
User avatar
Hironori Takagi
Posts: 124
Joined: 14 May 2018, 10:15
Location: Tokyo, Japan
Contact:

multipy mode difference

Post by Hironori Takagi » 31 Jan 2020, 04:29

I point out what I noticed while testing my custom panel.
That is about TVPaint's composite mode "multiply".
Can you solve the problem that is not displayed when exporting with transparent background?
Attach the image that compared to Photoshop.
Thank you.
200131_multiply_difference.jpg
TVPaint 11.0.10, Windows10 Pro, DELL Precision M3800 / TVPaint 11.5.0 Mac OS 11.0.1, Apple Mac Pro(Late 2013)

User avatar
D.T. Nethery
Posts: 2668
Joined: 27 Sep 2006, 19:19

Re: multipy mode difference

Post by D.T. Nethery » 31 Jan 2020, 14:35

+1 .

I have often noticed this odd behavior of TVPaint with layers that are in multiply blend mode . It's not possible to export them with transparency.

But it is possible with Photoshop . (and also Autodesk Sketchbook , Artrage, Gimp). So this should be possible with TVPaint , too, I would hope.
MAC OS 10.12.6 , Macbook Pro Retina 15-inch, Mid 2015,
2.5 GHz Intel Core i7, 16 GB Memory , TVPaint PRO 11.0.8, 64bit -
Wacom Cintiq 21 UX - Wacom Intuos Pro 5 - driver version 6.3.20-8

User avatar
D.T. Nethery
Posts: 2668
Joined: 27 Sep 2006, 19:19

Re: multipy mode difference

Post by D.T. Nethery » 31 Jan 2020, 15:32

This issue with how TVPaint applies blend modes such as Multiply goes back to another issue (from 2014) which never had a response from anyone at TVPaint, in this thread:

http://www.tvpaint.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=8738

Peter Wassink summed up the issue in the last post of that thread:
Peter Wassink wrote:
17 Feb 2015, 17:10
this issue... when exporting images with layers set in blend modes (other then Color) ...
I'm just wondering about the logic and desirability of the current behaviour
[in TVPaint] ?
The advantage of a "what you see is what you get" behaviour [as in Photoshop] is probably obvious,
but what is the advantage of the current behaviour in TVPaint? I suspect it has to do with some deeper level of logic?
MAC OS 10.12.6 , Macbook Pro Retina 15-inch, Mid 2015,
2.5 GHz Intel Core i7, 16 GB Memory , TVPaint PRO 11.0.8, 64bit -
Wacom Cintiq 21 UX - Wacom Intuos Pro 5 - driver version 6.3.20-8

User avatar
Xavier
Site Admin
Posts: 391
Joined: 01 Oct 2019, 11:08

Re: multipy mode difference

Post by Xavier » 11 Sep 2020, 16:49

Guys, could you please provide a scenario to reproduce this bug ?

Sorry, I'm only a developer :mrgreen:
Short but strong

User avatar
Hironori Takagi
Posts: 124
Joined: 14 May 2018, 10:15
Location: Tokyo, Japan
Contact:

Re: multipy mode difference

Post by Hironori Takagi » 15 Sep 2020, 09:12

please check this.
I advise you to check off "Background" in the export settings.
Attachments
20200915.tvpp
(117.02 KiB) Downloaded 81 times
20200915.png
20200915.png (7.12 KiB) Viewed 2180 times
TVPaint 11.0.10, Windows10 Pro, DELL Precision M3800 / TVPaint 11.5.0 Mac OS 11.0.1, Apple Mac Pro(Late 2013)

User avatar
cgmodeler
Posts: 91
Joined: 23 Oct 2012, 23:59
Location: Mexico/France/Japan
Contact:

Re: multipy mode difference

Post by cgmodeler » 15 Sep 2020, 10:16

Xavier wrote:
11 Sep 2020, 16:49
Guys, could you please provide a scenario to reproduce this bug ?

Sorry, I'm only a developer :mrgreen:
You have several layers with multiply mode on a transparent background

The resulting image when exported without background is empty, meaning that since multiply mode has nothing to blend it with on TVPAINT, the resulting image is blank.

The expected behavior is like in photoshop where the exported image is exported with a certain amount of transparency.
www.cocoalopez.com
vimeo / 156794487
Desktop: TVP Pro 11.0.8 - 64bit Win 7 x64 48GB RAM - GTX1070 - Cintiq 27QHD Driver 6.3.29

User avatar
Xavier
Site Admin
Posts: 391
Joined: 01 Oct 2019, 11:08

Re: multipy mode difference

Post by Xavier » 15 Sep 2020, 10:24

Thanks ! working on it.

By the way it will be another multiply mode, since users already work(ed) on projects that rely on the current multiply mode.

And just for the info: actually, the current multiply mode is consistent with GIMP :wink:
Short but strong

User avatar
Xavier
Site Admin
Posts: 391
Joined: 01 Oct 2019, 11:08

Re: multipy mode difference

Post by Xavier » 19 Nov 2020, 21:48

Question : do we agree that for the bottom layer, when there is nothing or just the background below, the blending mode of the layer can only be "color" ? (I think I should lock the blendmode list for the first layer)
Short but strong

User avatar
slowtiger
Posts: 2514
Joined: 08 May 2008, 21:10
Location: berlin, germany
Contact:

Re: multipy mode difference

Post by slowtiger » 19 Nov 2020, 22:07

If by first layer you mean the bottommost one, then yes, this makes sense.
TVP 10.0.18, Mac Pro Quadcore 3 GHz, 16 GB RAM, OS 10.11, QT 7.7.3

User avatar
cgmodeler
Posts: 91
Joined: 23 Oct 2012, 23:59
Location: Mexico/France/Japan
Contact:

Re: multipy mode difference

Post by cgmodeler » 19 Nov 2020, 22:38

Xavier wrote:
19 Nov 2020, 21:48
Question : do we agree that for the first layer, when there is nothing or just the background below, the blending mode of the layer can only be "color" ? (I think I should lock the blendmode list for the first layer)
I think that can create workflow issues, if you're going to import resources from another software like photoshop, sai, gimp, krita, etc... and some of the bottom layers have a blending mode then it wont display properly on tvpaint since the bottom layer will be limited to color.

Also if you use it to share layers across projects you would like to keep that mode so the layer can be copied on another project.

I would recommend not to block a blendmode to a layer, you would be forced to create a bottom layer then the one you're going to copy on top etc... I can see a great ammount of issues arising because of this.
www.cocoalopez.com
vimeo / 156794487
Desktop: TVP Pro 11.0.8 - 64bit Win 7 x64 48GB RAM - GTX1070 - Cintiq 27QHD Driver 6.3.29

User avatar
Peter Wassink
Posts: 3698
Joined: 17 Feb 2006, 15:38
Location: Amsterdam (Basse-Lotharingie)
Contact:

Re: multipy mode difference

Post by Peter Wassink » 20 Nov 2020, 09:25

Xavier wrote:
19 Nov 2020, 21:48
Question : do we agree that for the first layer, when there is nothing or just the background below, the blending mode of the layer can only be "color" ? (I think I should lock the blendmode list for the first layer)
I agree. The blendoptions on the bottomlayer make no sense.

cgmodeler wrote:
19 Nov 2020, 22:38

I think that can create workflow issues, if you're going to import resources from another software like photoshop, sai, gimp, krita, etc... and some of the bottom layers have a blending mode then it wont display properly on tvpaint since the bottom layer will be limited to color.

Also if you use it to share layers across projects you would like to keep that mode so the layer can be copied on another project.

I would recommend not to block a blendmode to a layer, you would be forced to create a bottom layer then the one you're going to copy on top etc... I can see a great ammount of issues arising because of this.
Xavier doesn't mean locking it to a specific layer.... but to the bottomlayer... so that whatever layer happens to be on the bottom will then be set to 'color'
Peter Wassink - 2D animator
• PC: Win10/64 Home - Xeon Quadcore E5410@2.33Ghz - 12Gb RAM
• laptop: Win10/64 Pro - i7-4600@2.1 GHz - 16Gb RAM

User avatar
Xavier
Site Admin
Posts: 391
Joined: 01 Oct 2019, 11:08

Re: multipy mode difference

Post by Xavier » 20 Nov 2020, 13:28

Thanks Peter for the clarification !
Sorry for the confusion with the vocabulary : yes, my question was about the bottommost layer and only this one ;)

So I'd do the same as with the switch to "display current layer" : when a layer is the bottommost, then its blending mode is overriden and set to "color" as long as it remains at the bottom.
Short but strong

User avatar
cgmodeler
Posts: 91
Joined: 23 Oct 2012, 23:59
Location: Mexico/France/Japan
Contact:

Re: multipy mode difference

Post by cgmodeler » 20 Nov 2020, 13:43

Peter Wassink wrote:
20 Nov 2020, 09:25

Xavier doesn't mean locking it to a specific layer.... but to the bottomlayer... so that whatever layer happens to be on the bottom will then be set to 'color'
I understood that, so the scenario I presented was when you bring resources from other software and open it for example a PSD ? Then your bottomlayer will be turned to another blending mode.

There are several case use for this, for example you bring a template with multiply from a psd it's 1 layer, the moment you open it on TVP the mode will be turned to color

Bring fx layers handpainted from a sequence that was worked in photoshop, sai, etc... with their blending modes set beforehand, the moment you import the file the bottom layer that had any blending mode, itll be turned to color too.
www.cocoalopez.com
vimeo / 156794487
Desktop: TVP Pro 11.0.8 - 64bit Win 7 x64 48GB RAM - GTX1070 - Cintiq 27QHD Driver 6.3.29

User avatar
Xavier
Site Admin
Posts: 391
Joined: 01 Oct 2019, 11:08

Re: multipy mode difference

Post by Xavier » 20 Nov 2020, 15:20

So you say that the blending mode of the bottom layer is actually meaningful ?

I'd like to understand, could you please provide an example ? a PSD file where the bottom layer blending ends up being different than color for instance ?
(just to mention : I'm a developer, not an artist, so it may be obvious to you but to me it's not)
Short but strong

User avatar
cgmodeler
Posts: 91
Joined: 23 Oct 2012, 23:59
Location: Mexico/France/Japan
Contact:

Re: multipy mode difference

Post by cgmodeler » 20 Nov 2020, 15:23

Xavier wrote:
20 Nov 2020, 15:20
So you say that the blending mode of the bottom layer is actually meaningful ?

I'd like to understand, could you please provide an example ?
(just to mention : I'm a developer, not an artist, so it may be obvious to you but to me it's not)
Sure, I'm just finishing a deadline here but after done I can send a tvp/psd files with a case where it's used. Also I'm pretty sure Takagi San can input on this as well.
www.cocoalopez.com
vimeo / 156794487
Desktop: TVP Pro 11.0.8 - 64bit Win 7 x64 48GB RAM - GTX1070 - Cintiq 27QHD Driver 6.3.29

Post Reply