more logic behaviour when deleting the first frame(s) of a layer

This section is dedicated to the feature & improvement requests (be sure what you are asking does not exist yet in TVPaint Animation ;) )
Post Reply
User avatar
Peter Wassink
Posts: 3593
Joined: 17 Feb 2006, 15:38
Location: Amsterdam (Basse-Lotharingie)
Contact:

more logic behaviour when deleting the first frame(s) of a layer

Post by Peter Wassink » 28 Aug 2020, 16:46

When you are anywhere on the tail of a layer and you delete a selection of frames (or just one), the layer remains at its start position and the frames after the selection are shifted to the left.
so far so good.

My request is that when a selection of frames on a layer includes the first frame, deleting this selection, should leave the remaining frames at the position that they were
In by far the most cases i delete the first part of a layer to trim it to match other layers, meaning the rest of the layer should stay put.
Now, after deleting
begin frames, i always have to re-shift the remains back to where they were before.

the general logic in layer behaviour when deleting frames should be:
deleting frames lets the layer stay in position on the timeline

What do others think?
Last edited by Peter Wassink on 29 Aug 2020, 00:35, edited 2 times in total.
Peter Wassink - 2D animator
• PC: Win10/64 Home - Xeon Quadcore E5410@2.33Ghz - 12Gb RAM
• laptop: Win10/64 Pro - i7-4600@2.1 GHz - 8Gb RAM

User avatar
Paul Fierlinger
Posts: 7737
Joined: 03 May 2008, 12:05
Location: Pennsylvania USA
Contact:

Re: more logic behaviour when deleting the first frame(s) of a layer

Post by Paul Fierlinger » 28 Aug 2020, 16:51

I agree and use this quite often.
Paul
http://www.slocumfilm.com
Desktop PC Win10-Pro -64 bit OS; 32.0 GB RAM
Processor: i7-2600 CPU@3.40GHz
AMD FirePro V7900; Intuos4 Wacom tablet

User avatar
slowtiger
Posts: 2480
Joined: 08 May 2008, 21:10
Location: berlin, germany
Contact:

Re: more logic behaviour when deleting the first frame(s) of a layer

Post by slowtiger » 28 Aug 2020, 21:32

+1
TVP 10.0.18, Mac Pro Quadcore 3 GHz, 16 GB RAM, OS 10.11, QT 7.7.3

User avatar
schwarzgrau
Posts: 1084
Joined: 23 Jan 2012, 22:08
Location: Offenbach / Germany
Contact:

Re: more logic behaviour when deleting the first frame(s) of a layer

Post by schwarzgrau » 30 Aug 2020, 18:40

Yea +1 from me too
Mac OS X 10.13.6 / TVP 11.0.8 PRO / Cintiq 22HD
Mac OS X 10.13.6 / TVP 11.0.8 PRO / Cintiq Companion 2
SCHWARZGRAU.COM

2dbert
Posts: 65
Joined: 08 Aug 2008, 20:49

Re: more logic behaviour when deleting the first frame(s) of a layer

Post by 2dbert » 30 Aug 2020, 19:55

I don't object, but wouldn't it be quite easy to just split the layer, then delete the layer containing the first unwanted frames?
Mac OSX Version 10.9 - 2GHz Intel Core 64(? I think so at least)bit - 4GB 1600 MHz DDR3 - Intel HD Graphics 4000 1024 MB
Yiynova MSP19U
TvPaint Animation 11.0.6 Pro

User avatar
Paul Fierlinger
Posts: 7737
Joined: 03 May 2008, 12:05
Location: Pennsylvania USA
Contact:

Re: more logic behaviour when deleting the first frame(s) of a layer

Post by Paul Fierlinger » 30 Aug 2020, 21:27

Sure, that's the damn inconvenient workaround. That's a whole lot of extra clicks.
Paul
http://www.slocumfilm.com
Desktop PC Win10-Pro -64 bit OS; 32.0 GB RAM
Processor: i7-2600 CPU@3.40GHz
AMD FirePro V7900; Intuos4 Wacom tablet

Svengali
Posts: 1310
Joined: 28 Dec 2006, 10:08
Contact:

Re: more logic behaviour when deleting the first frame(s) of a layer

Post by Svengali » 31 Aug 2020, 05:07

Here's a button/script called "DELETE FIRST" which I think does what you propose, Peter.

Here are the rules for using:


1. BE SURE TO TEST ON NON-CRITICAL PROJECT FIRST TO MAKE SURE YOU UNDERSTAND
AND TRUST HOW IT WORKS.

2.ONLY USE when you are deleting the BEGINNING FRAME (AND ONE-OR-MORE
FOLLOWING FRAMES) from the current layer. Note that the beginning frame
need not be frame number 1.

3. Start by selecting the frames to be removed (always include the beginning frame)
on the current layer.

4. Click the "Delete First" button.

5. Result on the current layer will remove the selected frames and
reposition the remaining frames so they maintain their original
positions.

If you try it, please post problems or suggested changes/enhancements, thanks.

Sven
Attachments
DeleteFirst.tvpx
(106.5 KiB) Downloaded 8 times
Desktop: tvp Pro 11.0.10-64bit, Win8.1 - 24GB ram -2TB HHD - 256GB SSD - Wacom Cintiq 16, driver 6.3.36-1
Android Tablet: release 11, Samsung Galaxy Note10.1 - 32GB internal - microSD 32GB

User avatar
D.T. Nethery
Posts: 2628
Joined: 27 Sep 2006, 19:19

Re: more logic behaviour when deleting the first frame(s) of a layer

Post by D.T. Nethery » 02 Sep 2020, 14:29

Peter Wassink wrote:
28 Aug 2020, 16:46

the general logic in layer behaviour when deleting frames should be:
deleting frames lets the layer stay in position on the timeline

What do others think?
+1
MAC OS 10.12.6 , Macbook Pro Retina 15-inch, Mid 2015,
2.5 GHz Intel Core i7, 16 GB Memory , TVPaint PRO 11.0.8, 64bit -
Wacom Cintiq 21 UX - Wacom Intuos Pro 5 - driver version 6.3.20-8

User avatar
D.T. Nethery
Posts: 2628
Joined: 27 Sep 2006, 19:19

Re: more logic behaviour when deleting the first frame(s) of a layer

Post by D.T. Nethery » 02 Sep 2020, 14:32

2dbert wrote:
30 Aug 2020, 19:55
I don't object, but wouldn't it be quite easy to just split the layer, then delete the layer containing the first unwanted frames?
That is a workaround I use , but as Paul mentions it is a bit of a pain to do it like that.

I notice that the always helpful Svengali has posted a script to accomplish this , so I'm looking forward to trying Sven's script . However, I still agree with Peter's request to have the default behaviour be : deleting frames lets the layer stay in position on the timeline .
MAC OS 10.12.6 , Macbook Pro Retina 15-inch, Mid 2015,
2.5 GHz Intel Core i7, 16 GB Memory , TVPaint PRO 11.0.8, 64bit -
Wacom Cintiq 21 UX - Wacom Intuos Pro 5 - driver version 6.3.20-8

User avatar
Paul Fierlinger
Posts: 7737
Joined: 03 May 2008, 12:05
Location: Pennsylvania USA
Contact:

Re: more logic behaviour when deleting the first frame(s) of a layer

Post by Paul Fierlinger » 02 Sep 2020, 17:42

Svengali's script is very simple and direct; one button called, Delete First, and that's precisely what happens when you underline any amount of frames and click on the button; the selected frames get deleted without causing the layer to jump to the left.
Paul
http://www.slocumfilm.com
Desktop PC Win10-Pro -64 bit OS; 32.0 GB RAM
Processor: i7-2600 CPU@3.40GHz
AMD FirePro V7900; Intuos4 Wacom tablet

User avatar
Peter Wassink
Posts: 3593
Joined: 17 Feb 2006, 15:38
Location: Amsterdam (Basse-Lotharingie)
Contact:

Re: more logic behaviour when deleting the first frame(s) of a layer

Post by Peter Wassink » 04 Sep 2020, 15:43

Maybe its an idea to have the "lock position" option (handsymbol in the layer header) play a role.

when selected the layer does not move.
when unselected the layer jumps to remain at its old start position.
Peter Wassink - 2D animator
• PC: Win10/64 Home - Xeon Quadcore E5410@2.33Ghz - 12Gb RAM
• laptop: Win10/64 Pro - i7-4600@2.1 GHz - 8Gb RAM

Post Reply