Page 1 of 1

Clips Batch Renaming

Posted: 30 Dec 2011, 08:08
by Mads Juul
Here's a tool for batch renaming your clips.
Enjoy.
-Mads

Re: Clips Batch Renaming

Posted: 30 Dec 2011, 10:03
by Paul Fierlinger
No undo tool? This would be a large drawback if so. I had to close my project to get my original labels back. :(

Re: Clips Batch Renaming

Posted: 30 Dec 2011, 10:17
by Mads Juul
No Undo. I can't do this. A bug in George. or a missing from George.
I think some kind of feature like this should be implemented in TVP. For instance including someting with Scenes numbers. Which I don't use. and therefor don't have in my script. And to include Undo of course.
But what can you expect from a custum script?

-Mads

Re: Clips Batch Renaming

Posted: 30 Dec 2011, 10:35
by Paul Fierlinger
I agree -- it should be a built-in feature. As Peter said, panel numbers and clip labels have to be changed all the time.

Re: Clips Batch Renaming

Posted: 30 Dec 2011, 10:52
by Mads Juul
Paul Fierlinger wrote:panel numbers and clip labels have to be changed all the time.
When I think about it . Most of the times I don't think about naming when I'm working. But just before printing my bords to PDF. I press the rename button.
so the clips have resonable names when printing.
And I used it during working because I don't like the look of untitled left right left etc.

Let's say that for some reason I would have to keep some of the clip names. maybe because me and the cusomer shouls keep travk of a specific clip between to deleveries.
then My batch rename script is useless. I don't know if anyone uses this or this is theoretical?
I just press it before pdf publishing. I

think the importance of the clip name is overrated. most of the time I'm delivering a avi/quicktime anyways. so the specific name of the clip is not even used.

-Mads

Re: Clips Batch Renaming

Posted: 30 Dec 2011, 11:17
by Paul Fierlinger
I make boards in the Thumbnail view -- each panel of the board is a new clip which I like to label before I draw. I give the project an overall name of the sequence and each clip an abbreviation of that name plus it's unique, consecutive number. These numbers are important to me because what started out as a storyboard panel becomes later an animatic and later still a finished, animated clip. To have a good labeling system is important to keep track of these stages of development. This is why I was interested in your script, because at times there comes a need to rename all the prefixes but not the consecutive numbers. That part of your script might still be useful to me as long as I get the name right the first time. :)

Re: Clips Batch Renaming

Posted: 30 Dec 2011, 11:24
by Mads Juul
Paul Fierlinger wrote: That part of your script might still be useful to me as long as I get the name right the first time. :)
good :-)

Re: Clips Batch Renaming

Posted: 07 Dec 2016, 14:08
by NathanOtano
Just wanted to say that I use your script a lot, so thanks for sharing!

Nathan

Re: Clips Batch Renaming

Posted: 19 Dec 2016, 16:04
by Sewie
Yes, fantastic script, Juuls!
A real time saver.

Re: Clips Batch Renaming

Posted: 30 Mar 2018, 08:09
by cgmodeler
And yet another thanks from here. Gracias!