Page 1 of 2

Multi-Backup Directory not working

Posted: 30 Apr 2016, 10:21
by JQuinn
Hello again. Another question....

I have set my Multi-Backup Directory (in preferences) to save to a second place but when I save it only saves to the original place. I've tried putting in different locations but wherever I choose doesn't work. Any thoughts as to what I am doing wrong? I have diligently watched all the saving tutorials and seem to be doing everything correctly. Are there any sneaky boxes I should be ticking elsewhere in preferences?

Thanks

Joanna

Re: Multi-Backup Directory not working

Posted: 01 May 2016, 10:01
by ZigOtto
just in case, when you change a preference setting, you have to quit TVPA, then re-start to take the modification in account.

Re: Multi-Backup Directory not working

Posted: 01 May 2016, 12:25
by JQuinn
Yes I have quit and it still won't save to the set destination. The destination appears in the 'set' box but just won't actually save to there. :(

Re: Multi-Backup Directory not working

Posted: 01 May 2016, 13:56
by ten_zero
Madame, have you got the folder "share permissions" status information under "read/write" or "read only" ?
permission.jpg

Re: Multi-Backup Directory not working

Posted: 01 May 2016, 21:10
by JQuinn
Hi Ten-zero. Under the permissions information for this TVP project I have 'read & write' under my name. The other 2 - staff & everyone has only 'read'. Does this sound right?

Re: Multi-Backup Directory not working

Posted: 02 May 2016, 04:39
by ten_zero
JQuinn wrote:Hi Ten-zero. Under the permissions information for this TVP project I have 'read & write' under my name. The other 2 - staff & everyone has only 'read'. Does this sound right?
Thank you for your check, the .tvpp file seems no problem : For examle OS X -36 copy/reprint failed error).

Again could you check the share permission information about "I have set my Multi-Backup Directory (in preferences) to save to a second place " folder ?
When the under your name folder permission status is "read only" you need to change "read and write" by pull down list.

I wish everything is all right on your monday.

Re: Multi-Backup Directory not working

Posted: 02 May 2016, 12:47
by Thierry
Joanna, is the location where you set your Multi-Backup folder is on a network ? Or is it on your computer ?

Have you tried choosing another folder ?

Re: Multi-Backup Directory not working

Posted: 02 May 2016, 13:46
by JQuinn
Hi Thierry - first I tried to set the server in my studio as the Multi-Backup and that didn't work. Now I am trying to save to the desktop and that doesn't work. FYI all my TVP files are on an external hard drive so this is where the original TVP file is and where it saves to when I press save. That is fine. It's just the path I set as my 'safety' Multi-Backup that doesn't work. I have tried different folders but it makes no difference.

Re: Multi-Backup Directory not working

Posted: 02 May 2016, 14:06
by Thierry
Strange, it works on my computer, whether the multi-backup is on a server or on my local disk..

How many back-ups did you set ?

Re: Multi-Backup Directory not working

Posted: 02 May 2016, 15:12
by JQuinn
I have it set to 3 Backups. This works. On my hard drive I have the latest saved TVP project and 3 previously saved versions. Its just setting it to the alternative location that isn't working.

Maybe I am wrong? I presume I should be able to save to 2 locations - so when I press save it saves to it's original home PLUS another location which I enter into the box that says 'set' Multi -Backup Directory?

Re: Multi-Backup Directory not working

Posted: 02 May 2016, 15:20
by Thierry
JQuinn wrote:Maybe I am wrong? I presume I should be able to save to 2 locations - so when I press save it saves to it's original home PLUS another location which I enter into the box that says 'set' Multi -Backup Directory?
That's how it should work, yes.

Can you give me the path present in the Multi-Backup Directory field ?

Re: Multi-Backup Directory not working

Posted: 02 May 2016, 15:34
by JQuinn
The last place I have tried to save is into my dropbox. I press set and chose this pathway from the menu.

/Users/joannaquinn/Dropbox

Here is a screen grab.
multi Backup.png
multi Backup.png (26.05 KiB) Viewed 18010 times

Re: Multi-Backup Directory not working

Posted: 10 May 2016, 09:05
by Elodie
Hi Joanna,

When I was in your studio, I remember we had an issue to access your network properly : has it been solved since ?

Re: Multi-Backup Directory not working

Posted: 10 May 2016, 15:24
by JQuinn
Hi Elodie

I hope you had a nice break and managed to do all the tasks you needed to do! Well we investigated into the server and the server was working fine. It seems to be a problem with saving to any path. I can only save to the original place and wherever I choose to save my safety backup it just doesn't save. Ive tried to save to the server, the desktop and various hard drives. The problem seems to lie with setting the Multi Backup directory. :(

Re: Multi-Backup Directory not working

Posted: 10 May 2016, 17:09
by Elodie
I had a good time, thanks :)

Hmm, that's weird, since I remember when I managed a few test at your studio, we could autosave on your desktop or another place on the Mac without issue.

Snap, I should have focused more on that, I'm so sorry :(

---

Just a thought : do you have a firewall or an antivirus on your Mac ?