Page 1 of 1

Pasting images directly into TVP

Posted: 05 Jul 2020, 11:55
by the_duajisin
Hi there,
I tried to search for it, but couldn't find any answers regrading my issue:
Is there a way to just paste images into TVP, quickly and without going through the import-image process? CTRL-C -> CTRL-V style. For ex grabbing a screenshot from a movie/from google timeline,etc.

Thank you

Re: Pasting images directly into TVP

Posted: 05 Jul 2020, 13:00
by slowtiger
No.

Re: Pasting images directly into TVP

Posted: 07 Jul 2020, 05:51
by cgmodeler
the_duajisin wrote:
05 Jul 2020, 11:55
Hi there,
I tried to search for it, but couldn't find any answers regrading my issue:
Is there a way to just paste images into TVP, quickly and without going through the import-image process? CTRL-C -> CTRL-V style. For ex grabbing a screenshot from a movie/from google timeline,etc.

Thank you
Yup sure there is, you have to create an action button for: tv_imagefromclipboard
Then assign a shortcut to that action once you've created it.
I assigned "|" since its just a key that goes unused.

That'll create a layer from the clipboard image
EqR6fMnLFj.png
EqR6fMnLFj.png (32.59 KiB) Viewed 2192 times
Also you can do the same for "Get brush from clipboard which is (tv_brushfromclipboard)" in case you want to have some control on where you wanna paste your image.

Re: Pasting images directly into TVP

Posted: 08 Jul 2020, 17:51
by D.T. Nethery
I want to point out that this brings up another example where there is an inconsistency between what a command is named in the main menu vs. what it is named in the Shortcuts list.

To paste in a clipboard image using the main menu > Edit > Clipboard you would use the command New Layer From Clipboard ... but if you want to assign this command to a key in Shortcuts
the command is called Load Image. This makes it confusing for people to assign custom keyboard shortcuts.
Screen Shot 2020-07-08 at 12.08.58 PM.jpg
Screen Shot 2020-07-08 at 12.08.58 PM.jpg (57.58 KiB) Viewed 2145 times
Same command "New Layer from ClipBoard" is called "Load Image" in the shortcuts list:
Screen Shot 2020-07-08 at 12.09.53 PM.jpg
Screen Shot 2020-07-08 at 12.09.53 PM.jpg (13.69 KiB) Viewed 2145 times

The other commands are also not named the same.

In the main menu Edit > Clipboard you have :

Copy Brush to Clipboard , which is "Save Brush" in the shortcuts.
Get Brush from Clipboard which is "Load Brush" in the shortcuts.
Copy Image to Clipboard
which is "Save Image" in the shortcuts.
New Layer from Clipboard which is "Load Image" in the shortcuts.


.

Re: Pasting images directly into TVP

Posted: 08 Jul 2020, 22:01
by cgmodeler
D.T. Nethery wrote:
08 Jul 2020, 17:51
I want to point out that this brings up another example where there is an inconsistency between what a command is named in the main menu vs. what it is named in the Shortcuts list.
Wow I wasn't aware of this, could've saved time :D

Thanks a lot D.T.

Re: Pasting images directly into TVP

Posted: 23 Jul 2020, 09:30
by Xavier
Thanks for pointing out the inconsistencies.
At the very least we'll fix this.