Page 1 of 1

Customized Keyboard Shortcuts Disappearing ?

Posted: 29 Dec 2019, 15:41
by D.T. Nethery
I was watching a livestream on YouTube by Joanna Davidovich, animating with TVPaint.

Starting around the 50:22 mark here: https://youtu.be/0OUTMwlAlj8?t=3022
she is talking about customizing keyboard shortcuts in TVPaint and some frustration she has with shortcuts in TVPaint … at the 50:31 mark she mentions that her customized shortcuts RESET every time she closes and then re-opens TVPaint. https://youtu.be/0OUTMwlAlj8?t=3024

She is on Mac OS 10.14 using TVPaint Pro 11.0.8 .

I messaged her and told her that I have not experienced this issue, but said I would mention it here on the forum. Has anyone else had this issue of customized keyboard shortcuts not "sticking" , the custom shortcuts disappear if you quit TVPaint and then re-open it ? What might cause that ?

Re: Customized Keyboard Shortcuts Disappearing ?

Posted: 30 Dec 2019, 10:38
by Thierry
Usually when this happens, it's because the Preferences > Startup > Startup configuration setting isn't set to "Remember last used configuration".

Re: Customized Keyboard Shortcuts Disappearing ?

Posted: 30 Dec 2019, 12:18
by D.T. Nethery
Thank you! I'll pass that along to her.

Re: Customized Keyboard Shortcuts Disappearing ?

Posted: 01 Jan 2020, 17:32
by daninski
I've fixed this for mates by deleting the config file.

Re: Customized Keyboard Shortcuts Disappearing ?

Posted: 03 Jan 2020, 23:19
by D.T. Nethery
daninski wrote:
01 Jan 2020, 17:32
I've fixed this for mates by deleting the config file.
I supposed that could be a last resort , as it can be very time consuming to restore all of one's previous custom settings. As the user manual states:
" * When a configuration is deleted, all effects, brushes, palettes, shortcuts… used previously will be lost. Of course, if you saved them in advance, you can reload and re-use them."
It has been so long since I've deleted a config and started over completely , I'm not sure about the correct procedure for saving the custom effects, brushes, palettes, shortcuts in advance to reload them in the new config . Is there a tutorial on how to do this in the most efficient way ?

I've noticed that for me TVPaint doesn't forget my customized keyboard shortcuts , even through I do NOT have the Start Up preferences set to ""Remember last used configuration" . I have mine set to "Open Start Up Panel" .

Re: Temporary solution until the problem is solved...

Posted: 04 Jan 2020, 12:04
by Svengali
All of the current keyboard shortcuts can be saved using the File/Save Keymap command in the shortcuts window. At least that would save having to enter all the keys again.

Two macros could be designed to save (update the stored list if new commands are assigned) and then easily reload for each new session.

sven

Re: Temporary solution until the problem is solved...

Posted: 05 Jan 2020, 14:57
by D.T. Nethery
Svengali wrote:
04 Jan 2020, 12:04
All of the current keyboard shortcuts can be saved using the File/Save Keymap command in the shortcuts window. At least that would save having to enter all the keys again.

Two macros could be designed to save (update the stored list if new commands are assigned) and then easily reload for each new session.

sven

Thanks for that suggestion . I had entirely forgotten about the Save Keymap command .

Re: Customized Keyboard Shortcuts Disappearing ?

Posted: 16 Jan 2020, 01:08
by Soom
All your configuration is stored in a folder and you can simply back it up and copy/paste any of the files back into any other tvp config folder both Windows and Mac (I've used this method often when migrating to other computers).

On Mac it's at: user/Library/tvp animation 11
On Windows it's in user/AppData/Roaming/tvp animation 11
(supposedly you are on TVP 11)

keyboard shortcuts are stored in config.ini file, but I prefer to save them separately and then load them fresh, because I suppose config.ini also contains other stuff...

that being said - it is correct, that TVP resets the shortcuts, if you load default config at startup. It must be on "remember last settings". not sure about other options.