Stroke Animation option Topic is solved

Please use this part to report bugs & errors, ask questions & "How to..."
Post Reply
User avatar
D.T. Nethery
Posts: 2564
Joined: 27 Sep 2006, 19:19

Stroke Animation option

Post by D.T. Nethery » 20 Dec 2019, 17:34

https://www.tvpaint.com/doc/tvp11/index ... e-animator
"This option allows you to draw over several frames. With the [Ctrl] key pressed during the drawing, the current frame will change automatically. This feature is really useful to animate decorative elements, fireflies flying in the night, annoying insects, water jet..."
I am trying to have a musical note move across screen . I know I could do this with the KeyFramer , but there's something rather fun and spontaneous about using the "Stroke Animation" option . Here is the problem: I want the musical note to move quickly across screen , but if I hold down CTRL key and move my cursor in an arc , moving quickly from one side of screen to the other the results show multiple images of the musical note on some frames. Is there a way to adjust the custom brush (the music note) so that there will only be one image of it for each frame , not two or three or more images trailing behind ?

Here is how I would like it to look (a single note) -
musical_note_stroke_animator.jpg
Not like this (multiple images of the note) -
stroke_animator_multiple_images.jpg

.
MAC OS 10.12.6 , Macbook Pro Retina 15-inch, Mid 2015,
2.5 GHz Intel Core i7, 16 GB Memory , TVPaint PRO 11.0.8, 64bit -
Wacom Cintiq 21 UX - Wacom Intuos Pro 5 - driver version 6.3.20-8

User avatar
ematecki
Site Admin
Posts: 1984
Joined: 15 Feb 2006, 14:32

Re: Stroke Animation option

Post by ematecki » 20 Dec 2019, 17:47

You have to use the 'Dot' shape instead of 'Stroke'.
You can choose your friends,
but you can't choose your family.

User avatar
D.T. Nethery
Posts: 2564
Joined: 27 Sep 2006, 19:19

Re: Stroke Animation option

Post by D.T. Nethery » 20 Dec 2019, 18:28

ematecki wrote:
20 Dec 2019, 17:47
You have to use the 'Dot' shape instead of 'Stroke'.
AH! That's it ! Thank you , EMatecki ! (it even says that in the user manual page and I glossed right over that).
I knew I had been able to make it work before , but I had completely forgotten that it much be the Dot , not the Stroke. :oops:
MAC OS 10.12.6 , Macbook Pro Retina 15-inch, Mid 2015,
2.5 GHz Intel Core i7, 16 GB Memory , TVPaint PRO 11.0.8, 64bit -
Wacom Cintiq 21 UX - Wacom Intuos Pro 5 - driver version 6.3.20-8

Post Reply