After Effects JSON import troubles

Please use this part to report bugs & errors, ask questions & "How to..."
User avatar
daninski
Posts: 256
Joined: 01 Oct 2015, 12:13
Location: Budapest/Newport
Contact:

Re: After Effects JSON import troubles

Post by daninski » 20 Apr 2018, 15:43

I'm sure that's how I updated to 11.0.8 too.
http://www.daninski.com
Award winning director with an iMac from about 2013 and a cintiq from about 2009, there's some RAM too.

User avatar
daninski
Posts: 256
Joined: 01 Oct 2015, 12:13
Location: Budapest/Newport
Contact:

Re: After Effects JSON import troubles

Post by daninski » 20 Apr 2018, 17:37

Tvpaint angels to the rescue! Thanks Benjamin!
http://www.daninski.com
Award winning director with an iMac from about 2013 and a cintiq from about 2009, there's some RAM too.

supraduroo
Posts: 3
Joined: 17 Jun 2012, 09:27

Re: After Effects JSON import troubles

Post by supraduroo » 23 Mar 2020, 11:02

pixelchomp wrote:
06 Jan 2018, 21:05
Hi Clément,

Thanks again for sending the script. I've tried a handful of experiments and finally found the root of the issue. Here's a little background:
-- I'm currently working in AE 2017.2 on PC
-- There are no errors when running the script
-- I use a custom workspace that I have saved in AE

If I load the script, browse to the json file and click open, nothing happens. (The file browser closes and just returns to AE).
However, if I switch my workspace to AE's Default workspace, the script works as expected. I can even go from my custom workspace, to default, and back to my custom workspace and the script works.

So it seems there's an issue with AE loading with my custom workspace initially that's throwing the script off. It's a strange one, but switching the workspaces seems to do the trick.

Thanks again for reaching out, and hopefully the info above helps.
-p
Hi pixelchomp,
I had the exact same problem here and your method worked for me too. I work on Windows10 and tried the JSON-Import in AE19 and AE20. I switched the Workspace back to "Standard" and to my surprise it worked again. Thx for your help.

calotengoo
Posts: 1
Joined: 24 Apr 2020, 07:27

Re: After Effects JSON import troubles

Post by calotengoo » 25 Apr 2020, 09:23

supraduroo wrote:
23 Mar 2020, 11:02
pixelchomp wrote:
06 Jan 2018, 21:05
Hi Clément,

Thanks again for sending the script. I've tried a handful of experiments and finally found the root of the issue. Here's a little background:
-- I'm currently working in AE 2017.2 on PC
-- There are no errors when running the script
-- I use a custom workspace that I have saved in AE

If I load the script, browse to the json file and click open, nothing happens. (The file browser closes and just returns to AE).
However, if I switch my workspace to AE's Default workspace, the script works as expected. I can even go from my custom workspace, to default, and back to my custom workspace and the script works.

So it seems there's an issue with AE loading with my custom workspace initially that's throwing the script off. It's a strange one, but switching the workspaces seems to do the trick.

Thanks again for reaching out, and hopefully the info above helps.
-p
Hi pixelchomp,
I had the exact same problem here and your method worked for me too. I work on Windows10 and tried the JSON-Import in AE19 and AE20. I switched the Workspace back to "Standard" and to my surprise it worked again. Thx for your help.
Hi pixelchomp and supraduroo,
I had the same problem and it worked for me too. Thank you!!

mikic96
Posts: 2
Joined: 22 Apr 2020, 18:38

Re: After Effects JSON import troubles

Post by mikic96 » 01 May 2020, 20:19

calotengoo wrote:
25 Apr 2020, 09:23
supraduroo wrote:
23 Mar 2020, 11:02
pixelchomp wrote:
06 Jan 2018, 21:05
Hi Clément,

Thanks again for sending the script. I've tried a handful of experiments and finally found the root of the issue. Here's a little background:
-- I'm currently working in AE 2017.2 on PC
-- There are no errors when running the script
-- I use a custom workspace that I have saved in AE

If I load the script, browse to the json file and click open, nothing happens. (The file browser closes and just returns to AE).
However, if I switch my workspace to AE's Default workspace, the script works as expected. I can even go from my custom workspace, to default, and back to my custom workspace and the script works.

So it seems there's an issue with AE loading with my custom workspace initially that's throwing the script off. It's a strange one, but switching the workspaces seems to do the trick.

Thanks again for reaching out, and hopefully the info above helps.
-p
Hi pixelchomp,
I had the exact same problem here and your method worked for me too. I work on Windows10 and tried the JSON-Import in AE19 and AE20. I switched the Workspace back to "Standard" and to my surprise it worked again. Thx for your help.
Hi pixelchomp and supraduroo,
I had the same problem and it worked for me too. Thank you!!
Seems like i am having trouble uploading the latest version of the jsx script file as attached file to a forum post so i sent it to you directly as a private message.

mikic96
Posts: 2
Joined: 22 Apr 2020, 18:38

Re: After Effects JSON import troubles

Post by mikic96 » 02 May 2020, 18:05

calotengoo wrote:
25 Apr 2020, 09:23
supraduroo wrote:
23 Mar 2020, 11:02
pixelchomp wrote:
06 Jan 2018, 21:05
Hi Clément,

Thanks again for sending the script. I've tried a handful of experiments and finally found the root of the issue. Here's a little background:
-- I'm currently working in AE 2017.2 on PC
-- There are no errors when running the script
-- I use a custom workspace that I have saved in AE

If I load the script, browse to the json file and click open, nothing happens. (The file browser closes and just returns to AE).
However, if I switch my workspace to AE's Default workspace, the script works as expected. I can even go from my custom workspace, to default, and back to my custom workspace and the mouse clicker script works.


So it seems there's an issue with AE loading with my custom workspace initially that's throwing the script off. It's a strange one, but switching the workspaces seems to do the trick.

Thanks again for reaching out, and hopefully the info above helps.
-p
Hi pixelchomp,
I had the exact same problem here and your method worked for me too. I work on Windows10 and tried the JSON-Import in AE19 and AE20. I switched the Workspace back to "Standard" and to my surprise it worked again. Thx for your help.
Hi pixelchomp and supraduroo,
I had the same problem and it worked for me too. Thank you!!
I work on Windows10 and tried the JSON-Import in AE19 and AE20. I switched the Workspace back to "Standard" and to my surprise it worked again. Thx for your help.

User avatar
D.T. Nethery
Posts: 2628
Joined: 27 Sep 2006, 19:19

Re: After Effects JSON import troubles

Post by D.T. Nethery » 14 Jul 2020, 17:39

pixelchomp wrote:
06 Jan 2018, 21:05

If I load the script, browse to the json file and click open, nothing happens. (The file browser closes and just returns to AE).
However, if I switch my workspace to AE's Default workspace, the script works as expected. I can even go from my custom workspace, to default, and back to my custom workspace and the script works.

So it seems there's an issue with AE loading with my custom workspace initially that's throwing the script off. It's a strange one, but switching the workspaces seems to do the trick.

I had this happen to me again today , after not having used After Effects for a few months. It's not instinctive to check the Workspace layout and make sure I am in the "Default" AE workspace .
I spent a frustrating 10 minutes trying to import a scene into AE until a little voice in my head whispered : "Hey, idiot boy, remember that weird bug in the JSON Import script , where you have to change the workspace to "Default" before it works ? " . So I got it working by switching to Default workspace, but is this really necessary that this bug continues to exist over two years later ? It's one of those peculiar annoying little bugs that needs to be fixed.
MAC OS 10.12.6 , Macbook Pro Retina 15-inch, Mid 2015,
2.5 GHz Intel Core i7, 16 GB Memory , TVPaint PRO 11.0.8, 64bit -
Wacom Cintiq 21 UX - Wacom Intuos Pro 5 - driver version 6.3.20-8

User avatar
Dean
Site Admin
Posts: 287
Joined: 28 May 2018, 09:07

Re: After Effects JSON import troubles

Post by Dean » 15 Jul 2020, 08:48

Hi guys,
One of our devs is currently investigating what can go wrong with the script, but it's hard since recently we have seen it work perfectly on some AE versions and then on the next minor update...not so much :P At least there is the "default workspace" workaround, but it's not optimal.
-Sales and Support-
Probably a vampire

User avatar
cgmodeler
Posts: 86
Joined: 23 Oct 2012, 23:59
Location: Mexico/France/Japan
Contact:

Re: After Effects JSON import troubles

Post by cgmodeler » 16 Jul 2020, 00:34

D.T. Nethery wrote:
14 Jul 2020, 17:39
pixelchomp wrote:
06 Jan 2018, 21:05

If I load the script, browse to the json file and click open, nothing happens. (The file browser closes and just returns to AE).
However, if I switch my workspace to AE's Default workspace, the script works as expected. I can even go from my custom workspace, to default, and back to my custom workspace and the script works.

So it seems there's an issue with AE loading with my custom workspace initially that's throwing the script off. It's a strange one, but switching the workspaces seems to do the trick.

I had this happen to me again today , after not having used After Effects for a few months. It's not instinctive to check the Workspace layout and make sure I am in the "Default" AE workspace .
I spent a frustrating 10 minutes trying to import a scene into AE until a little voice in my head whispered : "Hey, idiot boy, remember that weird bug in the JSON Import script , where you have to change the workspace to "Default" before it works ? " . So I got it working by switching to Default workspace, but is this really necessary that this bug continues to exist over two years later ? It's one of those peculiar annoying little bugs that needs to be fixed.
Have you used the version that Takagi shared?
www.cocoalopez.com
vimeo / 156794487
Desktop: TVP Pro 11.0.8 - 64bit Win 7 x64 48GB RAM - GTX1070 - Cintiq 27QHD Driver 6.3.29

User avatar
Hironori Takagi
Posts: 119
Joined: 14 May 2018, 10:15
Location: Tokyo, Japan
Contact:

Re: After Effects JSON import troubles

Post by Hironori Takagi » 16 Jul 2020, 06:05

cgmodeler wrote:
16 Jul 2020, 00:34
D.T. Nethery wrote:
14 Jul 2020, 17:39
pixelchomp wrote:
06 Jan 2018, 21:05

If I load the script, browse to the json file and click open, nothing happens. (The file browser closes and just returns to AE).
However, if I switch my workspace to AE's Default workspace, the script works as expected. I can even go from my custom workspace, to default, and back to my custom workspace and the script works.

So it seems there's an issue with AE loading with my custom workspace initially that's throwing the script off. It's a strange one, but switching the workspaces seems to do the trick.

I had this happen to me again today , after not having used After Effects for a few months. It's not instinctive to check the Workspace layout and make sure I am in the "Default" AE workspace .
I spent a frustrating 10 minutes trying to import a scene into AE until a little voice in my head whispered : "Hey, idiot boy, remember that weird bug in the JSON Import script , where you have to change the workspace to "Default" before it works ? " . So I got it working by switching to Default workspace, but is this really necessary that this bug continues to exist over two years later ? It's one of those peculiar annoying little bugs that needs to be fixed.
Have you used the version that Takagi shared?
The issue I previously addressed is that the timeline will not work unless it is 24fps. Link below.
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=13371
TVPaint 11.0.9, Windows10 Pro, DELL Precision M3800 / Mac OS 10.15, Apple Mac Pro(Late 2013)

Post Reply