eraser and brush

Please use this part to report bugs & errors, ask questions & "How to..."
Post Reply
User avatar
hellofilms
Posts: 122
Joined: 12 Nov 2012, 12:13
Location: Älvkarleby, Sweden
Contact:

eraser and brush

Post by hellofilms » 18 Oct 2020, 10:52

Hi,
I think this has a easy answer but I can't figure it out.

It in the worflow switching between pencil and eraser.
I wanted another eraser than the normal so I set a custom brush eraser and set that to shortcut E.
And I have set brush to B, which is the line tool.
Well, both are in the end same line tools but with differnet settings.
So when I have E and press B nothing happens since I already have the line tool.

When pressing E I want a specific eraser but when I press B I want the brush for drawing I just used.
or even better when pressing E the eraser i active and when releasing E I am back to last tool.

How can I set that up?

/ Mattias
Windows 11 - TVpaint 11 pro - Wacom cintique

User avatar
Soom
Posts: 786
Joined: 25 Jul 2011, 16:25
Location: World
Contact:

Re: eraser and brush

Post by Soom » 18 Oct 2020, 16:52

Hi Mattias
this is super easy as TVPaint is very flexible and can be achieved in several ways depending on the result you want.
There is not really a dedicated Eraser tool, as in other software, but rather it's just a function of any drawing tool.
There are 3 main methods to erase:
1. If you are using any brush or tool, pressing the RIGHT-CLICK (on a stylus pen it's usually the side switch) will switch this same brush to Eraser mode as long as it's pressed. Releasing the right-click will turn it back into the previous mode. This is the fastest and the most organic way to use any brush as eraser. You can of course use F4 for switching to the same Erase mode, but you then will have to press F2 to go back to Color mode. So right click is way faster.
2. If you want a different Eraser, then you have to create a dedicated Eraser tool action (several of those are already preset by default in the Sketch Panels) and assign a shortcut to it in the Shortcuts Prefs (Edit>Shortcuts...). Just search for the name of the eraser tool you want, and assign a shortcut to it.
3. You can also use your stylus pen Eraser end (the other end of the stylus) to Erase. For that you need of course a pen with this function, like Wacom pen, and then you click with it an Eraser you want, and it will be remembered until you click something else with it. So each time you flip your pen you will have this eraser.

In my workflow I use the right-click Erase most time, and if I need to erase faster bigger areas, I flip my pen and use the Eraser tip. I always have all my brushes in the side panel so I can quickly access them without using shortcuts. I don't use the keyboard at all - all I need I have in the Pen and on the Express keys of my Wacom Cintiq
Hackintosh, OS 10.13.6, Cintiq 22", TVP Pro 11.0.10, http://danasb.com

User avatar
hellofilms
Posts: 122
Joined: 12 Nov 2012, 12:13
Location: Älvkarleby, Sweden
Contact:

Re: eraser and brush

Post by hellofilms » 18 Oct 2020, 18:07

Hi,

Thanks for the explaining answer.

I am familiar with all the methods abd I nbow understand it it difficult to set an eraser like in many other software.

1, Since I am on Windows I nedd my right-click to show the meny in the software so I will set it to the other button on the stylus pen.
2. Yes I can but then I cant get back to the last used tool without pressing a new button.
3. Yes, I use that sometimes but it would be good if you could specify in TVpaint you main eraser.

I also have a custom palette where I collect all my tools , easy to select hem.- super useful.

It's just to find a good way to draw and erase and to avoid to many clicks in the process.

Maybe it could be good to update the eraser a bit, being able to set a custom brush as default eraser. And to have different eraser tools.
Sometimes you just want to erase light and sometimes every line. I sometimes use the lasso-tool to erase a bigger area. that is qucik and pressing B will get you back to the last used brush.

best regards
Mattias
Windows 11 - TVpaint 11 pro - Wacom cintique

User avatar
Soom
Posts: 786
Joined: 25 Jul 2011, 16:25
Location: World
Contact:

Re: eraser and brush

Post by Soom » Yesterday, 20:56

You are not exactly correct:
1. Windows or not it doesn't matter - if you set your Pen side button to right click in TVPaint, you will have both eraser and right click menu - you don't need another button. TVPaint is built that way - one button for all. I use the other Wacom pen switch for the onscreen controls, which is super useful, as I can add more functions there. But on Windows there is a slight problem with that - the on screen controls don't work very well with TVPaint. So I am not sure if you are talking about this or not, but you don't need another right click - just one.
2. Yes you can - there is a command called "Get Previous Tool" - search it in the shortcuts. I have a dedicated keyboard shortcut for it, so I can go back to the previous tool anytime. I use it quite often. Although it has a little problem: if you modify your current tool a little bit (for example change size) it will register it as new tool, and will switch back only to the same tool before modification, so keep that in mind.
3. Well, for me it is absolutely enough - I usually set the eraser tip to a big soft eraser with pressure, so I can erase in various sizes, which are quite enough. I can also increase/decrease size while keeping the eraser tip down, so it doesn't affect my drawing brush in any way. So this way you do keep always 2 dedicated pen tips for each tool. You can also set the second side switch to an Eraser instead...
Hackintosh, OS 10.13.6, Cintiq 22", TVP Pro 11.0.10, http://danasb.com

User avatar
hellofilms
Posts: 122
Joined: 12 Nov 2012, 12:13
Location: Älvkarleby, Sweden
Contact:

Re: eraser and brush

Post by hellofilms » Yesterday, 21:22

Thank you for this info.

I will look into it more and I am sure it will help me a lot.

best regards
Mattias
Windows 11 - TVpaint 11 pro - Wacom cintique

Post Reply