HDD crash .. installing new one...

Please use this part to report bugs & errors, ask questions & "How to..."
Post Reply
User avatar
masterchief
Posts: 237
Joined: 07 May 2008, 12:23
Location: Chicago, IL
Contact:

HDD crash .. installing new one...

Post by masterchief » 21 Sep 2011, 17:14

I need help installing TV Paint PRO v9.5 ... I have a library of updates... none seem to get it done. Please advise.
TVPaint Animation Pro v11

Elodie
Posts: 13913
Joined: 06 Jan 2009, 09:53
Location: Metz

Re: HDD crash .. installing new one...

Post by Elodie » 21 Sep 2011, 18:32

Hi Masterchief.

What are those "library of updates" you are talking about ? TVPaint doesn"t ask for any update and let you take the decision by yourself.

Are you on PC or Mac btw ?

User avatar
masterchief
Posts: 237
Joined: 07 May 2008, 12:23
Location: Chicago, IL
Contact:

Re: HDD crash .. installing new one...

Post by masterchief » 22 Sep 2011, 05:31

I always save my updates to disk .. and I have lots of them. not really doing me any good at this point. LOL

I am using a PC .. Windows XP Pro/32

UPDATE - I have a library of installer files
Last edited by masterchief on 22 Sep 2011, 14:40, edited 1 time in total.
TVPaint Animation Pro v11

User avatar
slowtiger
Posts: 2365
Joined: 08 May 2008, 21:10
Location: berlin, germany
Contact:

Re: HDD crash .. installing new one...

Post by slowtiger » 22 Sep 2011, 07:58

I was in your situation just this month. Didn't lost any data (nearly), but it was a tedious and time consuming process to re-install all software, drivers, preferences, and what not. Lost 2 programs though because they used hard drive authorization, and the faulty drive was only partially readable and didn't boot anymore.

TVP is not that problematic in such a situation. You can always download the installer file from the website, if you forgot to keep it (I keep installer files on an external disk.) But you may lose all your presets and brushes!

I spent several days until I could fix that. TVP creates a folder (Mac version:) start disk/users/[me]/library/application support/tvp animation 9 pro/default (or [mine] if you ever saved your own configuration.) This folder is the one which holds all your shortcuts, panels, brushes, swatches, and so on. Copy it to an external disk, copy it back onto a new start disk, and it will work like a charm.

My problem was that I had too many of these folders, for example one at start disk/library/application support/tvp animation 9 pro/[mine] - it looked the same, but it wasn't the same content! I guess previous versions of TVP stored it in different ocations, adding much to my confusion. It also doesn't help that anything inside these folders is just named completely cryptical.
TVP 10.0.18, Mac Pro Quadcore 3 GHz, 16 GB RAM, OS 10.11, QT 7.7.3

User avatar
masterchief
Posts: 237
Joined: 07 May 2008, 12:23
Location: Chicago, IL
Contact:

Re: HDD crash .. installing new one...

Post by masterchief » 22 Sep 2011, 17:39

I need tvpaint to reissue my lock code and unlock codes so that I can download direct from them.
TVPaint Animation Pro v11

User avatar
slowtiger
Posts: 2365
Joined: 08 May 2008, 21:10
Location: berlin, germany
Contact:

Re: HDD crash .. installing new one...

Post by slowtiger » 22 Sep 2011, 20:02

Ouch. That's the first thing I do after purchasing software: copy those codes to as many placs as possible, and write them down.
TVP 10.0.18, Mac Pro Quadcore 3 GHz, 16 GB RAM, OS 10.11, QT 7.7.3

User avatar
masterchief
Posts: 237
Joined: 07 May 2008, 12:23
Location: Chicago, IL
Contact:

Re: HDD crash .. installing new one...

Post by masterchief » 22 Sep 2011, 20:50

I was a Mirage crossgrade..

update - found my QuickTime PRO reg code... LOL

update - installed TVPanint, now get a lockcode to report. how to identify the dongle ID???
TVPaint Animation Pro v11

User avatar
slowtiger
Posts: 2365
Joined: 08 May 2008, 21:10
Location: berlin, germany
Contact:

Re: HDD crash .. installing new one...

Post by slowtiger » 23 Sep 2011, 07:11

Mine has a dog tag with an 8-digit number.
TVP 10.0.18, Mac Pro Quadcore 3 GHz, 16 GB RAM, OS 10.11, QT 7.7.3

User avatar
Patrick
Site Admin
Posts: 626
Joined: 24 Jun 2008, 08:15

Re: HDD crash .. installing new one...

Post by Patrick » 23 Sep 2011, 07:25

Hi Masterchief
No problem, you are in our database so I will send you the codes by pm.

User avatar
masterchief
Posts: 237
Joined: 07 May 2008, 12:23
Location: Chicago, IL
Contact:

Re: HDD crash .. installing new one...

Post by masterchief » 23 Sep 2011, 10:50

Patrick wrote:Hi Masterchief
No problem, you are in our database so I will send you the codes by pm.
thank you my friend ... my copy of TVPaint is running in 30-day license mode until codes are entered. It is licensed to my name already.

UPDATE - I have one of those Thermaltake dual external drive device .. plugged in my failed drive and all the data is recoverable. whew!!! It just wont work for booting the computer anymore...
TVPaint Animation Pro v11

Post Reply