Copy drawing pixels into existing image (without replacing drawing)

Please use this part to report bugs & errors, ask questions & "How to..."
Post Reply
User avatar
GerhardHuman
Posts: 5
Joined: 12 Feb 2019, 08:23
Contact:

Copy drawing pixels into existing image (without replacing drawing)

Post by GerhardHuman » 18 Feb 2019, 07:50

Hi all, sorry I'm super new with TVPaint so this is probably a stupid question.
I did a search but couldn't find what I was looking for.

I want to know if I can copy an area of a drawing (with the selection tool) and paste it on another frame (that already has a drawing on there) and NOT replace the entire drawing. So I want to add the pixels to that drawing. I don't want to make a new layer every time.

The reason I ask this is that, for instance, when I have a sequence and the client changes something like the character's nose, and the face doesn't move over a couple of frames but there's still other stuff that moves... I want to just copy the nose and paste it on the other frames? Does that make sense?
That's just a stupid example but this happens a lot so I don't want to end up with a layer for every item drawn...

Thanks

User avatar
slowtiger
Posts: 2352
Joined: 08 May 2008, 21:10
Location: berlin, germany
Contact:

Re: Copy drawing pixels into existing image (without replacing drawing)

Post by slowtiger » 18 Feb 2019, 09:46

That should be done with the Panto mode of your brush. See manual for details and settings.
TVP 10.0.18, Mac Pro Quadcore 3 GHz, 16 GB RAM, OS 10.11, QT 7.7.3

User avatar
GerhardHuman
Posts: 5
Joined: 12 Feb 2019, 08:23
Contact:

Re: Copy drawing pixels into existing image (without replacing drawing)

Post by GerhardHuman » 18 Feb 2019, 11:11

Hey thanks for the reply. I'm trying to figure it out... seems the panto mode is almost like Photoshop's Stamp tool?
I can't really figure out how you'd do that between frames though...

OK but I actually have no idea how that tool works yet so let me sit with it for a while and figure it out :P

Appreciate the help

User avatar
slowtiger
Posts: 2352
Joined: 08 May 2008, 21:10
Location: berlin, germany
Contact:

Re: Copy drawing pixels into existing image (without replacing drawing)

Post by slowtiger » 18 Feb 2019, 11:22

It's all in the settings, named shape settings for whatever odd reason - right-click on a shape tool, there's a pulldown, and there's previous frame.
TVP 10.0.18, Mac Pro Quadcore 3 GHz, 16 GB RAM, OS 10.11, QT 7.7.3

User avatar
GerhardHuman
Posts: 5
Joined: 12 Feb 2019, 08:23
Contact:

Re: Copy drawing pixels into existing image (without replacing drawing)

Post by GerhardHuman » 18 Feb 2019, 11:41

Aaaah awesome thanks for that.
The user documents in the help section is quite confusing... yea so you have to right-click ON the actual tool to get that option.
Thanks that will work :D

Post Reply