WACOM intuos 5

To talk about anything else
ten_zero
Posts: 805
Joined: 03 Sep 2009, 07:28
Location: The bottom of English divide

WACOM intuos 5

Post by ten_zero » 01 Mar 2012, 03:03

Instore on 16th, March 2012 (JST)

http://wacom.jp/jp/products/intuos/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;(written in Japanese)
http://pc.watch.impress.co.jp/docs/colu ... 15489.html" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false; (written in Japanese)
http://pc.watch.impress.co.jp/docs/news ... 14131.html" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false; (written in Japanese)


stylus pen model
 『Intuos5 small PTK-450』 2万4801円
 『Intuos5 medium PTK-650』 3万4800円 $361.74

stylus pen + touch model
 『Intuos5 touch small PTH-450』 2万7800円  $273.01
 『Intuos5 touch medium PTH-650』3万7800円 $412.92
 『Intuos5 touch large PTH-850』 4万7800円 $566.49

※ Not include EX Large model ( sale "Intuos 4" EX Large model continuously).
※ Still keep 2,048 levels of pressure sensitivity.
※ All models enable "WACOM Wireless module" (2.4GHz RF/about 10m).
※ About overlay sheet ...
  for Intuos5 PTK-450/650 and Intuos4 PTK-1240's option parts ready.
  However Intuos5 touch PTH-450/650/850 is "only change by repair"
   sauce http://wacom.jp/jp/products/intuos/lineup/index.html *3 (written in Japanese)

【size】
  small 320.1(W)×207.8(D)×11.5(H)mm
  medium 379.9(W)×251.4(D)×11.5(H)mm
  large 487.1(W)×317.7(D)×12(H)mm


【wireless module battery】

 with package / full charge by USB … 6 hours

○Small
 『Intuos5 small PTK-450』 15 hours
 『Intuos5 touch small PTH-450』 8 hours

○Medium
 『Intuos5 medium PTK-650』 15 hours
 『Intuos5 touch medium PTH-650』 8 hours

○Large
 『Intuos5 touch large PTH-850』 5 hours


【OS】
 Windows7/Vista/XP(include 64bit OS)、Mac OS X 10.5.8-

User avatar
Elodie
Site Admin
Posts: 13454
Joined: 06 Jan 2009, 09:53
Location: Metz

Re: WACOM intuos 5

Post by Elodie » 01 Mar 2012, 08:05

Thank you for sharing Ten_Zero :D
Questions or problems regarding the forum ? Please contact me by PM
Question regarding TVPaint or need a quotation ? Please contact me by email

User avatar
Paul Fierlinger
Posts: 7521
Joined: 03 May 2008, 12:05
Location: Pennsylvania USA
Contact:

Re: WACOM intuos 5

Post by Paul Fierlinger » 01 Mar 2012, 12:19

I would prefer if Wacom fixed their software -- it still disappears every time you update or introduce some new software and you have to un-install and install Wacom all over again. But they can't make money on selling fixed software so they develop a new tablet. The tablets are beginning to be more alike from new to "newer" models -- except for the pens, which of course must be different and bought all over again for inflated prices. This company is beginning to operate on borderline criminal behavior. I wish they had some stronger competition.... how about that, Japan? :D
Paul
http://www.slocumfilm.com
Desktop PC Win10-Pro -64 bit OS; 32.0 GB RAM
Processor: i7-2600 CPU@3.40GHz
AMD FirePro V7900; Intuos4 Wacom tablet

ten_zero
Posts: 805
Joined: 03 Sep 2009, 07:28
Location: The bottom of English divide

Re: WACOM intuos 5

Post by ten_zero » 01 Mar 2012, 12:36

Dear Mr. Fierlinger,

I think intuos 5 as just " intuos 4S (or 4 mk-II)".
To change intuos 5 touch model's overlay sheet is only "repair" not "exchange", and they will set a big price of repair in it.
They will advise for customers, "if dissatisfied with it, just buy next intuos5 newly".
It is the same in Japan, too.

I still use intuos 1 A5 (i-600 USB / made in Japan) for intel Mac mini and intuos 3 B6 (PTZ-430) for iBook G3.
It does not still know trouble like to raise driver error, connect error and break down.

User avatar
Paul Fierlinger
Posts: 7521
Joined: 03 May 2008, 12:05
Location: Pennsylvania USA
Contact:

Re: WACOM intuos 5

Post by Paul Fierlinger » 01 Mar 2012, 12:48

I haven't used that old Wacom in a long time, but I do remember that a couple of the following ones did have some substantial improvements in the amount of sensitivity points and size -- and buttons... it's just that the differences from one model to the next are becoming quite negligible. The biggest trouble is that I can't live without them -- a piece of plastic!! Isn't that awful? I really would die if I couldn't continue to work.
Paul
http://www.slocumfilm.com
Desktop PC Win10-Pro -64 bit OS; 32.0 GB RAM
Processor: i7-2600 CPU@3.40GHz
AMD FirePro V7900; Intuos4 Wacom tablet

User avatar
ematecki
Site Admin
Posts: 1881
Joined: 15 Feb 2006, 14:32

Re: WACOM intuos 5

Post by ematecki » 01 Mar 2012, 13:15

Paul Fierlinger wrote:a piece of plastic!! Isn't that awful?
have you tried the Wacom Bamboo ? :) ;)
Alors sourit moi et oublie tout
Car s’il faut t’offrir la lune pour te retenir
Je crois que je préfère te laisser partir

-- Claude François -- Je te demande pardon --

ten_zero
Posts: 805
Joined: 03 Sep 2009, 07:28
Location: The bottom of English divide

Re: WACOM intuos 5

Post by ten_zero » 01 Mar 2012, 13:16

Dear Mr. Fierlinger,

I am ready to come back to papers and pencil or writing brush with inkstone anytime if necessary ...

I am not a professional animation creater.
However, it can be understood that fictionization of professional creator is influenced by "a plastic and IC silicon plate".
It is not wholesome.

User avatar
Paul Fierlinger
Posts: 7521
Joined: 03 May 2008, 12:05
Location: Pennsylvania USA
Contact:

Re: WACOM intuos 5

Post by Paul Fierlinger » 01 Mar 2012, 13:29

ematecki wrote:
Paul Fierlinger wrote:a piece of plastic!! Isn't that awful?
have you tried the Wacom Bamboo ? :) ;)
Oh that is Funny :D :D So that's where the name comes from -- those tricky Wacomers again :twisted: :twisted:
Paul
http://www.slocumfilm.com
Desktop PC Win10-Pro -64 bit OS; 32.0 GB RAM
Processor: i7-2600 CPU@3.40GHz
AMD FirePro V7900; Intuos4 Wacom tablet

User avatar
idragosani
Posts: 987
Joined: 06 May 2008, 00:39
Location: Germantown MD
Contact:

Re: WACOM intuos 5

Post by idragosani » 01 Mar 2012, 13:40

What's with the multi-touch functionality? Who uses a drawing tablet like that? Guess they are trying to compete with the iPad?
Brett W. McCoy -- http://www.brettwmccoy.com
TVP Pro 10 : Intel i7 2600 3.4 GHz : 8GB RAM : Ubuntu Studio 14.04 : Cintiq 21UX

User avatar
Paul Fierlinger
Posts: 7521
Joined: 03 May 2008, 12:05
Location: Pennsylvania USA
Contact:

Re: WACOM intuos 5

Post by Paul Fierlinger » 01 Mar 2012, 13:41

ten_zero wrote: It is not wholesome.
I beg to differ (a polite phrase that says, I DISAGREE!!) The flow of a liquid line that streams out of a digital pen while one's mind becomes immersed within the warm glow of a computer screen brings the mind into an altered state. I am not alone when I claim that often I loose all connections with my surroundings and when I have to look away it often feels like waking up in a daze, not knowing where I am for a fraction of a second. It is not a coincidence that so many newcomers soon describe TVP as addictive. I believe this is because of the wholesome mindset the software brings to the artist.
Paul
http://www.slocumfilm.com
Desktop PC Win10-Pro -64 bit OS; 32.0 GB RAM
Processor: i7-2600 CPU@3.40GHz
AMD FirePro V7900; Intuos4 Wacom tablet

ten_zero
Posts: 805
Joined: 03 Sep 2009, 07:28
Location: The bottom of English divide

Re: WACOM intuos 5

Post by ten_zero » 01 Mar 2012, 13:56

idragosani wrote:What's with the multi-touch functionality? Who uses a drawing tablet like that? Guess they are trying to compete with the iPad?
The latest Bamboo enabled multi-touch function, and it is NOT comfortable as iPad.
Bamboo (probably in "intuos 5 touch", too) cannot do swipe while drawing by stylus pen.
You must release a pen for gesture operation.

I do not think that "intuos 5 Touch" competes with iPad 3, it is work of Google and Samsung.

Edited:100302
A new PV from WACOM Japan (spoken in English / intuos 5 medium).
It seems to none put stylus pen during gesture operation.

User avatar
Paul Fierlinger
Posts: 7521
Joined: 03 May 2008, 12:05
Location: Pennsylvania USA
Contact:

Re: WACOM intuos 5

Post by Paul Fierlinger » 03 Mar 2012, 19:38

This was on the sidebar. More fun to watch if you missed it:
http://gizmodo.com/5890219/mercedes-mak ... ial-option" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
Paul
http://www.slocumfilm.com
Desktop PC Win10-Pro -64 bit OS; 32.0 GB RAM
Processor: i7-2600 CPU@3.40GHz
AMD FirePro V7900; Intuos4 Wacom tablet

User avatar
idragosani
Posts: 987
Joined: 06 May 2008, 00:39
Location: Germantown MD
Contact:

Re: WACOM intuos 5

Post by idragosani » 03 Mar 2012, 19:48

Wow, that is pretty neat.
Brett W. McCoy -- http://www.brettwmccoy.com
TVP Pro 10 : Intel i7 2600 3.4 GHz : 8GB RAM : Ubuntu Studio 14.04 : Cintiq 21UX

User avatar
Fabrice
Posts: 9855
Joined: 17 Jul 2007, 15:00
Contact:

Re: WACOM intuos 5

Post by Fabrice » 05 Mar 2012, 13:39

I wonder if one can read the tech specifications of the Intuos 5 somewhere.
Fabrice Debarge, Product Manager, TVPaint Team

User avatar
idragosani
Posts: 987
Joined: 06 May 2008, 00:39
Location: Germantown MD
Contact:

Re: WACOM intuos 5

Post by idragosani » 05 Mar 2012, 14:01

Fabrice, they are on the wacom site now:

http://www.wacom.com/en/Products/Intuos/Large.aspx" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
Brett W. McCoy -- http://www.brettwmccoy.com
TVP Pro 10 : Intel i7 2600 3.4 GHz : 8GB RAM : Ubuntu Studio 14.04 : Cintiq 21UX

Post Reply