Cinemascope

To talk about anything else
Post Reply
User avatar
slowtiger
Posts: 2035
Joined: 08 May 2008, 21:10
Location: berlin, germany
Contact:

Cinemascope

Post by slowtiger » 09 Aug 2016, 20:48

Has anybody here some experience with a production in scope?

I'm planning to do a project in scope, using the px dimensions for DCP which are 4096×1716. Have to buy new editing software for that, but that's a minor trouble.
TVP 10.0.18, Mac Pro Quadcore 3 GHz, 16 GB RAM, OS 10.11, QT 7.7.3

User avatar
Elodie
Site Admin
Posts: 12894
Joined: 06 Jan 2009, 09:53
Location: Metz

Re: Cinemascope

Post by Elodie » 09 Aug 2016, 20:51

Sorry, I wish I could help you :/
Questions or problems regarding the forum ? Please contact me by PM
Question regarding TVPaint or need a quotation ? Please contact me by email

User avatar
slowtiger
Posts: 2035
Joined: 08 May 2008, 21:10
Location: berlin, germany
Contact:

Re: Cinemascope

Post by slowtiger » 18 Aug 2016, 19:31

Progress report:

TVP handles 4K nicely, and can export .mov files of that size with FFmpeg easily.

I wanted Anime Studio (which will be called Moho again in next version) to do the same, but get an error message that Quicktime can't handle such large files, do I want to export in smaller size instead? If I click OK I get a 4K render nevertheless, which is a bit confusing.

Final Cut Pro 10.2 has no problems with 4K, but the program looks like iMovie now and needs a completely different way of handling, which I hate. In old versions I can drop a clip into the timeline anywhere I want, and it stays there. Easy to create pauses (of black) between clips. Not in 10.2: every clip will get drawn to the left and docked to the last clip! I hate when programs try to be smarter than me. This is a serious pain in the ass, and a waste of time since I must re-learn FC from the beginning again.
TVP 10.0.18, Mac Pro Quadcore 3 GHz, 16 GB RAM, OS 10.11, QT 7.7.3

User avatar
schwarzgrau
Posts: 985
Joined: 23 Jan 2012, 22:08
Location: Offenbach / Germany
Contact:

Re: Cinemascope

Post by schwarzgrau » 19 Aug 2016, 13:26

Same here with FCP X. I thought I shouldn't give a shit, what people say and try it. But exactly this "smart"-nonsense made me giving up, after two days. Now I'm using Adobe Premiere, which is pretty similar to FCP 7.
Mac OS X 10.11.6 / TVP 11.0.6 PRO / Cintiq 22HD
Mac OS X 10.11.6 / TVP 11.0.6 PRO / Cintiq Companion 2
SCHWARZGRAU.COM

User avatar
slowtiger
Posts: 2035
Joined: 08 May 2008, 21:10
Location: berlin, germany
Contact:

Re: Cinemascope

Post by slowtiger » 19 Aug 2016, 14:52

Premiere would do the job as well, but it's only availabe now as CC = rent instead of buy. And that only works with a credit card, which I don't have.
TVP 10.0.18, Mac Pro Quadcore 3 GHz, 16 GB RAM, OS 10.11, QT 7.7.3

User avatar
schwarzgrau
Posts: 985
Joined: 23 Jan 2012, 22:08
Location: Offenbach / Germany
Contact:

Re: Cinemascope

Post by schwarzgrau » 19 Aug 2016, 14:57

I'm still using the CS6 version of all Adobe Apps, since I won it a few years ago, but I guess I have to update to CC soon, even if I hate this rent-model. Maybe I'll only rent After Effects and Premiere and try to find alternatives for the other applications.
Mac OS X 10.11.6 / TVP 11.0.6 PRO / Cintiq 22HD
Mac OS X 10.11.6 / TVP 11.0.6 PRO / Cintiq Companion 2
SCHWARZGRAU.COM

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests