Disable color correction on export?

This topic is dedicated to Open Beta versions. Post here your comment, bugs notifications and ideas about the Android version !
narrowonflow
Posts: 13
Joined: 22 Feb 2013, 00:49

Disable color correction on export?

Post by narrowonflow » 22 Feb 2013, 01:26

I wont need to go into too much detail about the issue im having because i have a video example... but mainly what i want to know is if there is a way to disable the saturation that is automatically added when i export the animation... here is an example:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SfMaPAmvcu8

please watch in hd so u can be able to notice the difference better.
(the fire animation seems faster than the video footage because i hade the TVP project set to 24 fps and the video is at 59 fps #DERP)

And before you ask "why would you want to remove it if it looks better that way?"

I know it looks better that way... but it will look too saturated if i add my own color correction settings on top of these.
Any help would be appreciated... and while im at it ill put some bugs i found along the way jst in case this reaches a mod.

1. after you try to do anything that brings the keyboard up the app will crash.
2. if i start the app on landscape it will also crash... i have to start it in portrait then i can flip the tab back to landscape with no problem.
3. there should be a way to resize the the windows that pop up (file browser, import, etc) or jst make them smaller all together since it would be sacrilege to use such a good app without a stylus anyway.

And last but not least id like to thank you guys for making such and amazing full fledged piece of software available on the android. If it was out i would buy it right now bugs and all thats how much i like this "app" :)

User avatar
Fabrice
Posts: 9749
Joined: 17 Jul 2007, 15:00
Contact:

Re: Disable color correction on export?

Post by Fabrice » 22 Feb 2013, 05:36

sorry, but I don't see where there is too much saturation.
is it the video ? the layer you added with the fire ?

What do you use as export format ?

Thanks for your message :)
Fabrice Debarge, Product Manager, TVPaint Team

narrowonflow
Posts: 13
Joined: 22 Feb 2013, 00:49

Re: Disable color correction on export?

Post by narrowonflow » 22 Feb 2013, 07:39

the problem is not that there is too much saturation ...its that its there to begin with... however it will be too much when i add my color correction... i dont think you watched the video if you did you would know exactly wut i mean "P or maybe you jst dont know the process that i go through... ill explain step by step

1. capture footage from ps3 with hd pvr
2. bring footage into sony vegas, cut and render the bit that i wanna put the animation on (at this stage i dont put any color correction and the file is as captured)
3. open video on virtualdub and export it into a series of frames that compose the video
4. load all the frames into TVP to animate the affects on them... then export

then when i loaded the export into vegas to substitute the raw footage with the animated footage i noticed the it was rather saturated by comparison and it will ruin the video when i add my settings.

User avatar
Fabrice
Posts: 9749
Joined: 17 Jul 2007, 15:00
Contact:

Re: Disable color correction on export?

Post by Fabrice » 22 Feb 2013, 08:18

I'm not sure that the Virtualdub step is necessary (it might also explain the color saturation change). why not exporting an .avi or image sequence from Vegas directly ?
hmm ... we have Vegas specialist in the forum, maybe he will help you :)
Fabrice Debarge, Product Manager, TVPaint Team

narrowonflow
Posts: 13
Joined: 22 Feb 2013, 00:49

Re: Disable color correction on export?

Post by narrowonflow » 22 Feb 2013, 09:33

i did a side by side comparison with the raw footage and the still frames from virtualdub and they look the same :( ...

why not exporting an .avi or image sequence from Vegas directly ?

well... 1 second of 720p twixtored footage rendered in avi is 160 mb :o (with out filters or or extra layered tracks) which would take forever to upload since my videos are 2-3 minutes... and as for rendering an image sequence strait from vegas im doing that right now and ill upload the results and ill also slomo on the part that the TVP exported footage kicks in so that it will be easier to tell the difference

narrowonflow
Posts: 13
Joined: 22 Feb 2013, 00:49

Re: Disable color correction on export?

Post by narrowonflow » 22 Feb 2013, 09:35

hmm ... we have Vegas specialist in the forum, maybe he will help you :)

thanx a lot man i hope he can help me out :D

narrowonflow
Posts: 13
Joined: 22 Feb 2013, 00:49

Re: Disable color correction on export?

Post by narrowonflow » 22 Feb 2013, 09:36

Fabrice wrote:hmm ... we have Vegas specialist in the forum, maybe he will help you :)
thanx a lot man i hope he can help me out :D

User avatar
Paul Fierlinger
Posts: 7513
Joined: 03 May 2008, 12:05
Location: Pennsylvania USA
Contact:

Re: Disable color correction on export?

Post by Paul Fierlinger » 22 Feb 2013, 13:21

I think I am the expected Vegas expert but I'm afraid I can't help out much. I animate and Sandra paints -- we've never needed special effects or color corrections. I use TVPaint to make clips and Vegas to assemble them first and then render these edited clips into a single AVI file and that's it.

I'm sorry, but I have a hard time following your descriptions, which either means that I am far from being an expert, or your descriptions are not written with clarity. I think it's both.

I just have one question: why are you bringing such huge, minutes long clips, into Vegas; is this because your film is designed to be made with no edits? If so, what do you need Vegas for? If we start from here, perhaps we can help you untangle your knot.
Paul
http://www.slocumfilm.com
Desktop PC Win10-Pro -64 bit OS; 32.0 GB RAM
Processor: i7-2600 CPU@3.40GHz
AMD FirePro V7900; Intuos4 Wacom tablet

User avatar
Fabrice
Posts: 9749
Joined: 17 Jul 2007, 15:00
Contact:

Re: Disable color correction on export?

Post by Fabrice » 22 Feb 2013, 18:03

Paul, I think you might have helped by explaining how one could export from Vegas, and reimport in TVPaint. (a basic .avi or .mov export)
In this way, it would avoid him one unnecessary step (3. virtualdub).
Fabrice Debarge, Product Manager, TVPaint Team

User avatar
Paul Fierlinger
Posts: 7513
Joined: 03 May 2008, 12:05
Location: Pennsylvania USA
Contact:

Re: Disable color correction on export?

Post by Paul Fierlinger » 22 Feb 2013, 18:22

In that case AVI is the better choice. The latest version,Vegas 12, exists only in 64 bit operating system and doesn't do well (if at all) with QT.
Paul
http://www.slocumfilm.com
Desktop PC Win10-Pro -64 bit OS; 32.0 GB RAM
Processor: i7-2600 CPU@3.40GHz
AMD FirePro V7900; Intuos4 Wacom tablet

User avatar
Fabrice
Posts: 9749
Joined: 17 Jul 2007, 15:00
Contact:

Re: Disable color correction on export?

Post by Fabrice » 22 Feb 2013, 18:34

Paul Fierlinger wrote:In that case AVI is the better choice. The latest version,Vegas 12, exists only in 64 bit operating system and doesn't do well (if at all) with QT.
yep, like in all 64 bits software (*). grrr ... Apple ...

(*) Except Maya ? Can someone confirm this ?
Fabrice Debarge, Product Manager, TVPaint Team

User avatar
Paul Fierlinger
Posts: 7513
Joined: 03 May 2008, 12:05
Location: Pennsylvania USA
Contact:

Re: Disable color correction on export?

Post by Paul Fierlinger » 22 Feb 2013, 18:44

I find life perfectly acceptable without QT :) . BTW, it is important to export from TVP to Vegas with uncompressed codecs (I use Direct Show MJPEG) and then export from Vegas the same, for which I use MainConcept MPEG-2).
Paul
http://www.slocumfilm.com
Desktop PC Win10-Pro -64 bit OS; 32.0 GB RAM
Processor: i7-2600 CPU@3.40GHz
AMD FirePro V7900; Intuos4 Wacom tablet

User avatar
Fabrice
Posts: 9749
Joined: 17 Jul 2007, 15:00
Contact:

Re: Disable color correction on export?

Post by Fabrice » 22 Feb 2013, 19:37

the most interesting reason for using QT is the ability to play any animations frame by frame.
otherwise, it's not usefull, even changing colors (unwanted gamma correction) at some points.
Fabrice Debarge, Product Manager, TVPaint Team

narrowonflow
Posts: 13
Joined: 22 Feb 2013, 00:49

Re: Disable color correction on export?

Post by narrowonflow » 22 Feb 2013, 22:31

Paul Fierlinger wrote: why are you bringing such huge, minutes long clips, into Vegas?
i dont usually bring 2-3 minute videos into vegas... i usually bring a bunch of different clips 20-40 sec long (each are about 15mb) and then after i render them to upload and that usually results in a 250 mb video.
Paul Fierlinger wrote:is this because your film is designed to be made with no edits?
not at all ...but when i add my own color correction to the main track the part that has been animated will be double saturated because of the aforementioned added saturation on TVP export.
Paul Fierlinger wrote: If so, what do you need Vegas for?
i use vegas to add a music track, sync the shots to the music, twixtor (slomo with smooth framerate), color correction, cropping/zooming, masking and keyframing.

wut im thinking of is just exporting the flame animation by itself (no background footage) and using it as overlay on sony vegas. but the problem with that is that i wont get the cool smudge effect from the flames which gives the impression of heat :(

narrowonflow
Posts: 13
Joined: 22 Feb 2013, 00:49

Re: Disable color correction on export?

Post by narrowonflow » 22 Feb 2013, 22:37

Fabrice wrote:Paul, I think you might have helped by explaining how one could export from Vegas, and reimport in TVPaint. (a basic .avi or .mov export)
In this way, it would avoid him one unnecessary step (3. virtualdub).
that is true... iv never done any 2d animation so i didnt even know that it was possible to render video files as img sequence (i didnt even know they were called image sequences :oops: ) but iv been working on vegas for about 2 years so im much more comfortable doing everything in vegas.

Locked

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests