"New Zoom Window" when in full screen mode

A forum where you can suggest which features can be deleted or merged with other options.
User avatar
Peter Wassink
Posts: 3332
Joined: 17 Feb 2006, 15:38
Location: Amsterdam (Basse-Lotharingie)
Contact:

"New Zoom Window" when in full screen mode

Post by Peter Wassink » 28 Sep 2014, 07:33

i'd like you to remove the possibility to create a "New Zoom Window" when in full screen mode.
it doesn't seem useful and it can be confusing.
More then once i have accidentally pressed "m" while in full screen mode, only to find that after getting back out of full screen, i suddenly have many duplicate zoom windows open.
Peter Wassink - 2D animator
• PC: Win10/64 Home - Xeon Quadcore E5410@2.33Ghz - 12Gb RAM
• laptop: Win10/64 Pro - i7-4600@2.1 GHz - 8Gb RAM

User avatar
Paul Fierlinger
Posts: 7513
Joined: 03 May 2008, 12:05
Location: Pennsylvania USA
Contact:

Re: "New Zoom Window" when in full screen mode

Post by Paul Fierlinger » 28 Sep 2014, 09:38

+
This is a nuisance under any circumstance. I can't think of a single reason why anyone would want to open a second zoom window more than once.
Paul
http://www.slocumfilm.com
Desktop PC Win10-Pro -64 bit OS; 32.0 GB RAM
Processor: i7-2600 CPU@3.40GHz
AMD FirePro V7900; Intuos4 Wacom tablet

User avatar
furushil
Posts: 389
Joined: 12 Feb 2012, 21:02
Location: Berlin
Contact:

Re: "New Zoom Window" when in full screen mode

Post by furushil » 28 Sep 2014, 10:03

Peter Wassink wrote:i'd like you to remove the possibility to create a "New Zoom Window" when in full screen mode.
I didn't even know that this exists. My "m" key is assigned to something else.
You mean it should be possible but only when you are not in fullscreen mode or it should not be possible at all?
Paul Fierlinger wrote: This is a nuisance under any circumstance. I can't think of a single reason why anyone would want to open a second zoom window more than once.
Maybe if someone is working on a Baroque painting and wants to work on different details but see the whole picture at the same time :mrgreen:
MAC OS 10.11.6 - TVpaint 11.0.8 PRO 64bit, Wacom Intuos Pro

User avatar
Peter Wassink
Posts: 3332
Joined: 17 Feb 2006, 15:38
Location: Amsterdam (Basse-Lotharingie)
Contact:

Re: "New Zoom Window" when in full screen mode

Post by Peter Wassink » 28 Sep 2014, 10:45

furushil wrote:
Peter Wassink wrote:i'd like you to remove the possibility to create a "New Zoom Window" when in full screen mode.
I didn't even know that this exists. My "m" key is assigned to something else.
You mean it should be possible but only when you are not in fullscreen mode or it should not be possible at all?
precisely.
furushil wrote:
Paul Fierlinger wrote: This is a nuisance under any circumstance. I can't think of a single reason why anyone would want to open a second zoom window more than once.
Maybe if someone is working on a Baroque painting and wants to work on different details but see the whole picture at the same time :mrgreen:
precisely! :wink:
Peter Wassink - 2D animator
• PC: Win10/64 Home - Xeon Quadcore E5410@2.33Ghz - 12Gb RAM
• laptop: Win10/64 Pro - i7-4600@2.1 GHz - 8Gb RAM

User avatar
Sewie
Posts: 1223
Joined: 18 Jun 2008, 11:57
Location: The Netherlands, Europe
Contact:

Re: "New Zoom Window" when in full screen mode

Post by Sewie » 29 Sep 2014, 10:28

+1
Michael Sewnarain - SewieBlog
Windows 10/64b - TVP11.0.3 - Pro/64b - Cintiq24HD

User avatar
CartoonMonkey
Posts: 921
Joined: 01 Jun 2007, 18:47
Location: Portland, Oregon
Contact:

Re: "New Zoom Window" when in full screen mode

Post by CartoonMonkey » 05 Oct 2014, 18:33

As long as we don't get rid of the ability to create zoom windows! Not having them would destroy the way I work. One main window open on the Cintiq to zoom in / out on while I'm working, one zoom window open at 100% scale on my 2nd monitor to see what I'm doing full screen.

User avatar
Paul Fierlinger
Posts: 7513
Joined: 03 May 2008, 12:05
Location: Pennsylvania USA
Contact:

Re: "New Zoom Window" when in full screen mode

Post by Paul Fierlinger » 05 Oct 2014, 19:30

Just curious Chad, doesn't that make for one zoom window? Your project window on your Cintiq and a zoom window on your second monitor to keep your frame always in full view -- which I think is the way most people use it.
Paul
http://www.slocumfilm.com
Desktop PC Win10-Pro -64 bit OS; 32.0 GB RAM
Processor: i7-2600 CPU@3.40GHz
AMD FirePro V7900; Intuos4 Wacom tablet

User avatar
CartoonMonkey
Posts: 921
Joined: 01 Jun 2007, 18:47
Location: Portland, Oregon
Contact:

Re: "New Zoom Window" when in full screen mode

Post by CartoonMonkey » 06 Oct 2014, 20:48

That's correct. Maybe There's no need for more than one.
+1

User avatar
Peter Wassink
Posts: 3332
Joined: 17 Feb 2006, 15:38
Location: Amsterdam (Basse-Lotharingie)
Contact:

Re: "New Zoom Window" when in full screen mode

Post by Peter Wassink » 06 Oct 2014, 22:53

To be clear, i don't mind having more then one,
just that it makes no sense that you can generate them when in full screen mode. This should not be possible.
Peter Wassink - 2D animator
• PC: Win10/64 Home - Xeon Quadcore E5410@2.33Ghz - 12Gb RAM
• laptop: Win10/64 Pro - i7-4600@2.1 GHz - 8Gb RAM

User avatar
meslin
Posts: 124
Joined: 26 Oct 2008, 03:07
Location: Connecticut / New York

Re: "New Zoom Window" when in full screen mode

Post by meslin » 10 Feb 2015, 22:21

A cool thing to do is open a zoom window and hit '[' to flip it, and have a mirrored preview at all times.
I love this feature but I agree about it being confusing when you're in full-screen mode.

User avatar
CartoonMonkey
Posts: 921
Joined: 01 Jun 2007, 18:47
Location: Portland, Oregon
Contact:

Re: "New Zoom Window" when in full screen mode

Post by CartoonMonkey » 11 Feb 2015, 06:28

I disagree. I use them in full screen mode exclusively! You can always disable something you commonly press by remapping the keyboard shortcuts..

User avatar
Peter Wassink
Posts: 3332
Joined: 17 Feb 2006, 15:38
Location: Amsterdam (Basse-Lotharingie)
Contact:

Re: "New Zoom Window" when in full screen mode

Post by Peter Wassink » 11 Feb 2015, 08:52

CartoonMonkey wrote:I disagree. I use them in full screen mode exclusively! You can always disable something you commonly press by remapping the keyboard shortcuts..
I don't follow you Chad, what do you use exclusively in full screen mode?
Peter Wassink - 2D animator
• PC: Win10/64 Home - Xeon Quadcore E5410@2.33Ghz - 12Gb RAM
• laptop: Win10/64 Pro - i7-4600@2.1 GHz - 8Gb RAM

User avatar
CartoonMonkey
Posts: 921
Joined: 01 Jun 2007, 18:47
Location: Portland, Oregon
Contact:

Re: "New Zoom Window" when in full screen mode

Post by CartoonMonkey » 13 Feb 2015, 03:05

zoomwindow.jpg
zoomwindow.jpg (232.42 KiB) Viewed 5407 times
Hi Peter, I use TVPaint in full screen mode, spread across two monitors. My 28" 2560x1440 ips monitor, and my 1920x1080 cintiq.
When I'm working, I keep the main window to draw in, open on the Cintiq. I make a new zoom window with each project, and off to my left, I have that 2nd zoom window displayed at 100% on the 28" monitor.
This way, I can zoom in and out on my drawing, yet look up and see it at 100% of it's actual size in my 2nd zoom window. So eliminating that feature would be detrimental to my workflow.

User avatar
Peter Wassink
Posts: 3332
Joined: 17 Feb 2006, 15:38
Location: Amsterdam (Basse-Lotharingie)
Contact:

Re: "New Zoom Window" when in full screen mode

Post by Peter Wassink » 13 Feb 2015, 22:13

CartoonMonkey wrote:
zoomwindow.jpg
Hi Peter, I use TVPaint in full screen mode, spread across two monitors. My 28" 2560x1440 ips monitor, and my 1920x1080 cintiq.
When I'm working, I keep the main window to draw in, open on the Cintiq. I make a new zoom window with each project, and off to my left, I have that 2nd zoom window displayed at 100% on the 28" monitor.
This way, I can zoom in and out on my drawing, yet look up and see it at 100% of it's actual size in my 2nd zoom window. So eliminating that feature would be detrimental to my workflow.
now i'm confused.

how can you have two windows open AND be in full screen mode?
its either one isn't it?

when you are in full screen mode you can only have one project view, right?
Peter Wassink - 2D animator
• PC: Win10/64 Home - Xeon Quadcore E5410@2.33Ghz - 12Gb RAM
• laptop: Win10/64 Pro - i7-4600@2.1 GHz - 8Gb RAM

User avatar
CartoonMonkey
Posts: 921
Joined: 01 Jun 2007, 18:47
Location: Portland, Oregon
Contact:

Re: "New Zoom Window" when in full screen mode

Post by CartoonMonkey » 13 Feb 2015, 22:41

I mean, I work in borderless mode. TVPaint itself is full screen. The project windows are still windowed.
C

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests