The 0 function of the LightTable

A forum where you can suggest which features can be deleted or merged with other options.
Post Reply
User avatar
Léo
Posts: 1018
Joined: 24 Jul 2012, 15:40

The 0 function of the LightTable

Post by Léo » 21 Oct 2013, 15:08

I would like to know if like me you think that the 0 on the LightTable is useless.
I mean the 0 near to the number where you choose the frame you want to see before and after your current frame:
lighttable.png
lighttable.png (8.04 KiB) Viewed 8024 times
I think this feature is really useless now. It is mostly synonymous of mistakes for many users.
Léo Fernandez
http://www.tvpaint.com

User avatar
Elodie
Site Admin
Posts: 13321
Joined: 06 Jan 2009, 09:53
Location: Metz

Re: The 0 function of the LightTable

Post by Elodie » 21 Oct 2013, 15:12

I agree with the remove of that 0 :p
Questions or problems regarding the forum ? Please contact me by PM
Question regarding TVPaint or need a quotation ? Please contact me by email

User avatar
Fabrice
Posts: 9765
Joined: 17 Jul 2007, 15:00
Contact:

Re: The 0 function of the LightTable

Post by Fabrice » 21 Oct 2013, 15:18

it would be cool to leave some room to some other options :)
Fabrice Debarge, Product Manager, TVPaint Team

User avatar
Paul Fierlinger
Posts: 7513
Joined: 03 May 2008, 12:05
Location: Pennsylvania USA
Contact:

Re: The 0 function of the LightTable

Post by Paul Fierlinger » 21 Oct 2013, 15:47

And I agree that the zero has become the cause of much confusion. I suggest that it be replaced with the light bulb icon. Anyone using the LT for the first time and seeing a slider under the light bulb should easily guess what the slide probably does and will quickly find out upon trial.
Paul
http://www.slocumfilm.com
Desktop PC Win10-Pro -64 bit OS; 32.0 GB RAM
Processor: i7-2600 CPU@3.40GHz
AMD FirePro V7900; Intuos4 Wacom tablet

User avatar
Sewie
Posts: 1224
Joined: 18 Jun 2008, 11:57
Location: The Netherlands, Europe
Contact:

Re: The 0 function of the LightTable

Post by Sewie » 21 Oct 2013, 16:18

I use that button "0" very often when I quickly want to switch on/off the light table for many layers in a project at once.
Why do think it's useless? What other options could we use to quickly toggle the lighttable for an entire project with many layers?
Michael Sewnarain - SewieBlog
Windows 10/64b - TVP11.0.3 - Pro/64b - Cintiq24HD

User avatar
slowtiger
Posts: 2072
Joined: 08 May 2008, 21:10
Location: berlin, germany
Contact:

Re: The 0 function of the LightTable

Post by slowtiger » 21 Oct 2013, 16:23

Just leave it where it is.
TVP 10.0.18, Mac Pro Quadcore 3 GHz, 16 GB RAM, OS 10.11, QT 7.7.3

User avatar
Paul Fierlinger
Posts: 7513
Joined: 03 May 2008, 12:05
Location: Pennsylvania USA
Contact:

Re: The 0 function of the LightTable

Post by Paul Fierlinger » 21 Oct 2013, 16:45

Sewie wrote:I use that button "0" very often when I quickly want to switch on/off the light table for many layers in a project at once.
Why do think it's useless? What other options could we use to quickly toggle the lighttable for an entire project with many layers?
You make a good point, but do you know that there is a key command for toggling the LT off and on? I use this switch so extensively(dozens, maybe a hundred times a day) and have this switch installed in so many places, that it never occurred to me that someone wouldn't use it. Probably it is safer to leave the zero there.
Paul
http://www.slocumfilm.com
Desktop PC Win10-Pro -64 bit OS; 32.0 GB RAM
Processor: i7-2600 CPU@3.40GHz
AMD FirePro V7900; Intuos4 Wacom tablet

User avatar
Sewie
Posts: 1224
Joined: 18 Jun 2008, 11:57
Location: The Netherlands, Europe
Contact:

Re: The 0 function of the LightTable

Post by Sewie » 21 Oct 2013, 21:42

Paul Fierlinger wrote: You make a good point, but do you know that there is a key command for toggling the LT off and on?...
Which key is that, Paul? It's not one that's standard in TVPaint, is it? I am aware of a script button that either Svengali or Madsjuuls wrote and another one that toggles the global opacity by Lukas. But not one that is natively build into TVP.

The thing is, what are you gonna put in place of it?
I could do without if I could globally toggle the lighttable through a native keyboard shortcut. But I'd rather not...
Michael Sewnarain - SewieBlog
Windows 10/64b - TVP11.0.3 - Pro/64b - Cintiq24HD

User avatar
Paul Fierlinger
Posts: 7513
Joined: 03 May 2008, 12:05
Location: Pennsylvania USA
Contact:

Re: The 0 function of the LightTable

Post by Paul Fierlinger » 21 Oct 2013, 22:19

Layer: Light Table Mode.
I have it assigned to a keyboard key, to the rocker switch on my pen, and to one of the buttons on my Wacom tablet -- I use it that much.

BTW, I have nothing to do with software development decision making; just beta testing.
Paul
http://www.slocumfilm.com
Desktop PC Win10-Pro -64 bit OS; 32.0 GB RAM
Processor: i7-2600 CPU@3.40GHz
AMD FirePro V7900; Intuos4 Wacom tablet

User avatar
Sewie
Posts: 1224
Joined: 18 Jun 2008, 11:57
Location: The Netherlands, Europe
Contact:

Re: The 0 function of the LightTable

Post by Sewie » 21 Oct 2013, 23:02

Yes but that key only toggles the layer, not the project. Let's say you have a project with 10 layers, on 5 of them the light table is on. Is there a native command that can toggle those layer off and then back on again at once?

I don't believe there is. Until then, please don't remove this button!
Michael Sewnarain - SewieBlog
Windows 10/64b - TVP11.0.3 - Pro/64b - Cintiq24HD

User avatar
Paul Fierlinger
Posts: 7513
Joined: 03 May 2008, 12:05
Location: Pennsylvania USA
Contact:

Re: The 0 function of the LightTable

Post by Paul Fierlinger » 21 Oct 2013, 23:26

In TVP10 you have several options. RMB on the light bulb icon at the top of the Layer Heads.
Paul
http://www.slocumfilm.com
Desktop PC Win10-Pro -64 bit OS; 32.0 GB RAM
Processor: i7-2600 CPU@3.40GHz
AMD FirePro V7900; Intuos4 Wacom tablet

User avatar
Elodie
Site Admin
Posts: 13321
Joined: 06 Jan 2009, 09:53
Location: Metz

Re: The 0 function of the LightTable

Post by Elodie » 22 Oct 2013, 05:59

Paul Fierlinger wrote:And I agree that the zero has become the cause of much confusion. I suggest that it be replaced with the light bulb icon.
Looks like a good deal :)
Questions or problems regarding the forum ? Please contact me by PM
Question regarding TVPaint or need a quotation ? Please contact me by email

User avatar
Léo
Posts: 1018
Joined: 24 Jul 2012, 15:40

Re: The 0 function of the LightTable

Post by Léo » 22 Oct 2013, 09:18

Paul Fierlinger wrote:And I agree that the zero has become the cause of much confusion. I suggest that it be replaced with the light bulb icon.
I agree with you, that's a good deal indeed :)
Léo Fernandez
http://www.tvpaint.com

User avatar
Soom
Posts: 692
Joined: 25 Jul 2011, 16:25
Location: World
Contact:

Re: The 0 function of the LightTable

Post by Soom » 07 Nov 2013, 16:37

Paul Fierlinger wrote:In TVP10 you have several options. RMB on the light bulb icon at the top of the Layer Heads.
that doesn't let you toggle between turning LT on/off for all layers at once that you turned light table on for - 0 is the only quick option, as Sewie noted. leave the 0, just change the icon , although I don't see it necessary - clicking one time on it makes it very clear what it does....
At home: MacBook Pro, Os 10.10.3 (2.2 GHz Intel Quad-Core i7, 16 GB RAM), Cintiq 21", TVP Std 11.0.3
At work: PC, Windows 7, Cintiq 22", TVP Std 11.0.3

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest