multiline text FX

A forum where you can suggest which features can be deleted or merged with other options.
Post Reply
User avatar
Peter Wassink
Posts: 3749
Joined: 17 Feb 2006, 15:38
Location: Amsterdam
Contact:

multiline text FX

Post by Peter Wassink » 15 Feb 2021, 19:56

Please fix or remove.
its currently not really usable

i was trying to create a simple scrolling title on the basis of a textfile.

But i can't figure out how to do adjust the fontsize... except if you do it for all 110+ lines seperately!?


so either remove ... or .... explain me how it works! :P
Peter Wassink - 2D animator
• PC: Win10/64 Home - Xeon Quadcore E5410@2.33Ghz - 12Gb RAM
• laptop: Win10/64 Pro - i7-4600@2.1 GHz - 16Gb RAM

User avatar
D.T. Nethery
Posts: 2872
Joined: 27 Sep 2006, 19:19

Re: multiline text FX

Post by D.T. Nethery » 15 Feb 2021, 20:24

I've never used Multiline Text, but your post makes me curious.

Trying it out now it seems that each line of text has it's own parameters (like each different plane in the Multiplane Camera) , so you can adjust the size/position on Line 1 of the text , but it doesn't change the size of any of the other lines. That allows for flexibility in animating the text , but I agree that there should be an Option added for "Change Font Size on All Lines" or "Make All Lines the Same Font Size" so if you have many lines of text you don't have to manually set the font size one line at a time . So I think this would be a Feature/Improvement Request , instead of Remove Feature ?

Animator, TVPaint Beta-Tester, Animation Educator and Consultant.
MAC OS 10.14.6 , Macbook Pro Retina 15-inch, Late 2013,
2.3 GHz Intel Core i7, 16 GB Memory , TVPaint PRO 11.5 - 64bit ,
Wacom Cintiq 21 UX (second-gen.) ,Wacom Intuos Pro 5 , Wacom driver version 6.3.40-2

User avatar
Peter Wassink
Posts: 3749
Joined: 17 Feb 2006, 15:38
Location: Amsterdam
Contact:

Re: multiline text FX

Post by Peter Wassink » 16 Feb 2021, 18:22

D.T. Nethery wrote:
15 Feb 2021, 20:24
So I think this would be a Feature/Improvement Request , instead of Remove Feature ?
Haha, indeed... that was posted at the height of my frustration.
i ended up going to adobe premiere for this
where this feature is implemented very very smoothly

But i sometimes do wonder if TVPaint wouldn't be better if all the half developed features would be removed.

Because people would still try to use them and get frustrated.
Here are some parts that would certainly be candidates for improvement:

Multiline text
The multiplane camera
The particle FX
The Warp grid

but also non FXstack items like:
the Warp tool
the camera tool
The image library
Peter Wassink - 2D animator
• PC: Win10/64 Home - Xeon Quadcore E5410@2.33Ghz - 12Gb RAM
• laptop: Win10/64 Pro - i7-4600@2.1 GHz - 16Gb RAM

User avatar
D.T. Nethery
Posts: 2872
Joined: 27 Sep 2006, 19:19

Re: multiline text FX

Post by D.T. Nethery » 17 Feb 2021, 01:54

Peter Wassink wrote:
16 Feb 2021, 18:22
D.T. Nethery wrote:
15 Feb 2021, 20:24
So I think this would be a Feature/Improvement Request , instead of Remove Feature ?
Haha, indeed... that was posted at the height of my frustration.
i ended up going to adobe premiere for this
where this feature is implemented very very smoothly

But i sometimes do wonder if TVPaint wouldn't be better if all the half developed features would be removed.

Because people would still try to use them and get frustrated.
Here are some parts that would certainly be candidates for improvement:

Multiline text
The multiplane camera
The particle FX
The Warp grid

but also non FXstack items like:
the Warp tool
the camera tool
The image library
I sometimes do wonder if TVPaint wouldn't be better if all the half developed features would be removed. Because people would still try to use them and get frustrated.
Yes, I think that's a discussion worth having. Many of these half-baked features have not changed since 2006. More recent developments like Warp Tool, Camera Tool, Image Library , have great potential, but need improvement and some requested improvements have supposedly been on the "To-Do List" for years , at least since the introduction of TVPaint 11 in 2015 , six years ago.

Animator, TVPaint Beta-Tester, Animation Educator and Consultant.
MAC OS 10.14.6 , Macbook Pro Retina 15-inch, Late 2013,
2.3 GHz Intel Core i7, 16 GB Memory , TVPaint PRO 11.5 - 64bit ,
Wacom Cintiq 21 UX (second-gen.) ,Wacom Intuos Pro 5 , Wacom driver version 6.3.40-2

Post Reply