Revolution in coloring lineart: LazyBrush plugin V1.1 !

User avatar
dogsma
Posts: 206
Joined: 11 May 2008, 13:47
Location: Wynnewood, Pennsylvania
Contact:

Re: Revolution in coloring lineart: LazyBrush plugin V1.1 !

Post by dogsma » 08 Oct 2013, 16:22

Fresh start this morning :Opened a test layer on a new project.
It does work > if I do not alter the original "scibble layer" in any way.
Unlike your tutorials where each frame is colored ALL at once > I work fill by using the 2 A and B colors in my pen and fill those 2 colors all the way to end of layer...not worrying if there are leaks.
Then hit paint on each frame and those colors are filled.
For the rest of the colors on the character I repeat these steps and any color that has been mistakenly filled in the first pass I can correct with the proper color on the scribble layer color
I am only using "Set BG Scribble" at this point to not confuse me and created the layer in the first step with "Create Layers (with BG).

If one wants to make a new layer to paint on > with the original drawing layer.... I had to delete the first Scribble layer and rename the first color layer made... then start all over from the beginning = "Create layers (withBG) to make a fresh Scribble layer.
That is all I know for now . I am sure there are other painting options but for now I will keeping testing the basics.
Thank you .. ONWARD
Sandra
Sandra S. Fierlinger

User avatar
Mads Juul
Posts: 3990
Joined: 02 May 2007, 19:18
Location: Viborg,Denmark
Contact:

Re: Revolution in coloring lineart: LazyBrush plugin release

Post by Mads Juul » 09 Oct 2013, 07:54

Nice update! Impressive. Keep up the good work!

A Note to the Toolbar
lazybrush wrote: [2] A new TVPaint toolbar has been added with icons which allows hotkey assignment.
I have installed Lazy-brush 1.1 on Windows 64bit but the TVPX panel did not show up so I searched manually on my Computer and found the Panel in Wondows Temp folder and installed it.
Shoudn't it install automatically with the installer?
-Mads
Mads Juul
Storyboard Artist
blog: http://mjstoryboard.blogspot.dk/
Mail: mjstoryboard@gmail .com

Windows 10, 64 bit i7-4790 CPU 4.00 Hz,32 GB RAM, With TVP Animation 11 Pro (11.0.2-64bits)
2 Monitors 1920X1080 pixels + 1 Wacom Cintiq 21UX 2

User avatar
lazybrush
Posts: 27
Joined: 03 Jun 2013, 10:38
Contact:

Re: Revolution in coloring lineart: LazyBrush plugin release

Post by lazybrush » 09 Oct 2013, 13:07

madsjuul wrote: I have installed Lazy-brush 1.1 on Windows 64bit but the TVPX panel did not show up so I searched manually on my Computer and found the Panel in Wondows Temp folder and installed it. Shoudn't it install automatically with the installer?
Dear Mads,

thanks for testing the new version! Yes, TVPX panel should install automatically, however, it seems the installation process does not went through. We think Sandra has a similar problem. The issue here is that we were not able to find your TVPaint executable. We need it since we have to execute TVPaint. In the final release we'll probably remove this automatic installation procedure and distribute the panel separately as an optional part to avoid these issues.

User avatar
dogsma
Posts: 206
Joined: 11 May 2008, 13:47
Location: Wynnewood, Pennsylvania
Contact:

Re: Revolution in coloring lineart: LazyBrush plugin V1.1 !

Post by dogsma » 10 Oct 2013, 15:23

Thank you David for emailing me some clearer directions. I tried out a new project and all works fine and dandy. I can now use Lazy Brush in my work flow with confidence.
This is a copy of part of our email.. it may help others who may be confused when starting off.......... I RECOMMEND THIS PLUGIN !!!

> - Can you define for me the difference between FG (I presume means
> "foreground") and BG ("background").

Yes, FG means "foreground" or also "fully opaque color"
and BG means "background" or also "fully transparent color".

> - When I work .. I tend to use several layers under the original drawing
> for color. bottom layer is always full opaque to block back ground. The
> layers above that, I can paint more freely or reduce the layers opacity
> at the head. I realize this can not be done with Lazy Brush..but maybe
> I want to merge 2 colored layers made with Lazy Brush and then continue
> to fill in missing colors with Lazy Brush.... AFTER MERGING the colors
> are erased. this is a problem for me.

LazyBrush has to have all scribbles in the same scribble layer to produce
correct results. However, it does not mean it is necessary to paint all
scribbles at the same time. You can e.g. select yellow scribble first
and paint whole animation. Then you can select another color and again
paint whole animation. After all you can do the timeline selection and
press Paint button which will paint whole sequence. Then you can go to
individual frames and correct small errors. When the animation is painted
you can use button "Distribute Colors to layers" which will create a stack
of layers each with one color. For these layers you can then select proper
transparency and make the final composition. This is the workflow Ofer
Kapota used for his graduation film and was very happy with that. I'm not
expert on TVPaint so I'm not sure if this is really the best solution,
however, it's definitely doable and I believe notably faster than using
regular TVPaint tools.
Sandra S. Fierlinger

User avatar
CartoonMonkey
Posts: 921
Joined: 01 Jun 2007, 18:47
Location: Portland, Oregon
Contact:

Re: Revolution in coloring lineart: LazyBrush plugin V1.1 !

Post by CartoonMonkey » 15 Oct 2013, 01:28

I regularly use TVP for coloring high dpi scans of comics pages, and I can easily crash TVP (latest beta) if I use the latest LazyBrush on any large scanned image above 300dpi..

Example file that produces a crash when I hit "paint" in Lazybrush:
http://www.cartoonmonkey.com/smoker.zip" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
Application Name: TVPaint Animation 10 Pro (32bits) (BETA).exe
Application Version: 10.5.2.0
Application Timestamp: 524beeed
Fault Module Name: LazyBrush-1-1.dll
Fault Module Version: 0.0.0.0
Fault Module Timestamp: 524ad38b
Exception Code: c0000005
Exception Offset: 0003cf4f
OS Version: 6.2.9200.2.0.0.256.48
Locale ID: 1033
Additional Information 1: 5861
Additional Information 2: 5861822e1919d7c014bbb064c64908b2
Additional Information 3: f3d5
Additional Information 4: f3d5be0cad2787556264647dc02181c3

Read our privacy statement online:
http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?linkid=190175" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

If the online privacy statement is not available, please read our privacy statement offline:
C:\Windows\system32\en-US\erofflps.txt

smoker.jpg
smoker.jpg (87.33 KiB) Viewed 9741 times

User avatar
Paul Fierlinger
Posts: 7513
Joined: 03 May 2008, 12:05
Location: Pennsylvania USA
Contact:

Re: Revolution in coloring lineart: LazyBrush plugin V1.1 !

Post by Paul Fierlinger » 15 Oct 2013, 02:06

Just tested for you, Chad, and I experienced no crashes.
EDIT: Sandra suggests that you check your TVP temp folder. If you've experienced a lot of crashes it might be clogged with remnants which tend to cause further crashes.
Paul
http://www.slocumfilm.com
Desktop PC Win10-Pro -64 bit OS; 32.0 GB RAM
Processor: i7-2600 CPU@3.40GHz
AMD FirePro V7900; Intuos4 Wacom tablet

User avatar
CartoonMonkey
Posts: 921
Joined: 01 Jun 2007, 18:47
Location: Portland, Oregon
Contact:

Re: Revolution in coloring lineart: LazyBrush plugin V1.1 !

Post by CartoonMonkey » 16 Oct 2013, 00:11

Ah.. I just tried it in 64 bit TVP, which I hadn't been using.. and what a difference in speed. Wow!
(and it worked this time) - Makes sense, as 64 bit TVP properly addresses the 12 gb of ram I have installed in my machine.

Ok, time to abandon 32 bit altogether. :oops:
Thank you for the test Paul!
C

User avatar
Paul Fierlinger
Posts: 7513
Joined: 03 May 2008, 12:05
Location: Pennsylvania USA
Contact:

Re: Revolution in coloring lineart: LazyBrush plugin V1.1 !

Post by Paul Fierlinger » 16 Oct 2013, 00:54

Glad to help.
Paul
http://www.slocumfilm.com
Desktop PC Win10-Pro -64 bit OS; 32.0 GB RAM
Processor: i7-2600 CPU@3.40GHz
AMD FirePro V7900; Intuos4 Wacom tablet

User avatar
elmisilhumano
Posts: 1075
Joined: 28 Aug 2006, 20:41
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Revolution in coloring lineart: LazyBrush plugin V1.1 !

Post by elmisilhumano » 07 Nov 2013, 15:28

I'm doing the new configuration and my lazy brush says "lazy brush trial expired". And just two buttons Ok and Buy now. Where I can put my serial number??

M.
Mikko Vormala
Piñata

User avatar
lazybrush
Posts: 27
Joined: 03 Jun 2013, 10:38
Contact:

Re: Revolution in coloring lineart: LazyBrush plugin V1.1 !

Post by lazybrush » 07 Nov 2013, 15:42

Mikko: Sorry for the confusion, the "Unlock" button is in the original LazyBrush window, not in the new panel.
Please open the LazyBrush window first by clicking on "Windows > Plugins > LazyBrush 1.1" in the TVPaint top menu.
The LazyBrush window will appear with a "Unlock" button in the lower left part. It will ask you for the serial when you click on it.

User avatar
elmisilhumano
Posts: 1075
Joined: 28 Aug 2006, 20:41
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Revolution in coloring lineart: LazyBrush plugin V1.1 !

Post by elmisilhumano » 07 Nov 2013, 15:58

lazybrush wrote: Please open the LazyBrush window first by clicking on "Windows > Plugins > LazyBrush 1.1" in the TVPaint top menu.
For some reason nothing happens. I can only open my laxy brush from custom panels menu.

M.
Mikko Vormala
Piñata

User avatar
lazybrush
Posts: 27
Joined: 03 Jun 2013, 10:38
Contact:

Re: Revolution in coloring lineart: LazyBrush plugin V1.1 !

Post by lazybrush » 07 Nov 2013, 17:02

elmisilhumano wrote: For some reason nothing happens. I can only open my laxy brush from custom panels menu.
That's really strange. Our best guess is that the TVPaint window is somewhat smaller (different monitor?) than the last time LazyBrush was open, and maybe the LazyBrush window is hidden over the border.
I've just prepared an updated version of LazyBrush which always puts the window at the center of the screen.

Please try to download and install this new version and see if it helps. The new package is here:

Windows:
http://lazy-brush.com/dl/LazyBrush-1.1.zip

Mac:
http://lazy-brush.com/dl/LazyBrush-1.1.dmg

Please make sure to completely close TVPaint before re-installing LazyBrush.

User avatar
elmisilhumano
Posts: 1075
Joined: 28 Aug 2006, 20:41
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Revolution in coloring lineart: LazyBrush plugin V1.1 !

Post by elmisilhumano » 08 Nov 2013, 08:11

Sorry to say but doesn't work. Lazy brush still works with my old configuration but opens only from custom panel menu. Not from window-> plugin.
When installing with new configuration I get Loading extension.. No place for serial number. Then lazy brush opens normally. When trying to paint it says Lazy brush trial expired and no place for serial number. :?:

M.
Attachments
Screen Shot 2013-11-08 at 10.07.52 AM.png
Screen Shot 2013-11-08 at 10.07.52 AM.png (24.03 KiB) Viewed 9101 times
Screen Shot 2013-11-08 at 10.08.12 AM.png
Screen Shot 2013-11-08 at 10.08.12 AM.png (6.21 KiB) Viewed 9101 times
Mikko Vormala
Piñata

User avatar
lazybrush
Posts: 27
Joined: 03 Jun 2013, 10:38
Contact:

Re: Revolution in coloring lineart: LazyBrush plugin V1.1 !

Post by lazybrush » 08 Nov 2013, 12:24

elmisilhumano wrote:Lazy brush still works with my old configuration but opens only from custom panel menu. Not from window-> plugin.
Well that's really wierd, I don't have any explanation why the LazyBrush window is not showing up now after clicking on Windows->Plugins->LazyBrush.
Anyway, I prepared yet another version where the Unlock button is in the "trial expired" window (see the screenshot). Hopefully this will fix it for you.
The updated packages are again here:
Mac: http://lazy-brush.com/dl/LazyBrush-1.1.dmg
Windows: http://lazy-brush.com/dl/LazyBrush-1.1.zip
Thank you for your cooperation, and sorry for the inconvenience.
Attachments
screenshot.png
screenshot.png (3.47 KiB) Viewed 9090 times

User avatar
elmisilhumano
Posts: 1075
Joined: 28 Aug 2006, 20:41
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Revolution in coloring lineart: LazyBrush plugin V1.1 !

Post by elmisilhumano » 08 Nov 2013, 13:00

No idea why it doesn't work like it should but now it works with latest update. Thank You.

M.
Mikko Vormala
Piñata

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests