Page 1 of 1

Rename instances with respect to Frame Number and Exposures

Posted: 27 Feb 2016, 19:15
by D.T. Nethery
Referencing this topic (and my post in particular)

http://www.tvpaint.com/forum/viewtopic. ... 543#p88247" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

I would like to request that the Rename All Instances behave the same as the AUTO button on Mads Juul's Tracker tool .
Rename Instances.jpg
Rename Instances.jpg (33.44 KiB) Viewed 3929 times
Mads Tracker Shortcuts Tool Panel.jpg
Mads Tracker Shortcuts Tool Panel.jpg (13.04 KiB) Viewed 3929 times
You can see exactly what I'm referring to in the text and screen grabs in my post here: http://www.tvpaint.com/forum/viewtopic. ... 543#p88247" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

This function (respecting the frame numbers and the exposures of each instance) will come in very handy if the vertical X-sheet is ever improved to behave more like the Timeline , but in the classic vertical X-sheet format as had been discussed here: Refining the X-sheet Behavior .


.
.

Re: Rename instances with respect to Frame Number and Exposures

Posted: 01 Oct 2017, 17:34
by D.T. Nethery
Bump.

Please add options directly in TVPaint to rename instances the way that Mads Juul's 'Tracker Shortcuts Tool' will rename instances respecting the exposure (whether on 1's or 2's , 3's, etc.) of the instances , relative to the frame number the instances are located on.

For example: imagine that you have a sequence of 16 drawings exposed ON 1's , so they are simply named 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 , 6 , 7 , 8 , 9, 10, 11, 12 , 12, 14, 15, 16.

If you rename these with the TVPaint 11 renamer to add a prefix (say "RK-" for "running kid" ) ... if those drawings are exposed ON 1's they are renamed automatically as RK-1 , RK-2, RK-3, RK-4 , RK-5 , RK-6 , RK-7, RK-8, RK-9, RK-10, RK-11, RK-12, RK-13, RK-14, RK-15, RK-16 ... so far , so good ... if the drawings are intended to be exposed ON 1's this is as it should be.

BUT let's say you have those 16 drawings exposed ON 2's and you renamed them ? With the current TVPaint 11 renamer it renames them as if they are single frame exposures:

RK-1, RK-2, RK-3, RK-4 , RK-5 , RK-6 , RK-7, RK-8, RK-9, RK-10, RK-11, RK-12, RK-13, RK-14, RK-15, RK-16

However, with Mads' Tracker it renames them properly, respecting the exposure ON 2's , as :

RK-1, RK-3, RK-5 , RK-7 , RK-9 , RK-11, RK-13, RK-15 , RK-17, RK-19, RK-21, RK-23, RK-25 , RK-27 , RK-29 , RK-31 .

Similarly if you had the drawings exposed ON 4's, the Mads' Tracker "Instances Auto Name" button respects that exposure and would rename them as :

RK-1, RK-5 , RK-9, RK-13 , RK-17, RK-21, RK-25 , RK-29 , RK-33 , RK-37 , RK-41 , RK-45 , RK-49, RK-53, RK-57 , RK-61, RK-65

If the above is unclear to anyone reading , please see the following screen captures -
Spoiler : :
Image

Image

Image

Image

Here's how it should be to respect the exposure of the drawings ON 2's -
Image
(but currently this is not what happens with the TVPaint 11 renamer)

But here is Mads' Tracker in action -

Image

Image

Image

I think it would be better if TVPaint 11's default Rename Instances would behave like Mads' "Instances Auto Name" in his Tracker panel.

.

Re: Rename instances with respect to Frame Number and Exposures

Posted: 02 Oct 2017, 06:09
by Elodie
To do listed (thank you for "uping" the request) :D