Indicate on which layer you are

This section is dedicated to the feature & improvement requests (be sure what you are asking does not exist yet in TVPaint Animation ;) )
Post Reply
User avatar
schwarzgrau
Posts: 1030
Joined: 23 Jan 2012, 22:08
Location: Offenbach / Germany
Contact:

Indicate on which layer you are

Post by schwarzgrau » 08 Nov 2015, 14:31

Roselle posted a feature request in the german section and since she doesn't speak english that well I said I post this request for her.

It would be nice to have some kind of color indicator, which shows on which layer you are (if the layer uses the color groups). It could be something like a small dot somewhere or even something like a colored border around the working space, like in this example.
coloredborder.jpg
Maybe something which you could turn on and off like the animation disc.
Mac OS X 10.11.6 / TVP 11.0.8 PRO / Cintiq 22HD
Mac OS X 10.11.6 / TVP 11.0.8 PRO / Cintiq Companion 2
SCHWARZGRAU.COM

User avatar
Peter Wassink
Posts: 3406
Joined: 17 Feb 2006, 15:38
Location: Amsterdam (Basse-Lotharingie)
Contact:

Re: Indicate on which layer you are

Post by Peter Wassink » 08 Nov 2015, 14:54

but what if you have more layers in the colorgroup, you'd still be in the dark about which layer you are on.
This would only work if you have only one layer in each color group, or am i missing something?

I think the "display current layer" option in combination with layer attenuation is already a very good solution.
Peter Wassink - 2D animator
• PC: Win10/64 Home - Xeon Quadcore E5410@2.33Ghz - 12Gb RAM
• laptop: Win10/64 Pro - i7-4600@2.1 GHz - 8Gb RAM

User avatar
Sewie
Posts: 1252
Joined: 18 Jun 2008, 11:57
Location: The Netherlands, Europe
Contact:

Re: Indicate on which layer you are

Post by Sewie » 08 Nov 2015, 15:44

Peter Wassink wrote:....
I think the "display current layer" option in combination with layer attenuation is already a very good solution.
And I am in the dark about what you're saying, Peter. Where can I find this "display current layer" option??

I have often wished for a clearer indication of the current layer. Something you could see at a glance, preferably without having to press a keyboard shortcut.
Doesn't have to be much, a small dot, like Schwarzgrau suggest would be enough for me.

Or perhaps in the "Project Window" where the current layer is already displayed at the moment (along with the 'project' and the 'clip' name) the layer name could be displayed in the color of the layer? And if color is off (default) for the current layer, the name would be displayed like it is now (no color).
Michael Sewnarain - SewieBlog
Windows 10/64b - TVP11.0.8 - Pro/64b - Cintiq24HD

Svengali
Posts: 1133
Joined: 28 Dec 2006, 10:08
Contact:

Re: Indicate on which layer you are

Post by Svengali » 08 Nov 2015, 15:48

schwarzgrau wrote:It would be nice to have some kind of color indicator, which shows on which layer you are (if the layer uses the color groups). It could be something like a small dot somewhere...
Maybe a tiny color box (of current LayerGroup color) could be added to the Infobar message (which for me already updates the current layer and current frame number)?
Infobar with layer group color.png
Infobar with layer group color.png (9.44 KiB) Viewed 3725 times
Sven
Desktop: tvp Pro 11.0.8-64bit, Win8.1 - 24GB ram -2TB HHD - 256GB SSD - intuos4 - d.ver.6.3.15-3
Android Tablet: release 11, Samsung Galaxy Note10.1 - 32GB internal - microSD 32GB

User avatar
Sewie
Posts: 1252
Joined: 18 Jun 2008, 11:57
Location: The Netherlands, Europe
Contact:

Re: Indicate on which layer you are

Post by Sewie » 08 Nov 2015, 15:54

Yes, that might work as well. Though not very comfortable for those of us on Cintiq's as it is very small and way at bottom of the screen.
Also, please don't put it in the middle area of that bar because that would place it underneath the drawing arm.
Michael Sewnarain - SewieBlog
Windows 10/64b - TVP11.0.8 - Pro/64b - Cintiq24HD

User avatar
Peter Wassink
Posts: 3406
Joined: 17 Feb 2006, 15:38
Location: Amsterdam (Basse-Lotharingie)
Contact:

Re: Indicate on which layer you are

Post by Peter Wassink » 08 Nov 2015, 19:00

Sewie wrote: And I am in the dark about what you're saying, Peter. Where can I find this "display current layer" option??
its the first option under the eye-symbol in the layer panel,
This toggles between displaying all active layers and displaying only the current layer.
Last edited by Peter Wassink on 08 Nov 2015, 19:12, edited 1 time in total.
Peter Wassink - 2D animator
• PC: Win10/64 Home - Xeon Quadcore E5410@2.33Ghz - 12Gb RAM
• laptop: Win10/64 Pro - i7-4600@2.1 GHz - 8Gb RAM

User avatar
Roselle2
Posts: 327
Joined: 22 Nov 2007, 14:50
Location: Deutschland/Barsbüttel
Contact:

Re: Indicate on which layer you are

Post by Roselle2 » 08 Nov 2015, 19:08

schwarzgrau wrote:Roselle posted a feature request in the german section and since she doesn't speak english that well I said I post this request for her.

It would be nice to have some kind of color indicator, which shows on which layer you are (if the layer uses the color groups). It could be something like a small dot somewhere or even something like a colored border around the working space, like in this example.
coloredborder.jpg
Maybe something which you could turn on and off like the animation disc.
Ja das ist sehrgut.
That is verry good.
The Color at The Projekt Window. (oberer Fensterbalken ( Menü))
Your Layer are 20 Your Collor are 12. Then You mace a new Collor. betuien 16 Millin. That is the best for all Wacom Tablett's. Ok? Roselle2
PC:Asus Z87-PRO. W10-64/Prof. 32GB RAM / SSD 5/ Graf: Zotac NVIDIA GTX 970- 4GB, TVPaint.A-Pro 11.6. 64 Bit CPU-Intel i7-4771 Quad Core (2 x 4 Kerne, A- 3,5 GHz). Hier stürzt TV Paint AP-nicht mehr ab!

Post Reply