Keyframer set pivot point by Click And drag

This section is dedicated to the feature & improvement requests (be sure what you are asking does not exist yet in TVPaint Animation ;) )
User avatar
Fabrice
Posts: 10079
Joined: 17 Jul 2007, 15:00
Contact:

Re: Keyframer set pivot point by Click And drag

Post by Fabrice » 30 Aug 2012, 09:45

that's indeed one of the difficulties. :)
Fabrice Debarge

User avatar
ZigOtto
Posts: 4103
Joined: 17 Feb 2006, 22:50
Location: south-Petazonia

Re: Keyframer set pivot point by Click And drag

Post by ZigOtto » 30 Aug 2012, 13:48

Peter Wassink wrote:
Fabrice wrote:we all know here it has been asked for a while. (at least Mirage days)
probably not that easy, or Hervé would have done it already.
as a layman i'd think it would simply be a matter of subtracting the new pivot values from the position values.
but i can imagine it might have some ramifications regarding existing keyed position values?
if you want to change for instance the pivot on a already pixeltracked path you'd have to alter hundreds of position coordinates for every single pivot alteration
so what ..?
two "add/substract values" operations, or hundred ... or even thousand ... it's only basic mathematics affordable by any cheaper computer of the market. :|
... I think we should have that as option (a button to tick on/off) :
- OFF => Moving Pivot (as we have now, gliding the content around)
- ON => Moving Pivot Compensated (keeping the content at the current position),
and of course Alt+Click&drag (or Ctrl+Click&drag) to move the pivot in the HUD.

edit : if the "Compensated" mode by adventure was to "heavy" to implement when a path is already set, make it at least possible at start, or after a FX Reset. :roll:
Last edited by ZigOtto on 30 Aug 2012, 13:54, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
Mads Juul
Posts: 3993
Joined: 02 May 2007, 19:18
Location: Viborg,Denmark
Contact:

Re: Keyframer set pivot point by Click And drag

Post by Mads Juul » 30 Aug 2012, 13:51

yeah Adobe After Effect Has Managed it for as long as i remember.
Mads Juul
Storyboard Artist
blog: http://mjstoryboard.blogspot.dk/
Mail: mjstoryboard@gmail .com

Windows 10, 64 bit i7-4790 CPU 4.00 Hz,32 GB RAM, With TVP Animation 11 Pro (11.0.2-64bits)
2 Monitors 1920X1080 pixels + 1 Wacom Cintiq 21UX 2

User avatar
slowtiger
Posts: 2343
Joined: 08 May 2008, 21:10
Location: berlin, germany
Contact:

Re: Keyframer set pivot point by Click And drag

Post by slowtiger » 30 Aug 2012, 15:29

I see the problem is not the computing - that's indeed trivial. The problem is to decide if and when to recompute existing keyframes.

Don't forget that changing the pivot position is animateable. How shall the preview be updated? Will it show the new position on all keys immediately, or will it give you the choice of keeping the old pivot position on a previously set position key? Bear in mind that people not always work from the start, so they may use the default pivot on keys 1 and 12, a changed pivot in key 30, and want the original from key 50 on again. How would they tell the program? How should the program react?
TVP 10.0.18, Mac Pro Quadcore 3 GHz, 16 GB RAM, OS 10.11, QT 7.7.3

User avatar
ZigOtto
Posts: 4103
Joined: 17 Feb 2006, 22:50
Location: south-Petazonia

Re: Keyframer set pivot point by Click And drag

Post by ZigOtto » 30 Aug 2012, 20:30

slowtiger wrote:... How should the program react?
imo exactly the same manner when you edit a key setting,
the preview is updated accordingly with the new setting, and if you navigate, the settings are updated accordingly with the previous Key or the next one,
in other words, modifying the pivot settings should work similarly as when you modify any other key setting,
and when I suggest to add an [on/off] option button, this option won't be animateable, you set it "on", or "off" for the whole FX, from start to end.

User avatar
D.T. Nethery
Posts: 2448
Joined: 27 Sep 2006, 19:19

Re: Keyframer set pivot point by Click And drag

Post by D.T. Nethery » 09 Dec 2014, 22:18

As far as I know this feature request has not been implemented (set the Keyframe pivot point by click and drag) .

Is this still on the "To do" list ? I am asking because a student asked about it today .
Last edited by D.T. Nethery on 20 Jun 2015, 13:17, edited 3 times in total.

User avatar
ZigOtto
Posts: 4103
Joined: 17 Feb 2006, 22:50
Location: south-Petazonia

Re: Keyframer set pivot point by Click And drag

Post by ZigOtto » 10 Dec 2014, 09:07

+1 !

User avatar
Thierry
Site Admin
Posts: 2028
Joined: 07 Jan 2013, 08:28

Re: Keyframer set pivot point by Click And drag

Post by Thierry » 22 Jun 2015, 13:34

The request is still on the Todo-list, don't worry. However the list contains other requests and bugs that are of greater importance, so please be patient :)
On holidays from August 16th to Setpember 2nd ~ En vacances du 16 août au 2 septembre

Si votre question a trouvé réponse, marquez votre sujet comme Résolu. ~ If your question has been answered, mark your topic as Solved.
Avatar by Colombine Majou

Thierry CANTET

robin
Posts: 64
Joined: 27 Apr 2006, 08:04
Location: Paris

Re: Keyframer set pivot point by Click And drag

Post by robin » 15 Jun 2016, 20:40

This was in 2012…
So is there a solution now ? I am trying to change the pivot point in the key framer and it still seems to be the way it was described then…
If any solution has come up, I can't find it, and I am in TVP 11 pro…
Anyone ?
Thank you:-)
Robin
Mac OS X.12.6
TVPaint animation11pro
RAM 16Go
2,3 GHz Intel Core i7
NVIDIA GeForce GT 650M

Elodie
Posts: 13913
Joined: 06 Jan 2009, 09:53
Location: Metz

Re: Keyframer set pivot point by Click And drag

Post by Elodie » 18 Jun 2016, 10:12

Sadly, it is still not the case, for changing that "detail" in the keyframer is much more hazardous than we thought.
At the moment, you still have to change the position of this object around the pivot point (instead of moving the pivot point in the object) to get the result you want.

momo
Posts: 138
Joined: 21 Jan 2013, 19:20
Location: Seoul
Contact:

Re: Keyframer set pivot point by Click And drag

Post by momo » 22 Jun 2016, 02:56

+1!
momo

TvPaint 10 Pro 10.5.7 - 64 bits
Windows 7 64 bits


https://jeromeanimation.wordpress.com/

Post Reply