Easy break out of Infinite Loop?

This section is dedicated to the feature & improvement requests (be sure what you are asking does not exist yet in TVPaint Animation ;) )
Post Reply
Svengali
Posts: 1387
Joined: 28 Dec 2006, 10:08
Contact:

Easy break out of Infinite Loop?

Post by Svengali » 15 Mar 2021, 18:45

I wonder if there might not be a way to allow users to break out of an "Infinite Loop" (white screen)... maybe some emergency key combination like Control+Alt+Escape?

When developing a script, on many occasions I've accidentally set a conditional loop that never becomes true (never exits)... or used a loop value so large I finally have to use the Task Manager to quit TVPaint. Infinite Loop (white screen) is especially frustrating if it happens before hours of work can be saved...

sven
Desktop: tvp Pro 11.0.10-64bit, Win8.1 - 24GB ram -2TB HHD - 256GB SSD - Wacom Cintiq 16, driver 6.3.36-1
Android Tablet: rel. 11, Samsung Galaxy Note10.1 - 32GB internal - microSD 32GB
Android Tablet: rel. 11.5, Samsung Galaxy Tab S7plus - 128GB internal - no microSD yet

User avatar
Peter Wassink
Posts: 3783
Joined: 17 Feb 2006, 15:38
Location: Amsterdam
Contact:

Re: Easy break out of Infinite Loop?

Post by Peter Wassink » 15 Mar 2021, 22:26

YEs, not sure if i'm hijacking this request.

but a similar problem goes when loading a range of files.
recently i dragged a collection of png's, a numbered sequence of 40 frames, into tvpaint.
and tvpaint after loading the sequence was finished ...a new loadpanel popped up for the second frame and after the sequence loaded a second time a new panel popped up...
and so on
40 times without option to escape!
i had to click cancel 40 times!
Peter Wassink - 2D animator
• PC: Win10/64 Home - Xeon Quadcore E5410@2.33Ghz - 12Gb RAM
• laptop: Win10/64 Pro - i7-4600@2.1 GHz - 16Gb RAM

User avatar
Xavier
Site Admin
Posts: 823
Joined: 01 Oct 2019, 11:08

Re: Easy break out of Infinite Loop?

Post by Xavier » 17 Mar 2021, 11:31

When loading a video file you can hit escape to interrupt the loading (yes I agree that it does not always work and it's not immediate anyway).

When running a script I'm not sure, but indeed it could be an improvement. At the very least for these two operations.
Short but strong

Post Reply