more logic behaviour when deleting the first frame(s) of a layer

This section is dedicated to the feature & improvement requests (be sure what you are asking does not exist yet in TVPaint Animation ;) )
User avatar
Peter Wassink
Posts: 3781
Joined: 17 Feb 2006, 15:38
Location: Amsterdam
Contact:

Re: more logic behaviour when deleting the first frame(s) of a layer

Post by Peter Wassink » 14 Nov 2020, 17:22

but apart from doing this through the pull down menu
don't we also need a way to set behaviour when simply using the DEL key?


and i did not understand what you mean with: "keep empty"
deleting frames.png
deleting frames.png (75.65 KiB) Viewed 2985 times
Peter Wassink - 2D animator
• PC: Win10/64 Home - Xeon Quadcore E5410@2.33Ghz - 12Gb RAM
• laptop: Win10/64 Pro - i7-4600@2.1 GHz - 16Gb RAM

User avatar
Peter Wassink
Posts: 3781
Joined: 17 Feb 2006, 15:38
Location: Amsterdam
Contact:

Re: more logic behaviour when deleting the first frame(s) of a layer

Post by Peter Wassink » 14 Nov 2020, 17:42

BTW.Happy that you are addressing this!
but apart from doing this through the pull down menu
won't we also need a way to set the behaviour when simply using the DEL key?

and can't you make it so that, when the first or last frame are part of the deleted selection, the remaining part always stays in place.
so we only need the options on a selection in the middle...


i propose naming it so its clear what part of the layer stays in place:

Fix Right
Fix Left

Pin Right
Pin Left

Hold Right
Hold Left

Keep Right
Keep Left



and i did not understand what you mean with: "keep empty" will that be filled with empty instances?
i think the option in my image above... is not possible in the current layer engine...
Peter Wassink - 2D animator
• PC: Win10/64 Home - Xeon Quadcore E5410@2.33Ghz - 12Gb RAM
• laptop: Win10/64 Pro - i7-4600@2.1 GHz - 16Gb RAM

User avatar
Paul Fierlinger
Posts: 7849
Joined: 03 May 2008, 12:05
Location: Pennsylvania USA
Contact:

Re: more logic behaviour when deleting the first frame(s) of a layer

Post by Paul Fierlinger » 14 Nov 2020, 18:58

I see KEEP EMPTY as very useful when making room for a selected amount of new frames. I understand that we have INSERT frames but this KEEP EMPTY would allow us to first prepare the space for the new frames instead of having to first insert and only after seeing what this has caused (and there are times when I don't even spot right away what I have wrought)leaving us with a possible mess to start fixing with all sorts of workarounds.

What confuses me is the use of the word FIX which to me firstly means FIX something that has become broken. There are perhaps better expressions such as DEFINE, FASTEN, MAKE, PREPARE, SET, SPECIFY and even more....
Paul
http://www.slocumfilm.com
Desktop PC Win10-Pro -64 bit OS; 32.0 GB RAM
Processor: i7-2600 CPU@3.40GHz
AMD FirePro V7900; Intuos4 Wacom tablet

User avatar
Peter Wassink
Posts: 3781
Joined: 17 Feb 2006, 15:38
Location: Amsterdam
Contact:

Re: more logic behaviour when deleting the first frame(s) of a layer

Post by Peter Wassink » 15 Nov 2020, 17:39

Paul Fierlinger wrote:
14 Nov 2020, 18:58
What confuses me is the use of the word FIX which to me firstly means FIX something that has become broken...
i agree, it was ment as a short form for "Fixate"
Peter Wassink - 2D animator
• PC: Win10/64 Home - Xeon Quadcore E5410@2.33Ghz - 12Gb RAM
• laptop: Win10/64 Pro - i7-4600@2.1 GHz - 16Gb RAM

Svengali
Posts: 1382
Joined: 28 Dec 2006, 10:08
Contact:

Re: more logic behaviour when deleting the first frame(s) of a layer

Post by Svengali » 15 Nov 2020, 19:23

Here's my attempt at a muti-option Delete button...
DeleteSelect.png
DeleteSelect.png (18.21 KiB) Viewed 2945 times

sven

Edit: updated DeleteSelect.tvpx to tweak error-trapping
Attachments
DeleteSelect.tvpx
(103 KiB) Downloaded 108 times
Last edited by Svengali on 15 Nov 2020, 22:28, edited 1 time in total.
Desktop: tvp Pro 11.0.10-64bit, Win8.1 - 24GB ram -2TB HHD - 256GB SSD - Wacom Cintiq 16, driver 6.3.36-1
Android Tablet: rel. 11, Samsung Galaxy Note10.1 - 32GB internal - microSD 32GB
Android Tablet: rel. 11.5, Samsung Galaxy Tab S7plus - 128GB internal - no microSD yet

User avatar
Paul Fierlinger
Posts: 7849
Joined: 03 May 2008, 12:05
Location: Pennsylvania USA
Contact:

Re: more logic behaviour when deleting the first frame(s) of a layer

Post by Paul Fierlinger » 15 Nov 2020, 22:15

It works very well for me; simple, straightforward and will get a lot of use out of this. Thanks!
Paul
http://www.slocumfilm.com
Desktop PC Win10-Pro -64 bit OS; 32.0 GB RAM
Processor: i7-2600 CPU@3.40GHz
AMD FirePro V7900; Intuos4 Wacom tablet

User avatar
Xavier
Site Admin
Posts: 808
Joined: 01 Oct 2019, 11:08

Re: more logic behaviour when deleting the first frame(s) of a layer

Post by Xavier » 15 Nov 2020, 23:56

Peter Wassink wrote:
14 Nov 2020, 17:22
and i did not understand what you mean with: "keep empty"
Keep empty because so far I found no way to delete the cells without deleting the layer, but I could easily erase their content :)
Short but strong

User avatar
Xavier
Site Admin
Posts: 808
Joined: 01 Oct 2019, 11:08

Re: more logic behaviour when deleting the first frame(s) of a layer

Post by Xavier » 15 Nov 2020, 23:56

Svengali wrote:
15 Nov 2020, 19:23
Here's my attempt at a muti-option Delete button...
DeleteSelect.png


sven

Edit: updated DeleteSelect.tvpx to tweak error-trapping
Glad to notice that we came to the same conclusion ^^
Short but strong

User avatar
Paul Fierlinger
Posts: 7849
Joined: 03 May 2008, 12:05
Location: Pennsylvania USA
Contact:

Re: more logic behaviour when deleting the first frame(s) of a layer

Post by Paul Fierlinger » 16 Nov 2020, 00:09

To be able to keep empty frames can be very useful. Time and again I find the need to tighten a scene that I have already completed and I must replace a definite space with new frames. Often, during such revisions I have to do all that is made available in this shortcut: Replace old frames with redrawn new ones and tighten the frames from both ends to make a new perfect fit. Simply put, the empty frames become a placeholder for frames yet to be drawn.
Paul
http://www.slocumfilm.com
Desktop PC Win10-Pro -64 bit OS; 32.0 GB RAM
Processor: i7-2600 CPU@3.40GHz
AMD FirePro V7900; Intuos4 Wacom tablet

User avatar
Paul Fierlinger
Posts: 7849
Joined: 03 May 2008, 12:05
Location: Pennsylvania USA
Contact:

Re: more logic behaviour when deleting the first frame(s) of a layer

Post by Paul Fierlinger » 16 Nov 2020, 15:06

OOPS
Last edited by Paul Fierlinger on 16 Nov 2020, 20:45, edited 1 time in total.
Paul
http://www.slocumfilm.com
Desktop PC Win10-Pro -64 bit OS; 32.0 GB RAM
Processor: i7-2600 CPU@3.40GHz
AMD FirePro V7900; Intuos4 Wacom tablet

User avatar
Xavier
Site Admin
Posts: 808
Joined: 01 Oct 2019, 11:08

Re: more logic behaviour when deleting the first frame(s) of a layer

Post by Xavier » 16 Nov 2020, 18:13

Ah ! that's a question to ask in the "Technical support" ... or maybe in the beta forum
Short but strong

User avatar
Xavier
Site Admin
Posts: 808
Joined: 01 Oct 2019, 11:08

Re: more logic behaviour when deleting the first frame(s) of a layer

Post by Xavier » 17 Dec 2020, 14:20

Is the same behaviour applicable to the clip deletion ?
delete_clip.png
delete_clip.png (90.78 KiB) Viewed 2462 times
Short but strong

shachamrr
Posts: 3
Joined: 04 Apr 2019, 12:24

Re: more logic behaviour when deleting the first frame(s) of a layer

Post by shachamrr » 10 Jan 2021, 15:14

Peter Wassink wrote:
28 Aug 2020, 16:46
When you are anywhere on the tail of a layer and you delete a selection of frames (or just one), the layer remains at its start position and the frames after the selection are shifted to the left.
so far so good.

My request is that when a selection of frames on a layer includes the first frame, deleting this selection, should leave the remaining frames at the position that they were
In by far the most cases i delete the first part of a layer to trim it to match other layers, meaning the rest of the layer should stay put.
Now, after deleting
begin frames, i always have to re-shift the remains back to where they were before.

the general logic in layer behaviour when deleting frames should be:
deleting frames lets the layer stay in position on the timeline

What do others think?
+1
Totally agreed, any workaround requires more clicks and isn't intuitive.

User avatar
Paul Fierlinger
Posts: 7849
Joined: 03 May 2008, 12:05
Location: Pennsylvania USA
Contact:

Re: more logic behaviour when deleting the first frame(s) of a layer

Post by Paul Fierlinger » 10 Jan 2021, 16:44

I'm with you on this one as well.
Paul
http://www.slocumfilm.com
Desktop PC Win10-Pro -64 bit OS; 32.0 GB RAM
Processor: i7-2600 CPU@3.40GHz
AMD FirePro V7900; Intuos4 Wacom tablet

Post Reply