more logic behaviour when deleting the first frame(s) of a layer

This section is dedicated to the feature & improvement requests (be sure what you are asking does not exist yet in TVPaint Animation ;) )
User avatar
Peter Wassink
Posts: 3781
Joined: 17 Feb 2006, 15:38
Location: Amsterdam
Contact:

more logic behaviour when deleting the first frame(s) of a layer

Post by Peter Wassink » 28 Aug 2020, 16:46

When you are anywhere on the tail of a layer and you delete a selection of frames (or just one), the layer remains at its start position and the frames after the selection are shifted to the left.
so far so good.

My request is that when a selection of frames on a layer includes the first frame, deleting this selection, should leave the remaining frames at the position that they were
In by far the most cases i delete the first part of a layer to trim it to match other layers, meaning the rest of the layer should stay put.
Now, after deleting
begin frames, i always have to re-shift the remains back to where they were before.

the general logic in layer behaviour when deleting frames should be:
deleting frames lets the layer stay in position on the timeline

What do others think?
Last edited by Peter Wassink on 29 Aug 2020, 00:35, edited 2 times in total.
Peter Wassink - 2D animator
• PC: Win10/64 Home - Xeon Quadcore E5410@2.33Ghz - 12Gb RAM
• laptop: Win10/64 Pro - i7-4600@2.1 GHz - 16Gb RAM

User avatar
Paul Fierlinger
Posts: 7849
Joined: 03 May 2008, 12:05
Location: Pennsylvania USA
Contact:

Re: more logic behaviour when deleting the first frame(s) of a layer

Post by Paul Fierlinger » 28 Aug 2020, 16:51

I agree and use this quite often.
Paul
http://www.slocumfilm.com
Desktop PC Win10-Pro -64 bit OS; 32.0 GB RAM
Processor: i7-2600 CPU@3.40GHz
AMD FirePro V7900; Intuos4 Wacom tablet

User avatar
slowtiger
Posts: 2572
Joined: 08 May 2008, 21:10
Location: berlin, germany
Contact:

Re: more logic behaviour when deleting the first frame(s) of a layer

Post by slowtiger » 28 Aug 2020, 21:32

+1
TVP 10.0.18, Mac Pro Quadcore 3 GHz, 16 GB RAM, OS 10.11, QT 7.7.3

User avatar
schwarzgrau
Posts: 1139
Joined: 23 Jan 2012, 22:08
Location: Offenbach / Germany
Contact:

Re: more logic behaviour when deleting the first frame(s) of a layer

Post by schwarzgrau » 30 Aug 2020, 18:40

Yea +1 from me too
Windows 10 20H2 / TVP 11.5.1 PRO / Cintiq 22HD
Windows 10 20H2 / TVP 11.5.1 PRO / Mobile Studio Pro 16" (2019)
SCHWARZGRAU.COM

2dbert
Posts: 70
Joined: 08 Aug 2008, 20:49

Re: more logic behaviour when deleting the first frame(s) of a layer

Post by 2dbert » 30 Aug 2020, 19:55

I don't object, but wouldn't it be quite easy to just split the layer, then delete the layer containing the first unwanted frames?
Mac OSX Version 10.9 - 2GHz Intel Core 64(? I think so at least)bit - 4GB 1600 MHz DDR3 - Intel HD Graphics 4000 1024 MB
Yiynova MSP19U
TvPaint Animation 11.0.6 Pro

User avatar
Paul Fierlinger
Posts: 7849
Joined: 03 May 2008, 12:05
Location: Pennsylvania USA
Contact:

Re: more logic behaviour when deleting the first frame(s) of a layer

Post by Paul Fierlinger » 30 Aug 2020, 21:27

Sure, that's the damn inconvenient workaround. That's a whole lot of extra clicks.
Paul
http://www.slocumfilm.com
Desktop PC Win10-Pro -64 bit OS; 32.0 GB RAM
Processor: i7-2600 CPU@3.40GHz
AMD FirePro V7900; Intuos4 Wacom tablet

Svengali
Posts: 1382
Joined: 28 Dec 2006, 10:08
Contact:

Re: more logic behaviour when deleting the first frame(s) of a layer

Post by Svengali » 31 Aug 2020, 05:07

Here's a button/script called "DELETE FIRST" which I think does what you propose, Peter.

Here are the rules for using:


1. BE SURE TO TEST ON NON-CRITICAL PROJECT FIRST TO MAKE SURE YOU UNDERSTAND
AND TRUST HOW IT WORKS.

2.ONLY USE when you are deleting the BEGINNING FRAME (AND ONE-OR-MORE
FOLLOWING FRAMES) from the current layer. Note that the beginning frame
need not be frame number 1.

3. Start by selecting the frames to be removed (always include the beginning frame)
on the current layer.

4. Click the "Delete First" button.

5. Result on the current layer will remove the selected frames and
reposition the remaining frames so they maintain their original
positions.

If you try it, please post problems or suggested changes/enhancements, thanks.

Sven
Attachments
DeleteFirst.tvpx
(106.5 KiB) Downloaded 179 times
Desktop: tvp Pro 11.0.10-64bit, Win8.1 - 24GB ram -2TB HHD - 256GB SSD - Wacom Cintiq 16, driver 6.3.36-1
Android Tablet: rel. 11, Samsung Galaxy Note10.1 - 32GB internal - microSD 32GB
Android Tablet: rel. 11.5, Samsung Galaxy Tab S7plus - 128GB internal - no microSD yet

User avatar
D.T. Nethery
Posts: 2950
Joined: 27 Sep 2006, 19:19

Re: more logic behaviour when deleting the first frame(s) of a layer

Post by D.T. Nethery » 02 Sep 2020, 14:29

Peter Wassink wrote:
28 Aug 2020, 16:46

the general logic in layer behaviour when deleting frames should be:
deleting frames lets the layer stay in position on the timeline

What do others think?
+1

Animator, TVPaint Beta-Tester, Animation Educator and Consultant.
MAC OS 10.14.6 , Macbook Pro Retina 15-inch, Late 2013,
2.3 GHz Intel Core i7, 16 GB Memory , TVPaint PRO 11.5.1 - 64bit ,
Wacom Cintiq 21 UX ,Wacom Intuos Pro 5 , Wacom driver version 6.3.39-1

User avatar
D.T. Nethery
Posts: 2950
Joined: 27 Sep 2006, 19:19

Re: more logic behaviour when deleting the first frame(s) of a layer

Post by D.T. Nethery » 02 Sep 2020, 14:32

2dbert wrote:
30 Aug 2020, 19:55
I don't object, but wouldn't it be quite easy to just split the layer, then delete the layer containing the first unwanted frames?
That is a workaround I use , but as Paul mentions it is a bit of a pain to do it like that.

I notice that the always helpful Svengali has posted a script to accomplish this , so I'm looking forward to trying Sven's script . However, I still agree with Peter's request to have the default behaviour be : deleting frames lets the layer stay in position on the timeline .

Animator, TVPaint Beta-Tester, Animation Educator and Consultant.
MAC OS 10.14.6 , Macbook Pro Retina 15-inch, Late 2013,
2.3 GHz Intel Core i7, 16 GB Memory , TVPaint PRO 11.5.1 - 64bit ,
Wacom Cintiq 21 UX ,Wacom Intuos Pro 5 , Wacom driver version 6.3.39-1

User avatar
Paul Fierlinger
Posts: 7849
Joined: 03 May 2008, 12:05
Location: Pennsylvania USA
Contact:

Re: more logic behaviour when deleting the first frame(s) of a layer

Post by Paul Fierlinger » 02 Sep 2020, 17:42

Svengali's script is very simple and direct; one button called, Delete First, and that's precisely what happens when you underline any amount of frames and click on the button; the selected frames get deleted without causing the layer to jump to the left.
Paul
http://www.slocumfilm.com
Desktop PC Win10-Pro -64 bit OS; 32.0 GB RAM
Processor: i7-2600 CPU@3.40GHz
AMD FirePro V7900; Intuos4 Wacom tablet

User avatar
Peter Wassink
Posts: 3781
Joined: 17 Feb 2006, 15:38
Location: Amsterdam
Contact:

Re: more logic behaviour when deleting the first frame(s) of a layer

Post by Peter Wassink » 04 Sep 2020, 15:43

Maybe its an idea to have the "lock position" option (handsymbol in the layer header) play a role.

when selected the layer does not move.
when unselected the layer jumps to remain at its old start position.
Peter Wassink - 2D animator
• PC: Win10/64 Home - Xeon Quadcore E5410@2.33Ghz - 12Gb RAM
• laptop: Win10/64 Pro - i7-4600@2.1 GHz - 16Gb RAM

User avatar
Xavier
Site Admin
Posts: 808
Joined: 01 Oct 2019, 11:08

Re: more logic behaviour when deleting the first frame(s) of a layer

Post by Xavier » 12 Nov 2020, 20:31

Hi, I just finished adding a bunch of deletion options to the timeline contextual menu. This will be available in the future release 11.5.1 :)

Could you please just tell, how you'd name these different options ?
- let empty : keep the layer instances in place but clear their content
- shift previous : remove the layer instances, and shift the previous instances from the left to fill the gap
- pull next : remove the layer instances, and pull the next instances from the right to fill the gap

Regarding the two latter options, would "shift left" and "shift right" be significant enough for everyone ? When you delete instances in the middle of the layer, it's not that obvious to understand what it will do...
I've be thinking about using "-> forward" and "backward <-", for example. What do you think ?

delete_options.png
delete_options.png (13.56 KiB) Viewed 3420 times
Thanks for using TVPaint :mrgreen:
Short but strong

User avatar
Paul Fierlinger
Posts: 7849
Joined: 03 May 2008, 12:05
Location: Pennsylvania USA
Contact:

Re: more logic behaviour when deleting the first frame(s) of a layer

Post by Paul Fierlinger » 13 Nov 2020, 00:11

Thinking out loud here:
Keep emptied instances in place
Replace emptied instances with frames to the left
Replace emptied instances with frames to the right

SHORTER:

Keep empty
Replace from left
Replace from right

PERHAPS BETTER:

Fill gap from left
Fill gap from right
Paul
http://www.slocumfilm.com
Desktop PC Win10-Pro -64 bit OS; 32.0 GB RAM
Processor: i7-2600 CPU@3.40GHz
AMD FirePro V7900; Intuos4 Wacom tablet

User avatar
Xavier
Site Admin
Posts: 808
Joined: 01 Oct 2019, 11:08

Re: more logic behaviour when deleting the first frame(s) of a layer

Post by Xavier » 13 Nov 2020, 17:12

Thanks for the ideas ! yes, "fill gap" could be significant enough :)
Short but strong

User avatar
Paul Fierlinger
Posts: 7849
Joined: 03 May 2008, 12:05
Location: Pennsylvania USA
Contact:

Re: more logic behaviour when deleting the first frame(s) of a layer

Post by Paul Fierlinger » 13 Nov 2020, 21:59

Glad for the opportunity ,..
Paul
http://www.slocumfilm.com
Desktop PC Win10-Pro -64 bit OS; 32.0 GB RAM
Processor: i7-2600 CPU@3.40GHz
AMD FirePro V7900; Intuos4 Wacom tablet

Post Reply