Page 1 of 1

Tvpaint 10,5,7 pro/Visuals indicator showing wich brush is selected.

Posted: 11 Apr 2019, 21:21
by Anim-Illustrate
Hello.


I am not sure where to post this. So I made a new post.

I am a Tvpaint 10,5,7 pro 64 user.

I was wondering if anybody know if there is a way in this version of TvPaint, to be able to show a selected brush?

meaning: I have a few/alot of brushes that are similar in my toolbar. And when I select one brush I do not have an indicator showing wich brush I selected.
Thanks in advance.
Anim
tvpaintbrush01.JPG
tvpaintbrush01.JPG (10.35 KiB) Viewed 2908 times

Re: Tvpaint 10,5,7 pro/Visuals indicator showing wich brush is selected.

Posted: 12 Apr 2019, 00:06
by D.T. Nethery
You need to make specific icons for the brushes in our custom panels , so you can differentiate between them on you custom panels. This would be the same in any version of TVPaint ( 8, 9, 10, or 11) .

Re: Tvpaint 10,5,7 pro/Visuals indicator showing wich brush is selected.

Posted: 12 Apr 2019, 06:12
by Anim-Illustrate
Hey D.T. Nethery

Thanks 4 your reply. :D

Ok .so there is no way of making the selected brush icon highlighted when selected?..

I just see in V.11 when selected a brush the icon is sort of highlighted wich makes it easy and fast to differentiate .

Thanks again for your reply.

Anim

Re: Tvpaint 10,5,7 pro/Visuals indicator showing wich brush is selected.

Posted: 13 Apr 2019, 13:07
by D.T. Nethery
Oh, I think I understand better what you are asking now ... you want the selected brush to show as highlighted. I had thought it would be easier for you to differentiate between the various brushes if you made custom icons for them, but even if you did have custom icons for each brush, you want the brush to be highlighted when selected. I think it has to do with which interface colors you use for your TVPaint 10.5.7.

Here is a screen grab showing a tool panel in my TVPaint 10.5.7 ; notice the selected brush is highlighted.
Selected brush is highlighted.jpg
Selected brush is highlighted.jpg (24.62 KiB) Viewed 2862 times
This is the interface called InterfaceOSX.ini
There are many custom interface color designs available in this topic:

viewtopic.php?f=11&t=1313

Here is the one I use , InterfaceOSX.ini - viewtopic.php?f=11&t=1313&start=15#p61525 posted by user "Lukas" . One of the others posted in that topic may suit you better. I believe they all have the function where the selected tool is highlighted.

Here it is with the standard "Mirage" dark interface:
Mirage interface TVPaint_10.5.7.jpg
Mirage interface TVPaint_10.5.7.jpg (25.74 KiB) Viewed 2859 times
Here it is with the standard "Lorraine's Sky" interface :
Lorraine Sky_interface_TVPaint_10.5.7.jpg
Lorraine Sky_interface_TVPaint_10.5.7.jpg (20.35 KiB) Viewed 2858 times
After you have downloaded the custom interface .ini file , drop it into your TVPaint folder , then go to Preferences > Interface > Color Scheme , click on the drop down menu for color scheme and click on Open ... navigate to the folder where the custom interface .ini file is and select it.

.

Re: Tvpaint 10,5,7 pro/Visuals indicator showing wich brush is selected.

Posted: 13 Apr 2019, 18:31
by Svengali
Here's what you need to know to customize the highlight color for the selected tool icon...
The highlight color only appears in the alpha part of the icon image (its transparent background).
To change the highlight color for the selected icon, you need to follow these steps:
1. Open TVPaint.
2. In the" Edit" menu, press the bottom option: "Preferences".
3. In the Preferences Settings you select "Interface".
4. In the Interface Setting, you select the SECOND option (which opens a list of all the interface elements and their assigned colors).
5. 3/4 the way down the list you'll see "Gadget Stat Selected" - click on that.
6. This closes the list. You should now see "Gadget Stat Selected" in the second option with a color box showing the currently assigned color.
7. Click on the color box, then click on the color you want the highlighted icon background to be.
8. Click OK - you will see a warning that says "You need to restart TVPaint to use the new color scheme". click OK
9. Now, exit TVPaint and restart it.
10. To test: select a tool... you should see the color you chose as the highlight behind whatever image you've assigned to the tool's icon.

Some things to know. You can change any of the assigned colors to the TVPaint interface. You must exit and restart TVPaint between EACH COLOR CHANGE.
You will probably have to experiment to find out what colors are assigned to what interface element - it's very tedious, but that is the only method by which you can create a completely new interface color set.

Note that if an icon has no alpha area (transparent), the highlight color can't be seen. Some people design icons with 25% or 50% alpha, which then still highlights the icon for the tool which was selected.

Sven

Re: Tvpaint 10,5,7 pro/Visuals indicator showing wich brush is selected.

Posted: 14 Apr 2019, 15:48
by D.T. Nethery
Svengali wrote:
13 Apr 2019, 18:31

Note that if an icon has no alpha area (transparent), the highlight color can't be seen. Some people design icons with 25% or 50% alpha, which then still highlights the icon for the tool which was selected.

Sven
That's a very important point about the transparency of the icon. I forgot to mention that for the original poster. If designing custom icons for tools , make sure there is transparency on the icon so that the highlighting will show up .