Non-destructive fade

This section is dedicated to the feature & improvement requests (be sure what you are asking does not exist yet in TVPaint Animation ;) )
Post Reply
User avatar
slowtiger
Posts: 2176
Joined: 08 May 2008, 21:10
Location: berlin, germany
Contact:

Non-destructive fade

Post by slowtiger » 29 Jan 2018, 18:40

There's a very useful function in all music sequencer software which is called MIDI draw, or draw edit, or something similar. It also exists in video editing software, for sound volume and panorama fades. Today it occured to me that it could be very useful in TVP, too.
fade_tvp.PNG
fade_tvp.PNG (10.12 KiB) Viewed 912 times
Imagine a layer like this. Only some frames are drawn, there's a repeat setting at both ends. Now a switch would toggle the normal opacity setting to this "draw opacity" setting. The layer will change colour so it's clear it now extends to the whole project. There's a thin line now, default could be the last used global opacity setting. Clicking on the line creates a key which can be moved vertically or horizontally later. Vertical movement prompts that little number box to show, clicking inside makes the value editable.

Horizontal key position should be restricted to center of frame.

As you see in my example, the repeated animation is invisible for some frames, then fades in, stays at full opacity, and fades out again.

Toggle to global opacity should not erase the keys.
TVP 10.0.18, Mac Pro Quadcore 3 GHz, 16 GB RAM, OS 10.11, QT 7.7.3

User avatar
schwarzgrau
Posts: 1030
Joined: 23 Jan 2012, 22:08
Location: Offenbach / Germany
Contact:

Re: Non-destructive fade

Post by schwarzgrau » 29 Jan 2018, 21:51

I'm a big fan of non-destructive workflows and really like the idea, but everything non-destructive has to potential of slowing down TVPaint I guess?
Mac OS X 10.11.6 / TVP 11.0.8 PRO / Cintiq 22HD
Mac OS X 10.11.6 / TVP 11.0.8 PRO / Cintiq Companion 2
SCHWARZGRAU.COM

User avatar
slowtiger
Posts: 2176
Joined: 08 May 2008, 21:10
Location: berlin, germany
Contact:

Re: Non-destructive fade

Post by slowtiger » 29 Jan 2018, 21:58

Not in this case, I think, because the opacity setting is already there. Each frame has to be calculated, it makes no difference if all with the same opacity, or if from a table with different opacity values for each frame.
TVP 10.0.18, Mac Pro Quadcore 3 GHz, 16 GB RAM, OS 10.11, QT 7.7.3

Post Reply