Background > None, Colour and Check

This section is dedicated to the feature & improvement requests (be sure what you are asking does not exist yet in TVPaint Animation ;) )
Post Reply
User avatar
daninski
Posts: 160
Joined: 01 Oct 2015, 12:13
Location: Budapest/Newport
Contact:

Background > None, Colour and Check

Post by daninski » 16 Jan 2018, 11:14

Hi,

Is there anyway to have the background colour separate from the colours involved in the check? I'd like a white background layer, but for Check background I'd like a light grey and a mid grey. Which is currently not possible. IF I could change the colour of None to white, from black, that would solve my issue but I can't find that as an option.

Is it possible?

If not... FEATURE REQUEEEEEEST!!!! ;)

Thanks.
http://www.daninski.com
Award winning director with an iMac from about 2013 and a cintiq from about 2009, there's some RAM too.

User avatar
NathanOtano
Posts: 907
Joined: 01 Apr 2014, 07:07
Location: Paris, France
Contact:

Re: Background > None, Colour and Check

Post by NathanOtano » 16 Jan 2018, 11:44

Can't you just switch your background colors (bottom left of layer panel) between flat color and 2 colors and with the color you'd like to see? I'm not sure if I understood your request correctly
Storyboard, animation and design work : http://nathanotano.tumblr.com/
As I'm highly interested in animation workflows, I'm open to scripting new TVP functions for individuals and studios. Please don't hesitate to contact me!

User avatar
daninski
Posts: 160
Joined: 01 Oct 2015, 12:13
Location: Budapest/Newport
Contact:

Re: Background > None, Colour and Check

Post by daninski » 16 Jan 2018, 12:25

The Colour background is linked to the one colour of the checked. So if flat colour is A, then check is A and B. I'd like flat colour to be A, and checked colour to be B and C...
http://www.daninski.com
Award winning director with an iMac from about 2013 and a cintiq from about 2009, there's some RAM too.

User avatar
Animationriver
Posts: 153
Joined: 02 Jul 2017, 09:04
Location: Moscow
Contact:

Re: Background > None, Colour and Check

Post by Animationriver » 16 Jan 2018, 12:46

:D

Attachments
Снимок экрана 2018-01-16 в 15.29.35.jpg
www.youtube.com/c/animationriver
MAC OS 10.11.6 , MacBook Pro (Retina, 15-inch, Mid 2014)
2.8 GHz Intel Core i7, 16 GB Memory , TVPaint PRO 11.0.8, 64bit
NVIDIA GeForce GT 750M 2048 Мb
Wacom Cintiq 27 QHD Touch - Wacom Intuos Pro 5 - driver version 6.3.29-6[/b]

User avatar
daninski
Posts: 160
Joined: 01 Oct 2015, 12:13
Location: Budapest/Newport
Contact:

Re: Background > None, Colour and Check

Post by daninski » 16 Jan 2018, 13:46

Nope, It's still black when I check Background to •none. I'm talking about the background toggle at the bottle left of the clip timeline.
http://www.daninski.com
Award winning director with an iMac from about 2013 and a cintiq from about 2009, there's some RAM too.

Elodie
Posts: 13913
Joined: 06 Jan 2009, 09:53
Location: Metz

Re: Background > None, Colour and Check

Post by Elodie » 16 Jan 2018, 13:51

none = black.
background.mov
(1.6 MiB) Downloaded 151 times

User avatar
daninski
Posts: 160
Joined: 01 Oct 2015, 12:13
Location: Budapest/Newport
Contact:

Re: Background > None, Colour and Check

Post by daninski » 16 Jan 2018, 14:49

So you can see my problem in your video Elodie. I don't want my Check colours linked to the Colour one. Do you understand what I mean?
http://www.daninski.com
Award winning director with an iMac from about 2013 and a cintiq from about 2009, there's some RAM too.

User avatar
slowtiger
Posts: 2243
Joined: 08 May 2008, 21:10
Location: berlin, germany
Contact:

Re: Background > None, Colour and Check

Post by slowtiger » 16 Jan 2018, 15:07

I understand and like to have the same options:

Black
White
Transparent/Checkers (made from 2 colours which are NOT linked to white)
TVP 10.0.18, Mac Pro Quadcore 3 GHz, 16 GB RAM, OS 10.11, QT 7.7.3

Svengali
Posts: 1195
Joined: 28 Dec 2006, 10:08
Contact:

Re: Background > None, Colour and Check

Post by Svengali » 16 Jan 2018, 15:33

Code: Select all

tv_BackGround
parse result Bkgnd
IF CMP(Bkgnd,"check 128 128 128 200 200 200") = = 1
tv_BackGround "color" 200 200 200
ELSE
tv_BackGround "check" 128 128 128 200 200 200
END
Here's a quick solution I use all the time: ToggleBackgroundButtons.tvpx. The first button has a GEORGE script that toggles between White, 3 shades of Gray and Black background, plus a light Gray checked background. The second button has an embedded script (as listed above) in which you can change the individual RGB settings yourself.

Sven

[edited Jan 17 2018]
And here is the other, longer script which can also be edited (just remember to follow the logic on RGB values that are changed and make sure they are the same in the IF test that follows). Click Select All and EMBED in place of the above script and you'll have White, three shades of gray and black plus the check background.

Code: Select all

Param none
ScriptName = "ToggleBackgrounds"

tv_BackGround
parse result Bkgnd

IF CMP(Bkgnd,"check 128 128 128 200 200 200")
	tv_BackGround "color" 255 255 255				// white background
	EXIT
END

IF CMP(Bkgnd,"color 255 255 255")
	tv_BackGround "color" 200 200 200				// light gray background
	EXIT
END

IF CMP(Bkgnd,"color 200 200 200")
	tv_BackGround "color" 120 120 120				// medium gray background
	EXIT
END

IF CMP(Bkgnd,"color 120 120 120")
	tv_BackGround "color" 60 60 60					// dark gray background
	EXIT
END

IF CMP(Bkgnd,"color 60 60 60")
	tv_BackGround "color" 1 1 1						// black background
	EXIT
END


IF CMP(Bkgnd,"color 1 1 1")
	tv_BackGround "check" 128 128 128 200 200 200	// checkered medium gray and light gray
	EXIT
END

tv_BackGround "color" 255 255 255					// if any other background, then display white
Attachments
ToggleBackgroundButtons.tvpx
(165.5 KiB) Downloaded 98 times
Last edited by Svengali on 17 Jan 2018, 15:12, edited 1 time in total.
Desktop: tvp Pro 11.0.8-64bit, Win8.1 - 24GB ram -2TB HHD - 256GB SSD - intuos4 - d.ver.6.3.15-3
Android Tablet: release 11, Samsung Galaxy Note10.1 - 32GB internal - microSD 32GB

User avatar
NathanOtano
Posts: 907
Joined: 01 Apr 2014, 07:07
Location: Paris, France
Contact:

Re: Background > None, Colour and Check

Post by NathanOtano » 16 Jan 2018, 15:39

Scripts are always a solution hehe <3 love tvpaint
Storyboard, animation and design work : http://nathanotano.tumblr.com/
As I'm highly interested in animation workflows, I'm open to scripting new TVP functions for individuals and studios. Please don't hesitate to contact me!

User avatar
daninski
Posts: 160
Joined: 01 Oct 2015, 12:13
Location: Budapest/Newport
Contact:

Re: Background > None, Colour and Check

Post by daninski » 17 Jan 2018, 06:54

Svengali wrote:
16 Jan 2018, 15:33

Code: Select all

tv_BackGround
parse result Bkgnd
IF CMP(Bkgnd,"check 128 128 128 200 200 200") = = 1
tv_BackGround "color" 200 200 200
ELSE
tv_BackGround "check" 128 128 128 200 200 200
END
Here's a quick solution I use all the time: ToggleBackgroundButtons.tvpx. The first button has a GEORGE script that toggles between White, 3 shades of Gray and Black background, plus a light Gray checked background. The second button has an embedded script (as listed above) in which you can change the individual RGB settings yourself.

Sven
Thanks Sven! I changed colour to 255,255,255 and I'm running :) I'll keyboard shortcut to it asap! :)
http://www.daninski.com
Award winning director with an iMac from about 2013 and a cintiq from about 2009, there's some RAM too.

Post Reply