Possible increaseing the Sound Rate "32bit/384KHz" ? Topic is solved

This section is dedicated to the feature & improvement requests (be sure what you are asking does not exist yet in TVPaint Animation ;) )
Post Reply
TheQuestionMark
Posts: 115
Joined: 26 Sep 2013, 12:01

Possible increaseing the Sound Rate "32bit/384KHz" ?

Post by TheQuestionMark » 06 Oct 2016, 04:29

So I was browsing on the web for a sound card I saw "Musiland Monitor 02 US Dragon USB Sound Card Amplifier"! It seems very interesting and cheap for $100 compare to higher quality sound card which $300! I think it's a sound card right? I was wondering is it possible to increase the Sample Rate to 32-bit 384KHZ. I think 48 KHZ is a bit low. Is there a possible way to TVPaint sample rate increase to 384KHZ?
Last edited by TheQuestionMark on 05 Dec 2016, 21:28, edited 1 time in total.
Windows 10 64-Bit TvPaint Professional 11.0.2 (64-Bit)

User avatar
Fabrice
Posts: 9080
Joined: 17 Jul 2007, 15:00
Contact:

Re: Possible increaseing the Sound Rate "32bit/384KHz" ?

Post by Fabrice » 06 Oct 2016, 07:21

I never heard such a high frequency was existing ...
I can barely hear the difference between 44.1 and 48 KHz.
Fabrice Debarge, Product Manager, TVPaint Team

User avatar
slowtiger
Posts: 1979
Joined: 08 May 2008, 21:10
Location: berlin, germany
Contact:

Re: Possible increaseing the Sound Rate "32bit/384KHz" ?

Post by slowtiger » 06 Oct 2016, 08:15

Soundcards used in professional studios go up to 96 kHz, but not for listening, only for calculating, where it makes a difference. Since TVP only plays back sound, there's definitely no need to use higher resolution sound samples.
TVP 10.0.18, Mac Pro Quadcore 3 GHz, 16 GB RAM, OS 10.11, QT 7.7.3

TheQuestionMark
Posts: 115
Joined: 26 Sep 2013, 12:01

Re: Possible increaseing the Sound Rate "32bit/384KHz" ?

Post by TheQuestionMark » 05 Dec 2016, 21:30

slowtiger wrote:Soundcards used in professional studios go up to 96 kHz, but not for listening, only for calculating, where it makes a difference. Since TVP only plays back sound, there's definitely no need to use higher resolution sound samples.
But what about the 32-bit of the Sound Card. Does it make a change to sound or anything?
Windows 10 64-Bit TvPaint Professional 11.0.2 (64-Bit)

User avatar
slowtiger
Posts: 1979
Joined: 08 May 2008, 21:10
Location: berlin, germany
Contact:

Re: Possible increaseing the Sound Rate "32bit/384KHz" ?

Post by slowtiger » 05 Dec 2016, 22:35

Not for playback. As I said, the additional bits are only good for sound manipulation, especially if lots of operations are applied to the same sound again and again.
TVP 10.0.18, Mac Pro Quadcore 3 GHz, 16 GB RAM, OS 10.11, QT 7.7.3

User avatar
NathanOtano
Posts: 787
Joined: 01 Apr 2014, 07:07
Location: Paris, France
Contact:

Re: Possible increaseing the Sound Rate "32bit/384KHz" ?

Post by NathanOtano » 19 May 2017, 21:36

Hey,

I'm upping this thread because I also have a problem with sound quality. When I use TVPaint as a storyboard tool I expect TVPaint to let me export the sound again without any quality loss (even if the playback is at a reduced sound quality to stay smooth, it doesn't matter). If I recorded a sound at 32 bit with high frequency and use it on a storyboard or an animation, I expect to be able to export it afterward without any loss so for the sound design and mixing they can work with a lossless quality without having to move it again at the right TC (cause it's far better to modify sound). Or at least export all the tracks separately with the right TC. And, of course, I need to export the sound without any image...

I'm having the problem right now and would never have edited sound in TVPaint if I knew it :(

Nathan
Storyboard, animation and design work : http://nathanotano.tumblr.com/
As I'm highly interested in animation workflows, I'm open to scripting new TVP functions for individuals and studios. Please don't hesitate to contact me!

User avatar
Fabrice
Posts: 9080
Joined: 17 Jul 2007, 15:00
Contact:

Re: Possible increaseing the Sound Rate "32bit/384KHz" ?

Post by Fabrice » 21 May 2017, 21:44

What if you export your animation as FFmpeg - lossless or AVI internal ?
I might be wrong, but they shouldn't change the frequency nor compress the sound.
Fabrice Debarge, Product Manager, TVPaint Team

User avatar
NathanOtano
Posts: 787
Joined: 01 Apr 2014, 07:07
Location: Paris, France
Contact:

Re: Possible increaseing the Sound Rate "32bit/384KHz" ?

Post by NathanOtano » 22 May 2017, 06:58

Maybe im wrong and my compression doesnt come from tvpaint ? I havnt tested consciously with referenced and/or embedded sounds, and I exported in avi internal (which is really long to export just sound... I end up exporting 1px videos hehe).
Storyboard, animation and design work : http://nathanotano.tumblr.com/
As I'm highly interested in animation workflows, I'm open to scripting new TVP functions for individuals and studios. Please don't hesitate to contact me!

User avatar
Fabrice
Posts: 9080
Joined: 17 Jul 2007, 15:00
Contact:

Re: Possible increaseing the Sound Rate "32bit/384KHz" ?

Post by Fabrice » 22 May 2017, 10:45

From the informations, I have for now :

When importing, the sound is converted to fit what is selected in the Preferences Panel (nb : 2 chanels sound only) :
sound.png
sound.png (18.83 KiB) Viewed 55 times
When exporting, it should be lossless.
Mike will check and confirm.
Fabrice Debarge, Product Manager, TVPaint Team

User avatar
NathanOtano
Posts: 787
Joined: 01 Apr 2014, 07:07
Location: Paris, France
Contact:

Re: Possible increaseing the Sound Rate "32bit/384KHz" ?

Post by NathanOtano » 22 May 2017, 11:06

Nice! That's nice to know, i forgot this tab. And is it 16 bit or can it be 24/32 depending on the file?
Storyboard, animation and design work : http://nathanotano.tumblr.com/
As I'm highly interested in animation workflows, I'm open to scripting new TVP functions for individuals and studios. Please don't hesitate to contact me!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests