trouble exporting

You got a problem with Mirage or Aura ? Tell us here.
bokken
Posts: 20
Joined: 14 Oct 2012, 08:55

trouble exporting

Post by bokken » 25 Oct 2012, 12:49

hi, just finished an animation. I can export it as a GIF file, but when i try to export it as a videoclip, the result is a black screen as long as i play it. Only the soundtrack can be heard. How can I fix it?

User avatar
Elodie
Site Admin
Posts: 13319
Joined: 06 Jan 2009, 09:53
Location: Metz

Re: trouble exporting

Post by Elodie » 25 Oct 2012, 12:53

Hi Bokken,

What is your TVPaint version, your OS, the format file you used etc... ?
Questions or problems regarding the forum ? Please contact me by PM
Question regarding TVPaint or need a quotation ? Please contact me by email

bokken
Posts: 20
Joined: 14 Oct 2012, 08:55

Re: trouble exporting

Post by bokken » 25 Oct 2012, 12:58

Hi, Elodie, I use Windows 7 and, instead of tvpaint, mirage, but they say they're pretty similar. I have tried to export the animation as .avi and others, but haven't got any good results

User avatar
Elodie
Site Admin
Posts: 13319
Joined: 06 Jan 2009, 09:53
Location: Metz

Re: trouble exporting

Post by Elodie » 25 Oct 2012, 13:03

Bokken, if you ask questions about Mirage, please post your messages into the Aura / Mirage forum :)

We can't support too old versions (Mirage is over since 2005), so it's better to ask people who are still using this version (yes, that's weird because we are the developers of Mirage, but 7 years, that's a long ago ! :p)

IMO, I would say it's a problem of codec. Did you try to choose other codec when exporting in AVI ? Did you try to export in QT ?
Questions or problems regarding the forum ? Please contact me by PM
Question regarding TVPaint or need a quotation ? Please contact me by email

bokken
Posts: 20
Joined: 14 Oct 2012, 08:55

Re: trouble exporting

Post by bokken » 25 Oct 2012, 13:06

mm... It seems that the mirage forum is almost asleep, that's why i posted it to the other forum. Have been trying to change codec settings too, but to no avail. Now i'm gonna try to make photoshop see it as a .psd file (a big collection of them) and maybe from there i can export it, but it's so long...

User avatar
ematecki
Site Admin
Posts: 1878
Joined: 15 Feb 2006, 14:32

Re: trouble exporting

Post by ematecki » 25 Oct 2012, 13:08

Make PNGs instead of psd.
Without compression (compression is sloooooow), since you won;t keep them size is no problem.
Alors sourit moi et oublie tout
Car s’il faut t’offrir la lune pour te retenir
Je crois que je préfère te laisser partir

-- Claude François -- Je te demande pardon --

User avatar
Elodie
Site Admin
Posts: 13319
Joined: 06 Jan 2009, 09:53
Location: Metz

Re: trouble exporting

Post by Elodie » 25 Oct 2012, 13:15

bokken wrote:mm... It seems that the mirage forum is almost asleep, that's why i posted it to the other forum. Have been trying to change codec settings too, but to no avail. Now i'm gonna try to make photoshop see it as a .psd file (a big collection of them) and maybe from there i can export it, but it's so long...
I understand, but it's easier for us if you ask your question in the good forum. If we give you answers for TVPaint 10 while you are using Mirage, that's nonsense :p

Don't worry, we read all forums, even when they are sleeping ;)
Questions or problems regarding the forum ? Please contact me by PM
Question regarding TVPaint or need a quotation ? Please contact me by email

User avatar
slowtiger
Posts: 2071
Joined: 08 May 2008, 21:10
Location: berlin, germany
Contact:

Re: trouble exporting

Post by slowtiger » 25 Oct 2012, 13:15

- Is the artwork black, or other colours as well?
- Which codec did you choose? That's important.
- Have you tried to render over an existing video file with the same name?

To test:
- Make a sequence with some colours.
- Export as PNG sequence (just some 10 images.)
- Make sure you use RGB, not RGBA.

You get 10 PNG images with something visible inside? Fine.

- Export the same sequence as AVI, using No Compression.
- Make sure to click into the path text field and give it a completely new name.

Something visible in the video file? It may not play back smoothly, but you should be able to skip through the frames.
TVP 10.0.18, Mac Pro Quadcore 3 GHz, 16 GB RAM, OS 10.11, QT 7.7.3

bokken
Posts: 20
Joined: 14 Oct 2012, 08:55

Re: trouble exporting

Post by bokken » 25 Oct 2012, 13:15

ematecki wrote:Make PNGs instead of psd.
Without compression (compression is sloooooow), since you won;t keep them size is no problem.
I've tried - all the pngs are black :(

User avatar
Elodie
Site Admin
Posts: 13319
Joined: 06 Jan 2009, 09:53
Location: Metz

Re: trouble exporting

Post by Elodie » 25 Oct 2012, 13:17

Maybe you could post a screenshot of the export panel ;)
Questions or problems regarding the forum ? Please contact me by PM
Question regarding TVPaint or need a quotation ? Please contact me by email

bokken
Posts: 20
Joined: 14 Oct 2012, 08:55

Re: trouble exporting

Post by bokken » 25 Oct 2012, 13:21

slowtiger wrote:- Is the artwork black, or other colours as well?
- Which codec did you choose? That's important.
- Have you tried to render over an existing video file with the same name?

To test:
- Make a sequence with some colours.
- Export as PNG sequence (just some 10 images.)
- Make sure you use RGB, not RGBA.

You get 10 PNG images with something visible inside? Fine.

- Export the same sequence as AVI, using No Compression.
- Make sure to click into the path text field and give it a completely new name.

Something visible in the video file? It may not play back smoothly, but you should be able to skip through the frames.
the animation has a few black drawings on a white background - just like drawing with a pencil on a white paper. Have tried making a shorter animation with colours, exported it as AVI and it worked fine.

Just thought of something - I'd put a few jpg images as a presentation. Had created them in photoshop and then imported them to mirage. Could that be the origin of this black shit?

... er, no, it's not that. dammit

User avatar
ematecki
Site Admin
Posts: 1878
Joined: 15 Feb 2006, 14:32

Re: trouble exporting

Post by ematecki » 25 Oct 2012, 13:41

Check something like "with background" in the export panel, can't remember the exact name in Mirage.
Alors sourit moi et oublie tout
Car s’il faut t’offrir la lune pour te retenir
Je crois que je préfère te laisser partir

-- Claude François -- Je te demande pardon --

bokken
Posts: 20
Joined: 14 Oct 2012, 08:55

Re: trouble exporting

Post by bokken » 25 Oct 2012, 13:47

ematecki wrote:Check something like "with background" in the export panel, can't remember the exact name in Mirage.
ç

oh my, that was it!!!! thank you very, very much!!! :D :D :D

bokken
Posts: 20
Joined: 14 Oct 2012, 08:55

Re: trouble exporting

Post by bokken » 25 Oct 2012, 18:28

this is the result :mrgreen:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XdsMLU_ ... ature=plcp" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;



dont be cruel... it's my first rotoscope

User avatar
slowtiger
Posts: 2071
Joined: 08 May 2008, 21:10
Location: berlin, germany
Contact:

Re: trouble exporting

Post by slowtiger » 25 Oct 2012, 21:48

Looks nice.
TVP 10.0.18, Mac Pro Quadcore 3 GHz, 16 GB RAM, OS 10.11, QT 7.7.3

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests