my mirage 1.5 cannot export mov. file under xp

You got a problem with Mirage or Aura ? Tell us here.
Post Reply
User avatar
eckart
Posts: 8
Joined: 30 May 2008, 17:50
Location: germany
Contact:

my mirage 1.5 cannot export mov. file under xp

Post by eckart » 30 May 2008, 18:02

Hallo all,

I`am new to this forum. - Bought a mirage lizense some years ago and now very surprised what happend. I had a view post in the old bauhaus forum, but it seems it is history now...

My problem is that I couldn`t export an animation as mov under xp. I worked bevore under osx, but now my pc get`s an update and is much faster. Anybody now this problem and can help?- Not realy wan`t to update to TVP now.

Greets

User avatar
Hervé
Site Admin
Posts: 3490
Joined: 08 Feb 2006, 17:00
Location: Metz France
Contact:

Re: my mirage 1.5 cannot export mov. file under xp

Post by Hervé » 30 May 2008, 18:57

Hi Eckart,
Have you quicktime installed on your computer ?
Hervé ADAM, TVPaint Team

User avatar
eckart
Posts: 8
Joined: 30 May 2008, 17:50
Location: germany
Contact:

Re: my mirage 1.5 cannot export mov. file under xp

Post by eckart » 31 May 2008, 03:15

Yes I have.

User avatar
Hervé
Site Admin
Posts: 3490
Joined: 08 Feb 2006, 17:00
Location: Metz France
Contact:

Re: my mirage 1.5 cannot export mov. file under xp

Post by Hervé » 31 May 2008, 06:03

eckart wrote:Yes I have.
What is your graphic board ?
Hervé ADAM, TVPaint Team

User avatar
idragosani
Posts: 987
Joined: 06 May 2008, 00:39
Location: Germantown MD
Contact:

Re: my mirage 1.5 cannot export mov. file under xp

Post by idragosani » 31 May 2008, 12:29

What version of QuickTime? If I recall, earlier versions of QuickTIme 7 (7.1???) didn't play nice with Mirage. It wasn't Mirage, but the QuickTime libraries were unstable, causing crashes. I think what people did to get around the issue was to export in another format and then do the conversion with QuickTime Pro (which is pretty inexpensive, less then $30 USD).
Brett W. McCoy -- http://www.brettwmccoy.com
TVP Pro 10 : Intel i7 2600 3.4 GHz : 8GB RAM : Ubuntu Studio 14.04 : Cintiq 21UX

User avatar
Paul Fierlinger
Posts: 7521
Joined: 03 May 2008, 12:05
Location: Pennsylvania USA
Contact:

Re: my mirage 1.5 cannot export mov. file under xp

Post by Paul Fierlinger » 31 May 2008, 13:13

Or best of all, install a player called VLC, is shareware, and plays everything... my favorite video player.
Paul
http://www.slocumfilm.com
Desktop PC Win10-Pro -64 bit OS; 32.0 GB RAM
Processor: i7-2600 CPU@3.40GHz
AMD FirePro V7900; Intuos4 Wacom tablet

User avatar
idragosani
Posts: 987
Joined: 06 May 2008, 00:39
Location: Germantown MD
Contact:

Re: my mirage 1.5 cannot export mov. file under xp

Post by idragosani » 31 May 2008, 13:35

Paul Fierlinger wrote:Or best of all, install a player called VLC, is shareware, and plays everything... my favorite video player.
Agreed, it's very good! Actually, it's not shareware, but open source software.
Brett W. McCoy -- http://www.brettwmccoy.com
TVP Pro 10 : Intel i7 2600 3.4 GHz : 8GB RAM : Ubuntu Studio 14.04 : Cintiq 21UX

User avatar
Paul Fierlinger
Posts: 7521
Joined: 03 May 2008, 12:05
Location: Pennsylvania USA
Contact:

Re: my mirage 1.5 cannot export mov. file under xp

Post by Paul Fierlinger » 31 May 2008, 13:36

quibble, quibble; it's FREE. :oops:
Paul
http://www.slocumfilm.com
Desktop PC Win10-Pro -64 bit OS; 32.0 GB RAM
Processor: i7-2600 CPU@3.40GHz
AMD FirePro V7900; Intuos4 Wacom tablet

User avatar
idragosani
Posts: 987
Joined: 06 May 2008, 00:39
Location: Germantown MD
Contact:

Re: my mirage 1.5 cannot export mov. file under xp

Post by idragosani » 31 May 2008, 14:07

It is indeed. :-)

(Sorry, I work in the software industry where these kinds of licensing things do matter )
Brett W. McCoy -- http://www.brettwmccoy.com
TVP Pro 10 : Intel i7 2600 3.4 GHz : 8GB RAM : Ubuntu Studio 14.04 : Cintiq 21UX

User avatar
Paul Fierlinger
Posts: 7521
Joined: 03 May 2008, 12:05
Location: Pennsylvania USA
Contact:

Re: my mirage 1.5 cannot export mov. file under xp

Post by Paul Fierlinger » 31 May 2008, 14:10

I'll survive; no harm done.
Paul
http://www.slocumfilm.com
Desktop PC Win10-Pro -64 bit OS; 32.0 GB RAM
Processor: i7-2600 CPU@3.40GHz
AMD FirePro V7900; Intuos4 Wacom tablet

User avatar
Hervé
Site Admin
Posts: 3490
Joined: 08 Feb 2006, 17:00
Location: Metz France
Contact:

Re: my mirage 1.5 cannot export mov. file under xp

Post by Hervé » 31 May 2008, 15:11

There is a bug in quicktime with nvidia cards.
To correct this, you must set the safe mode in the Quicktime menu: Edit / Preferences / QuickTime Preferences / Advanced / Safe mode (GDI Only).

In TVP Animation we use a internal patch to force the safe mode, but not in Mirage.
Hervé ADAM, TVPaint Team

User avatar
eckart
Posts: 8
Joined: 30 May 2008, 17:50
Location: germany
Contact:

Re: my mirage 1.5 cannot export mov. file under xp

Post by eckart » 31 May 2008, 17:53

@Herve, wonderfull it works now.:)
Had a bit to search for the menu cause my quicktime is in german, but after a while I found it.
-I work with a nvidia geforce7600FT, Quicktimev 7.4.5

Thank you all for helping me!

Post Reply