Multi-Panel Tab Simulator - Store more buttons in less space

Share your custom panels, brushes, papers... (you need to be registered to read posts in this section)
Post Reply
Svengali
Posts: 1069
Joined: 28 Dec 2006, 10:08
Contact:

Multi-Panel Tab Simulator - Store more buttons in less space

Post by Svengali » 07 Jan 2014, 11:44

Here's a way to create MULTIPLE "tabbed" PANEL SETS so that they can alternately occupy the same screen space.
TabPanels.gif
A row of buttons across the first row act like tabs. In the example with four buttons (A B C D) you can open any of the four panels by clicking on one or another of the buttons. Since the panels are stacked, they can all occupy the same screen space... and you can have four times the icons in the same space... especially useful to Android Tablet users AND Cintiq users.

Attached you'll find two files:
1. a ZIP file: ABCDEFabcdef.ZIP containing a TVPaint file:ABCDEFabcdef.tvpp with icon-sized letters (upper and lower case) that can be grabbed for buttons.
2. a PDF file: Panel Tab Sets.PDF explains how to create four panels with four buttons each AND how to assign command pairs that toggle panels on and off.

There are two ways I've set up my own versions of the "tabbed" panels:
First, so they are part of the LEFT or RIGHT Panel Bins where you can create up to SIX! tabbed superimposed panels. The second way is to set up floating panels which can be as few as two or as many as six superimposed panels.

Sven
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Desktop: tvp Pro 11.0.6-64bit, Win8.1 - 24GB ram -2TB HHD - 256GB SSD - intuos4 - d.ver.6.3.15-3
Android Tablet: release 11, Samsung Galaxy Note10.1 - 32GB internal - microSD 32GB

User avatar
D.T. Nethery
Posts: 2028
Joined: 27 Sep 2006, 19:19

Re: Multi-Panel Tab Simulator - Store more buttons in less s

Post by D.T. Nethery » 11 Jan 2014, 20:40

Excellent ! Thank you !

User avatar
NathanOtano
Posts: 841
Joined: 01 Apr 2014, 07:07
Location: Paris, France
Contact:

Re: Multi-Panel Tab Simulator - Store more buttons in less s

Post by NathanOtano » 13 Dec 2015, 20:21

Haven't seen this post, it's really clever. Thanks!
Storyboard, animation and design work : http://nathanotano.tumblr.com/
As I'm highly interested in animation workflows, I'm open to scripting new TVP functions for individuals and studios. Please don't hesitate to contact me!

User avatar
Elodie
Site Admin
Posts: 12894
Joined: 06 Jan 2009, 09:53
Location: Metz

Re: Multi-Panel Tab Simulator - Store more buttons in less s

Post by Elodie » 23 Dec 2015, 05:46

Me neither ! That's really cool ! :D
Questions or problems regarding the forum ? Please contact me by PM
Question regarding TVPaint or need a quotation ? Please contact me by email

User avatar
meslin
Posts: 124
Joined: 26 Oct 2008, 03:07
Location: Connecticut / New York

Re: Multi-Panel Tab Simulator - Store more buttons in less s

Post by meslin » 22 Jan 2016, 20:31

This is an ingenious idea, but it was kind of time-consuming to set it up. I wonder if anyone else would adopt the process if it were a little quicker.
It would be very cool if there was a one-click solution to get the six panels set up.
Attached is a zip file with the six TVPX panels in place, and a .tvpp file wherein the panels are embedded, but they've lost all their actions.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Svengali
Posts: 1069
Joined: 28 Dec 2006, 10:08
Contact:

Re: Multi-Panel Tab Simulator - Store more buttons in less s

Post by Svengali » 22 Jan 2016, 21:15

meslin wrote:This is an ingenious idea, but it was kind of time-consuming to set it up. I wonder if anyone else would adopt the process if it were a little quicker.
Since posting this, (and having to go through the pain of setting up all the buttons several times for different panel sets ) I've simplified it to just one button in each panel. Clicking on the button in each panel invokes the next panel. So, instead of directly calling the other panels in the set it simply loops through them all.

Another solution I tried is to have two buttons (previous and next) which lets me loop through all panels in the set, forward and backward.

If it could be setup with one click that would be great.

Sven
Desktop: tvp Pro 11.0.6-64bit, Win8.1 - 24GB ram -2TB HHD - 256GB SSD - intuos4 - d.ver.6.3.15-3
Android Tablet: release 11, Samsung Galaxy Note10.1 - 32GB internal - microSD 32GB

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests