SplatterBrush!

Share your custom panels, brushes, papers... (you need to be registered to read posts in this section)
User avatar
Paul Fierlinger
Posts: 7690
Joined: 03 May 2008, 12:05
Location: Pennsylvania USA
Contact:

Re: SplatterBrush!

Post by Paul Fierlinger » 11 Dec 2009, 19:24

If you tweak the profile editor in size / jitter / opacity etc.. you can get quite a few different effects out of these four brushes.
Where should I look for that?
Paul
http://www.slocumfilm.com
Desktop PC Win10-Pro -64 bit OS; 32.0 GB RAM
Processor: i7-2600 CPU@3.40GHz
AMD FirePro V7900; Intuos4 Wacom tablet

User avatar
CartoonMonkey
Posts: 973
Joined: 01 Jun 2007, 18:47
Location: Portland, Oregon
Contact:

Re: SplatterBrush!

Post by CartoonMonkey » 11 Dec 2009, 22:55

In the custom brush options each control, Pressure, Jitter, Opacity, and Angle as well as Wet Profile have this profile editor mode..
Here's an example setting, turning the step down to 3, and the profile editor in Pressure, I added a point, and turned things down a bit..which gives you a short dense spray with little pressure, a larger one with more pressure.
The same goes for opacity. You could tweak the profile editor in opacity to give light opacity with light pressure, then darker pressure when you use heavy pressure.. or flip that and have the reverse happen, etc.

I only found out about the profile editors for the custom brushes a little while ago, and combining those with an animbrush.. and toying with different effects, one really can come up with infinite variations on a single animbrush.
I really like it. Fun stuff to play with.

C
profile.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Paul Fierlinger
Posts: 7690
Joined: 03 May 2008, 12:05
Location: Pennsylvania USA
Contact:

Re: SplatterBrush!

Post by Paul Fierlinger » 11 Dec 2009, 23:25

Got it! I never figured out to click on the connection buttons. Thanks. :D
Paul
http://www.slocumfilm.com
Desktop PC Win10-Pro -64 bit OS; 32.0 GB RAM
Processor: i7-2600 CPU@3.40GHz
AMD FirePro V7900; Intuos4 Wacom tablet

User avatar
malcooning
Posts: 2112
Joined: 29 Mar 2006, 12:43
Location: Tel Aviv
Contact:

Re: SplatterBrush!

Post by malcooning » 12 Dec 2009, 12:27

Thanks a lot Chad. These are good brushes.
They have wide scope. The downside to them is that on my machine, being high res brushes, in Medium smoothing the brushes lag some, and on No smoothing they pixelate. So I compromise for laggy medium smoothing.

And playing around with them yields cool results.
For instance, if you set the animation to 'Random & Hold', Reduce the pressure scope (with profile editor) and the step size to 0 or 1, you get a bristly brush with different (random) bristle every stroke. From there you can continue changing the brush mode to 'smear' (with low smear levels), and connect opacity with Fade. You got yourself a good looking bristly brush!

cheers
chad's brush.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Fabrice
Posts: 10079
Joined: 17 Jul 2007, 15:00
Contact:

Re: SplatterBrush!

Post by Fabrice » 13 Dec 2009, 11:52

excellent ! 8)
Fabrice Debarge

User avatar
CartoonMonkey
Posts: 973
Joined: 01 Jun 2007, 18:47
Location: Portland, Oregon
Contact:

Re: SplatterBrush!

Post by CartoonMonkey » 15 Dec 2009, 05:00

@malcooning Have you tried hitting the 'optimize' button? I have no idea to this day what this button does exactly, but it seems to speed these brushes up quite a bit. Might want to give it a go, and re-save the brushes..
C

User avatar
malcooning
Posts: 2112
Joined: 29 Mar 2006, 12:43
Location: Tel Aviv
Contact:

Re: SplatterBrush!

Post by malcooning » 15 Dec 2009, 08:55

CartoonMonkey wrote:@malcooning Have you tried hitting the 'optimize' button? I have no idea to this day what this button does exactly, but it seems to speed these brushes up quite a bit. Might want to give it a go, and re-save the brushes..
C
I did indeed.
"optimize" trims all blank and unused space in all frames of the brush. It's recommended to apply optimization on every brush before you wrap it up.

User avatar
Paul Fierlinger
Posts: 7690
Joined: 03 May 2008, 12:05
Location: Pennsylvania USA
Contact:

Re: SplatterBrush!

Post by Paul Fierlinger » 15 Dec 2009, 13:14

Asaf, that tweak to the Splat brush looks so good --- the best thick paint brush I've met so far -- but I haven't succeeded in emulating it. Could you be so kind and post it here (or send it to me privately)?
Paul
http://www.slocumfilm.com
Desktop PC Win10-Pro -64 bit OS; 32.0 GB RAM
Processor: i7-2600 CPU@3.40GHz
AMD FirePro V7900; Intuos4 Wacom tablet

User avatar
Sewie
Posts: 1257
Joined: 18 Jun 2008, 11:57
Location: The Netherlands, Europe
Contact:

Re: SplatterBrush!

Post by Sewie » 15 Dec 2009, 15:46

No, man. Post it here, please!
Michael Sewnarain - Website
Windows 10/64b - TVP11.0.8 - Pro/64b - Cintiq24HD

User avatar
slowtiger
Posts: 2350
Joined: 08 May 2008, 21:10
Location: berlin, germany
Contact:

Re: SplatterBrush!

Post by slowtiger » 16 Dec 2009, 18:34

Great brushes - unfortunately I'd need a machine with much more power to be able to use them.
TVP 10.0.18, Mac Pro Quadcore 3 GHz, 16 GB RAM, OS 10.11, QT 7.7.3

User avatar
malcooning
Posts: 2112
Joined: 29 Mar 2006, 12:43
Location: Tel Aviv
Contact:

Re: SplatterBrush!

Post by malcooning » 05 Jan 2010, 20:23

sorry guys, didn't see those posts for some time now - I was on holiday.
Well, I'm back, and here are new year brushes!

(In the panel you'll find 2 brushes: Bristler - paint with this one initially, and Grunger - use it to mix and add some character. The purple colors are to be excused)

EDIT: for a better usage, remove the color command lines from both brushes' custom button commands, and then it won't reset to purple colors every time you select these brushes. If you struggle i'll upload a color-less panel)

enjoy
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Paul Fierlinger
Posts: 7690
Joined: 03 May 2008, 12:05
Location: Pennsylvania USA
Contact:

Re: SplatterBrush!

Post by Paul Fierlinger » 05 Jan 2010, 20:38

Asaf, these two brushes have potential but the one thing that bothers me is the way the Grunge brush feathers the edges. What can I do to minimize that fuzzy stuff?
Paul
http://www.slocumfilm.com
Desktop PC Win10-Pro -64 bit OS; 32.0 GB RAM
Processor: i7-2600 CPU@3.40GHz
AMD FirePro V7900; Intuos4 Wacom tablet

User avatar
malcooning
Posts: 2112
Joined: 29 Mar 2006, 12:43
Location: Tel Aviv
Contact:

Re: SplatterBrush!

Post by malcooning » 05 Jan 2010, 23:11

Paul Fierlinger wrote:Asaf, these two brushes have potential but the one thing that bothers me is the way the Grunge brush feathers the edges. What can I do to minimize that fuzzy stuff?
you can see in my image a few post above that I tend to use the grungy one sparingly and usually in the center of paint mass. I avoid going over the edges as not to ruin the bristly bits. Try to reduce opacity by half or more, or maybe make the brush much smaller.

User avatar
Sewie
Posts: 1257
Joined: 18 Jun 2008, 11:57
Location: The Netherlands, Europe
Contact:

Re: SplatterBrush!

Post by Sewie » 06 Jan 2010, 10:01

I love 'em. Thanks, Malc!
Michael Sewnarain - Website
Windows 10/64b - TVP11.0.8 - Pro/64b - Cintiq24HD

User avatar
CharlieC
Posts: 130
Joined: 26 Feb 2007, 23:19
Location: san francisco
Contact:

Re: SplatterBrush!

Post by CharlieC » 22 Jan 2010, 02:03

hi all-

do these 'opaque' and 'splatter' brushes work on tvp 8.6.2 on mac os x 10.5.8?

when i drag the tvpx file onto a running tvp, i get a blank/empty 'load extensions..' window. if i hit ok, or even 'select all, ok', the brushes don't show up in the windows>custom panels area.

thanks much,
cc
Charlie

charliecanfield.com

-Macbook Pro Retina, 15 inch, Mid 2015 OS X 10.12.3(Sierra)
2.5 Ghz Intel Core i7
Memory 16 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
Graphics AMD Radeon R9 M370X 2048 MB
Intel Iris Pro 1536 MB
-TVP software version: TVPaint 11.0.6, Prof, both 32 or 64 bit

Post Reply