Programming a Cintiq express key remote for TVP?

Share your custom panels, brushes, papers... (you need to be registered to read posts in this section)
Post Reply
BruceM
Posts: 149
Joined: 17 Jan 2014, 15:39

Programming a Cintiq express key remote for TVP?

Post by BruceM » 09 Nov 2016, 22:30

I recently purchased a Cintiq 27 QHD and am now attempting to program the buttons to work well with TVPaint. Does anyone else on this forum have their express key remote programmed in a particularly efficient way for TVPaint that they would be willing to share with me?

Thanks,

-Bruce

User avatar
Elodie
Site Admin
Posts: 13292
Joined: 06 Jan 2009, 09:53
Location: Metz

Re: Programming a Cintiq express key remote for TVP?

Post by Elodie » 10 Nov 2016, 08:05

That's a really interesting topic. I configured once the remote key for a colleague, but then we realized that preferences saved for Mac are not compatible on Windows... :/
Questions or problems regarding the forum ? Please contact me by PM
Question regarding TVPaint or need a quotation ? Please contact me by email

User avatar
Fabrice
Posts: 9746
Joined: 17 Jul 2007, 15:00
Contact:

Re: Programming a Cintiq express key remote for TVP?

Post by Fabrice » 10 Nov 2016, 12:10

When I tried it this summer, I added the following options & modifiers :
- alt
- ctrl
- undo
- redo
- next instance
- prev instance
- some flip options
- toggle lighttable
Fabrice Debarge, Product Manager, TVPaint Team

BruceM
Posts: 149
Joined: 17 Jan 2014, 15:39

Re: Programming a Cintiq express key remote for TVP?

Post by BruceM » 10 Nov 2016, 14:55

Thanks for responding, Elodie and Fabrice! I'm using a Mac. Do you recall, Elodie, what shortcuts you programmed into it for your colleague?
Also, do either of you know, specifically, which shortcut in the shortcut menu I would use in order to be able to toggle back and forth between a large project window and the regular size project window. I find myself just going down to the two tiny arrows under the project window and sliding them with the stylus, but am wanting to come up with a shortcut for it. Or if there's no such toggle, which two shortcut commands I would use?

Thanks!

-Bruce

User avatar
Elodie
Site Admin
Posts: 13292
Joined: 06 Jan 2009, 09:53
Location: Metz

Re: Programming a Cintiq express key remote for TVP?

Post by Elodie » 14 Nov 2016, 14:08

There you go :
ExpressKey001.png
ExpressKey002.png
ExpressKey003.png
(Only "Manual Flip" must be assigned in TVPaint : it's when you use the Flip panel. By default, I think I used the letter J)
Preferences.wacomprefs.zip
Unzip the folder and double click on "Preferences.wacomprefs" to install the preferences (a windows will appear : you can close it immediately, for it will just inform you that everything was installed properly).

Nothing is assigned to the Touch Ring because at the time I tested it, it was terribly laggy on Mac. But since, we made a couple of improvements, so you can try to configure it.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Questions or problems regarding the forum ? Please contact me by PM
Question regarding TVPaint or need a quotation ? Please contact me by email

BruceM
Posts: 149
Joined: 17 Jan 2014, 15:39

Re: Programming a Cintiq express key remote for TVP?

Post by BruceM » 14 Nov 2016, 14:14

Wow! This is very cool!
Thank you so much, Elodie!

User avatar
Elodie
Site Admin
Posts: 13292
Joined: 06 Jan 2009, 09:53
Location: Metz

Re: Programming a Cintiq express key remote for TVP?

Post by Elodie » 14 Nov 2016, 14:27

You're welcome ! It's just a way to get started with, feel free to adapt it to your needs ^^
Questions or problems regarding the forum ? Please contact me by PM
Question regarding TVPaint or need a quotation ? Please contact me by email

BruceM
Posts: 149
Joined: 17 Jan 2014, 15:39

Re: Programming a Cintiq express key remote for TVP?

Post by BruceM » 14 Nov 2016, 14:43

I will for sure. Thank you!

I'm not entirely clear on "modifier" buttons and how they're used -- when you click on a key that's programmed as a modifier, does that change all of your express keys to function as something different? Or does it only modify the next key that you press?

-Bruce

User avatar
Elodie
Site Admin
Posts: 13292
Joined: 06 Jan 2009, 09:53
Location: Metz

Re: Programming a Cintiq express key remote for TVP?

Post by Elodie » 14 Nov 2016, 21:44

Modifiers are keys like Ctrl, Alt and Cmd.
You can have a remote's button configured as Alt only and another button configured as Ctrl, for example.

In my case, I have one button for Alt (to pan and zoom) and another one with Ctrl + Alt (to rotate).

Hopefully it helps.
Questions or problems regarding the forum ? Please contact me by PM
Question regarding TVPaint or need a quotation ? Please contact me by email

BruceM
Posts: 149
Joined: 17 Jan 2014, 15:39

Re: Programming a Cintiq express key remote for TVP?

Post by BruceM » 14 Nov 2016, 22:02

Ah! Okay, I get it now. Thanks Elodie!
I learned something new today!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests