Azimuth FlatPencils

Share your custom panels, brushes, papers... (you need to be registered to read posts in this section)
Post Reply
User avatar
Sewie
Posts: 1220
Joined: 18 Jun 2008, 11:57
Location: The Netherlands, Europe
Contact:

Azimuth FlatPencils

Post by Sewie » 30 May 2016, 21:56

For storyboard sketching I've created two brushes that I quite like. They both respond to stylus pressure but what I like most is that you can also vary the sharpness by rotating the brush. Meaning, they respond to 'Azimuth' like in the image below.

Image

I find it can give the lines a more organic/traditional pencil look. And you can create sharper lines (for details, for example) by just turning the stylus. Feeling almost like one of those graphite sticks.

Image

Azi Pencil 1:

Image

Image

Azi Pencil 2:

Image

Image

They tend to work best on higher resolutions. The drawings above were done on something like 3840X2160 pix, if I'm not mistaken. On lower resolutions they tend to lose darkness. It's a quirkiness in TVPaint's brush engine that I can't compensate somehow.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by Sewie on 31 May 2016, 08:11, edited 2 times in total.
Michael Sewnarain - SewieBlog
Windows 10/64b - TVP11.0.3 - Pro/64b - Cintiq24HD

User avatar
Elodie
Site Admin
Posts: 12894
Joined: 06 Jan 2009, 09:53
Location: Metz

Re: Azimuth FlatPencils

Post by Elodie » 31 May 2016, 01:17

Great brushes !
Questions or problems regarding the forum ? Please contact me by PM
Question regarding TVPaint or need a quotation ? Please contact me by email

User avatar
NathanOtano
Posts: 841
Joined: 01 Apr 2014, 07:07
Location: Paris, France
Contact:

Re: Azimuth FlatPencils

Post by NathanOtano » 31 May 2016, 07:56

Nice!
Storyboard, animation and design work : http://nathanotano.tumblr.com/
As I'm highly interested in animation workflows, I'm open to scripting new TVP functions for individuals and studios. Please don't hesitate to contact me!

User avatar
schwarzgrau
Posts: 985
Joined: 23 Jan 2012, 22:08
Location: Offenbach / Germany
Contact:

Re: Azimuth FlatPencils

Post by schwarzgrau » 31 May 2016, 07:56

You're excellent drawings "sold" me the brush, even when the last image looks like you're using a directional blur. I guess you need to be careful, how you rotate the brush.
Mac OS X 10.11.6 / TVP 11.0.6 PRO / Cintiq 22HD
Mac OS X 10.11.6 / TVP 11.0.6 PRO / Cintiq Companion 2
SCHWARZGRAU.COM

User avatar
Sewie
Posts: 1220
Joined: 18 Jun 2008, 11:57
Location: The Netherlands, Europe
Contact:

Re: Azimuth FlatPencils

Post by Sewie » 31 May 2016, 08:04

There were no blurs used, but the drawings might have lost some sharpness/crispness because I had to pick them up and stamp them a bunch of times. The 'blurring' is more noticeable with grainy lines than with inked ones, I believe.

And thanks, btw. :)
Michael Sewnarain - SewieBlog
Windows 10/64b - TVP11.0.3 - Pro/64b - Cintiq24HD

User avatar
Peter Wassink
Posts: 3307
Joined: 17 Feb 2006, 15:38
Location: Amsterdam (Basse-Lotharingie)
Contact:

Re: Azimuth FlatPencils

Post by Peter Wassink » 10 Jun 2016, 14:05

Michael, i took the liberty to make a few thinner versions of your excellent brush.
regular scaling made the line too light
and this couldn't be fixed by increasing the opacity the so i doubled up the original brush a couple of steps for each subsequent smaller tip.
Azi-Michael Sewnarain.tvpx
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Peter Wassink - 2D animator
• PC: Win10/64 Home - Xeon Quadcore E5410@2.33Ghz - 12Gb RAM
• laptop: Win10/64 Pro - i7-4600@2.1 GHz - 8Gb RAM

User avatar
Sewie
Posts: 1220
Joined: 18 Jun 2008, 11:57
Location: The Netherlands, Europe
Contact:

Re: Azimuth FlatPencils

Post by Sewie » 14 Jun 2016, 09:48

Thanks, Peter. It absolutely helps, but I have to say that I find it a huge shortcoming, the way brushes tend to change their character when they are resized.

This should be fixed I think, because, as has been mentioned so often before, this just adds to the crazy proliferation of custom buttons (in this case) and custom panels (in general). So many buttons for that same brush in different sizes is just not practical and ought to be unnecessary when we can just use the resize shortcut.
Last edited by Sewie on 14 Jun 2016, 10:31, edited 1 time in total.
Michael Sewnarain - SewieBlog
Windows 10/64b - TVP11.0.3 - Pro/64b - Cintiq24HD

User avatar
Sewie
Posts: 1220
Joined: 18 Jun 2008, 11:57
Location: The Netherlands, Europe
Contact:

Re: Azimuth FlatPencils

Post by Sewie » 14 Jun 2016, 10:25

I was trying to find out how to avoid this opacity issue when resizing the brushes, but I really don't get the logic.

Referring to my original brush, the "Azi Pencil 1":
When I increase the brush in size, the stroke becomes much darker, black almost. When decreasing the brush, the stroke becomes lighter. Isn't that strange, because this specific brush is made up of individual frames with dots, and pixels in variations of opacity with transparent space between the dots? When increasing the brush, I am pulling those pixels over a wider area, increasing the space between. So my intuition say: the line (though thicker/wider) ought to become lighter/grayer. Not darker.

The same problem occurs when decreasing the line, pixels are pushed together so I'd expect a much darker line. But no, it gets much lighter.
Can someone explain why that is?
Michael Sewnarain - SewieBlog
Windows 10/64b - TVP11.0.3 - Pro/64b - Cintiq24HD

User avatar
Peter Wassink
Posts: 3307
Joined: 17 Feb 2006, 15:38
Location: Amsterdam (Basse-Lotharingie)
Contact:

Re: Azimuth FlatPencils

Post by Peter Wassink » 14 Jun 2016, 11:10

i think it is because the original custombrush which is the basis of your tool,
the pixels of it, when scaled down, become very few and very transparent.

try it. reset your tool and stamp it down then resize and stamp down. you'll notice there is relatively less "pixel-power" in the scaled down brush.

But i very much agree with you, this is a serious issue of the software.
General users are not interested in all the technicalities at this level of brush building.
Users expect and should be given predictable /intuitive results.

Resizing the size of a custombrush should not influence line character like it does now.
Peter Wassink - 2D animator
• PC: Win10/64 Home - Xeon Quadcore E5410@2.33Ghz - 12Gb RAM
• laptop: Win10/64 Pro - i7-4600@2.1 GHz - 8Gb RAM

User avatar
Sewie
Posts: 1220
Joined: 18 Jun 2008, 11:57
Location: The Netherlands, Europe
Contact:

Re: Azimuth FlatPencils

Post by Sewie » 14 Jun 2016, 11:35

i think it is because the original custombrush which is the basis of your tool,
the pixels of it, when scaled down, become very few and very transparent
So then, the engine appears to cut pixels when scaling down and adds them when scaling up?
My intuitive logic applies when I reset the brush, the thinner line becomes darker/blacker whereas the increased line becomes more grayer/transparent.

Perhaps we ought to be given an additional control option, connecting opacity to scale...? I'm just thinking out loud here...
Last edited by Sewie on 14 Jun 2016, 14:53, edited 1 time in total.
Michael Sewnarain - SewieBlog
Windows 10/64b - TVP11.0.3 - Pro/64b - Cintiq24HD

User avatar
Peter Wassink
Posts: 3307
Joined: 17 Feb 2006, 15:38
Location: Amsterdam (Basse-Lotharingie)
Contact:

Re: Azimuth FlatPencils

Post by Peter Wassink » 14 Jun 2016, 11:51

Sewie wrote: Perhaps we ought to be given an addition control option, connecting opacity to scale...? I'm just thinking out loud here...
yes i am always in favor of more custombrush connection settings, though some of the more unintuitive ones could be placed under "a hood".
to keep basic tool tuning intuitive

opacity to scale is a good one i'd also like to have color as an connection for a longtime.
Peter Wassink - 2D animator
• PC: Win10/64 Home - Xeon Quadcore E5410@2.33Ghz - 12Gb RAM
• laptop: Win10/64 Pro - i7-4600@2.1 GHz - 8Gb RAM

User avatar
Fabrice
Posts: 9467
Joined: 17 Jul 2007, 15:00
Contact:

Re: Azimuth FlatPencils

Post by Fabrice » 14 Jun 2016, 12:16

It can be fixed (even if not really a bug, more a limitation of the current system), but into a new brush engine, not this one.
Fabrice Debarge, Product Manager, TVPaint Team

User avatar
Sewie
Posts: 1220
Joined: 18 Jun 2008, 11:57
Location: The Netherlands, Europe
Contact:

Re: Azimuth FlatPencils

Post by Sewie » 14 Jun 2016, 14:56

Thanks Fabrice, that'd be very helpful.
Hopefully it will allow us to solve this strange quirk. Should we make it an official feature request?

Do I understand that a new brush system is (albeit not for the short term) in the works?
Michael Sewnarain - SewieBlog
Windows 10/64b - TVP11.0.3 - Pro/64b - Cintiq24HD

User avatar
Fabrice
Posts: 9467
Joined: 17 Jul 2007, 15:00
Contact:

Re: Azimuth FlatPencils

Post by Fabrice » 14 Jun 2016, 15:50

Sewie wrote:Thanks Fabrice, that'd be very helpful.
Hopefully it will allow us to solve this strange quirk. Should we make it an official feature request?
no, it's not necessary.
Sewie wrote:Do I understand that a new brush system is (albeit not for the short term) in the works?
yes.
Fabrice Debarge, Product Manager, TVPaint Team

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests