TOOLS X LAYERS - Assign a layer to a tool and switch both with one click.

Share your custom panels, brushes, papers... (you need to be registered to read posts in this section)
Post Reply
spyderheart
Posts: 31
Joined: 22 Jan 2013, 03:11

TOOLS X LAYERS - Assign a layer to a tool and switch both with one click.

Post by spyderheart » 12 Jan 2018, 19:48

Hi all,

This custom panel evolved out of a discussion happening over here: viewtopic.php?f=34&t=11097

The panel can be used to store your most commonly used tools for quick access. In addition to loading a tool, each button can also automatically chose a specific layer. This can be very useful for constantly switching between a sketch layer and a paint layer, or from a storyboard panel layer to a note layer to name a couple of examples. The tool and layer can be switched simultaneously with a single click or better yet - a keystroke or wacom button (if you assign shortcuts to the tool buttons).

Questions and feedback welcome!
Enjoy

David
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
David
--------------------------------------------------------
My specs fyi:

TVPaint 11 Standard 11.0.6
Windows Pro (64 bit)
VAIO Z Canvas:
Intel i7 4770HQ - 16GB RAM
Wintab v.1.0.0.20

Svengali
Posts: 1098
Joined: 28 Dec 2006, 10:08
Contact:

Re: TOOLS X LAYERS - Assign a layer to a tool and switch both with one click.

Post by Svengali » 14 Jan 2018, 22:51

Hi David,
Interesting experiment... I'm also very interested in your clever :?: (help) file, too, using the tv_GetString command, a very innovative solution for online documentation. I'm going to try a few of my own experiments with it for some things I'm working on. Thanks for showing the way. 8)

BTW, after I found that the \n line-wrap is available for insertion in various commands, I started adding multi-line Comments to some of my buttons - a very useful way to include roll-over instructions and info right inside the Button/Script tool! :idea:

Sven
Desktop: tvp Pro 11.0.8-64bit, Win8.1 - 24GB ram -2TB HHD - 256GB SSD - intuos4 - d.ver.6.3.15-3
Android Tablet: release 11, Samsung Galaxy Note10.1 - 32GB internal - microSD 32GB

spyderheart
Posts: 31
Joined: 22 Jan 2013, 03:11

Re: TOOLS X LAYERS - Assign a layer to a tool and switch both with one click.

Post by spyderheart » 15 Jan 2018, 02:23

Thanks Sven,
I really just needed a way for users to copy/paste some text - which you can't do with tv_warn. Of course having everything aligned to the left is a nice perk too ;)
D
David
--------------------------------------------------------
My specs fyi:

TVPaint 11 Standard 11.0.6
Windows Pro (64 bit)
VAIO Z Canvas:
Intel i7 4770HQ - 16GB RAM
Wintab v.1.0.0.20

User avatar
Sewie
Posts: 1232
Joined: 18 Jun 2008, 11:57
Location: The Netherlands, Europe
Contact:

Re: TOOLS X LAYERS - Assign a layer to a tool and switch both with one click.

Post by Sewie » 15 Jan 2018, 10:50

This is a great idea that is going to be very helpful. Thanks for sharing, David!
Michael Sewnarain - SewieBlog
Windows 10/64b - TVP11.0.3 - Pro/64b - Cintiq24HD

spyderheart
Posts: 31
Joined: 22 Jan 2013, 03:11

Re: TOOLS X LAYERS - Assign a layer to a tool and switch both with one click.

Post by spyderheart » 15 Jan 2018, 21:34

This is a great idea that is going to be very helpful. Thanks for sharing, David!
Thanks Sewie! Glad you like it.
David
--------------------------------------------------------
My specs fyi:

TVPaint 11 Standard 11.0.6
Windows Pro (64 bit)
VAIO Z Canvas:
Intel i7 4770HQ - 16GB RAM
Wintab v.1.0.0.20

spyderheart
Posts: 31
Joined: 22 Jan 2013, 03:11

Re: TOOLS X LAYERS - Assign a layer to a tool and switch both with one click.

Post by spyderheart » 15 Jan 2018, 21:38

FYI everybody: I'll be updating it at some point so let me know what it needs.

You may notice that the target layer setting is not remembered from session to session. Fixing this is a priority for the next release but luckily it's super quick to re-assign the layer on the fly so it shouldn't slow anyone down much :)
David
--------------------------------------------------------
My specs fyi:

TVPaint 11 Standard 11.0.6
Windows Pro (64 bit)
VAIO Z Canvas:
Intel i7 4770HQ - 16GB RAM
Wintab v.1.0.0.20

User avatar
daninski
Posts: 116
Joined: 01 Oct 2015, 12:13
Location: Budapest/Newport
Contact:

Re: TOOLS X LAYERS - Assign a layer to a tool and switch both with one click.

Post by daninski » Yesterday, 11:30

I like the sound of this! So I can set new animation layers to always use a blue pencil, new clean up layers to always use black pencil, and new colour layers to always be a watercolour?

I'll have a good look at this before my next job.
http://www.daninski.com
Award winning director with an iMac from about 2013 and a cintiq from about 2009, there's some RAM too.

spyderheart
Posts: 31
Joined: 22 Jan 2013, 03:11

Re: TOOLS X LAYERS - Assign a layer to a tool and switch both with one click.

Post by spyderheart » Yesterday, 13:52

I like the sound of this! So I can set new animation layers to always use a blue pencil, new clean up layers to always use black pencil, and new colour layers to always be a watercolour?
Similar but, not quite. You set it up so that whenever you select the blue pencil, it chooses an animation layer. Furthemore, you have to tell it exactly which layer. Each tool can have a different layer connection for each clip.

What your suggesting is the inverse - to select the layer and automatically switch the tool. That's also a great idea but I think a lot harder to achieve with scripting. Not impossible but not what the script currently does.

Play around with it though. I think you'll find that for practical purposes it comes close to (i.e it will save you as much time as...) the way you're thinking of it.
David
--------------------------------------------------------
My specs fyi:

TVPaint 11 Standard 11.0.6
Windows Pro (64 bit)
VAIO Z Canvas:
Intel i7 4770HQ - 16GB RAM
Wintab v.1.0.0.20

Post Reply