TOOLS X LAYERS - Assign a layer to a tool and switch both with one click.

Share your custom panels, brushes, papers... (you need to be registered to read posts in this section)
spyderheart
Posts: 69
Joined: 22 Jan 2013, 03:11

TOOLS X LAYERS - Assign a layer to a tool and switch both with one click.

Post by spyderheart » 12 Jan 2018, 19:48

Hi all,

This custom panel evolved out of a discussion happening over here: viewtopic.php?f=34&t=11097

The panel can be used to store your most commonly used tools for quick access. In addition to loading a tool, each button can also automatically chose a specific layer. This can be very useful for constantly switching between a sketch layer and a paint layer, or from a storyboard panel layer to a note layer to name a couple of examples. The tool and layer can be switched simultaneously with a single click or better yet - a keystroke or wacom button (if you assign shortcuts to the tool buttons).

Questions and feedback welcome!
Enjoy

David
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by spyderheart on 29 Jan 2018, 22:39, edited 1 time in total.
David
--------------------------------------------------------
TVPaint 11 Standard 11.0.8
Macbook Pro Retina 15" mid 2014 // 16GB RAM // 1TB SSD // 2.8 GHz Intel Core i7 // NVIDIA GeForce GT 750M 2048 MB // OS 10.10 (Yosemite)
Wacom Cintiq 13HD Touch // Driver: 6.3.15-2

Svengali
Posts: 1133
Joined: 28 Dec 2006, 10:08
Contact:

Re: TOOLS X LAYERS - Assign a layer to a tool and switch both with one click.

Post by Svengali » 14 Jan 2018, 22:51

Hi David,
Interesting experiment... I'm also very interested in your clever :?: (help) file, too, using the tv_GetString command, a very innovative solution for online documentation. I'm going to try a few of my own experiments with it for some things I'm working on. Thanks for showing the way. 8)

BTW, after I found that the \n line-wrap is available for insertion in various commands, I started adding multi-line Comments to some of my buttons - a very useful way to include roll-over instructions and info right inside the Button/Script tool! :idea:

Sven
Desktop: tvp Pro 11.0.8-64bit, Win8.1 - 24GB ram -2TB HHD - 256GB SSD - intuos4 - d.ver.6.3.15-3
Android Tablet: release 11, Samsung Galaxy Note10.1 - 32GB internal - microSD 32GB

spyderheart
Posts: 69
Joined: 22 Jan 2013, 03:11

Re: TOOLS X LAYERS - Assign a layer to a tool and switch both with one click.

Post by spyderheart » 15 Jan 2018, 02:23

Thanks Sven,
I really just needed a way for users to copy/paste some text - which you can't do with tv_warn. Of course having everything aligned to the left is a nice perk too ;)
D
David
--------------------------------------------------------
TVPaint 11 Standard 11.0.8
Macbook Pro Retina 15" mid 2014 // 16GB RAM // 1TB SSD // 2.8 GHz Intel Core i7 // NVIDIA GeForce GT 750M 2048 MB // OS 10.10 (Yosemite)
Wacom Cintiq 13HD Touch // Driver: 6.3.15-2

User avatar
Sewie
Posts: 1252
Joined: 18 Jun 2008, 11:57
Location: The Netherlands, Europe
Contact:

Re: TOOLS X LAYERS - Assign a layer to a tool and switch both with one click.

Post by Sewie » 15 Jan 2018, 10:50

This is a great idea that is going to be very helpful. Thanks for sharing, David!
Michael Sewnarain - SewieBlog
Windows 10/64b - TVP11.0.8 - Pro/64b - Cintiq24HD

spyderheart
Posts: 69
Joined: 22 Jan 2013, 03:11

Re: TOOLS X LAYERS - Assign a layer to a tool and switch both with one click.

Post by spyderheart » 15 Jan 2018, 21:34

This is a great idea that is going to be very helpful. Thanks for sharing, David!
Thanks Sewie! Glad you like it.
David
--------------------------------------------------------
TVPaint 11 Standard 11.0.8
Macbook Pro Retina 15" mid 2014 // 16GB RAM // 1TB SSD // 2.8 GHz Intel Core i7 // NVIDIA GeForce GT 750M 2048 MB // OS 10.10 (Yosemite)
Wacom Cintiq 13HD Touch // Driver: 6.3.15-2

spyderheart
Posts: 69
Joined: 22 Jan 2013, 03:11

Re: TOOLS X LAYERS - Assign a layer to a tool and switch both with one click.

Post by spyderheart » 15 Jan 2018, 21:38

FYI everybody: I'll be updating it at some point so let me know what it needs.

You may notice that the target layer setting is not remembered from session to session. Fixing this is a priority for the next release but luckily it's super quick to re-assign the layer on the fly so it shouldn't slow anyone down much :)
David
--------------------------------------------------------
TVPaint 11 Standard 11.0.8
Macbook Pro Retina 15" mid 2014 // 16GB RAM // 1TB SSD // 2.8 GHz Intel Core i7 // NVIDIA GeForce GT 750M 2048 MB // OS 10.10 (Yosemite)
Wacom Cintiq 13HD Touch // Driver: 6.3.15-2

User avatar
daninski
Posts: 149
Joined: 01 Oct 2015, 12:13
Location: Budapest/Newport
Contact:

Re: TOOLS X LAYERS - Assign a layer to a tool and switch both with one click.

Post by daninski » 17 Jan 2018, 11:30

I like the sound of this! So I can set new animation layers to always use a blue pencil, new clean up layers to always use black pencil, and new colour layers to always be a watercolour?

I'll have a good look at this before my next job.
http://www.daninski.com
Award winning director with an iMac from about 2013 and a cintiq from about 2009, there's some RAM too.

spyderheart
Posts: 69
Joined: 22 Jan 2013, 03:11

Re: TOOLS X LAYERS - Assign a layer to a tool and switch both with one click.

Post by spyderheart » 17 Jan 2018, 13:52

I like the sound of this! So I can set new animation layers to always use a blue pencil, new clean up layers to always use black pencil, and new colour layers to always be a watercolour?
Similar but, not quite. You set it up so that whenever you select the blue pencil, it chooses an animation layer. Furthemore, you have to tell it exactly which layer. Each tool can have a different layer connection for each clip.

What your suggesting is the inverse - to select the layer and automatically switch the tool. That's also a great idea but I think a lot harder to achieve with scripting. Not impossible but not what the script currently does.

Play around with it though. I think you'll find that for practical purposes it comes close to (i.e it will save you as much time as...) the way you're thinking of it.
David
--------------------------------------------------------
TVPaint 11 Standard 11.0.8
Macbook Pro Retina 15" mid 2014 // 16GB RAM // 1TB SSD // 2.8 GHz Intel Core i7 // NVIDIA GeForce GT 750M 2048 MB // OS 10.10 (Yosemite)
Wacom Cintiq 13HD Touch // Driver: 6.3.15-2

spyderheart
Posts: 69
Joined: 22 Jan 2013, 03:11

Re: TOOLS X LAYERS - Assign a layer to a tool and switch both with one click.

Post by spyderheart » 29 Jan 2018, 22:41

TOOLS X LAYERS version 1.1 is up!
Download from the original post at the top!

Recent Changes:
-Better at reconnecting layers to tools between sessions, layer merges, etc.
-Less clutter in Embedded George Scripts, relies on stored scripts instead
-New Icons.
David
--------------------------------------------------------
TVPaint 11 Standard 11.0.8
Macbook Pro Retina 15" mid 2014 // 16GB RAM // 1TB SSD // 2.8 GHz Intel Core i7 // NVIDIA GeForce GT 750M 2048 MB // OS 10.10 (Yosemite)
Wacom Cintiq 13HD Touch // Driver: 6.3.15-2

User avatar
Elodie
Site Admin
Posts: 13918
Joined: 06 Jan 2009, 09:53
Location: Metz

Re: TOOLS X LAYERS - Assign a layer to a tool and switch both with one click.

Post by Elodie » 30 Jan 2018, 07:25

That's a great, great tool ! Thank you for sharing !
Questions or problems regarding the forum ? Please contact me by PM
Question regarding TVPaint or need a quotation ? Please contact me by email

User avatar
Animationriver
Posts: 151
Joined: 02 Jul 2017, 09:04
Location: Moscow
Contact:

Re: TOOLS X LAYERS - Assign a layer to a tool and switch both with one click.

Post by Animationriver » 30 Jan 2018, 13:12

Elodie wrote:
30 Jan 2018, 07:25
That's a great, great tool ! Thank you for sharing !
Cool! Great tool! Now Elodie :D can do cool iterations with this tool! Probably I can already expect a new small video on this topic!)) How to use this tool X layers? )) :D

Big Thaks for spyderheart! :D
www.youtube.com/c/animationriver
MAC OS 10.11.6 , MacBook Pro (Retina, 15-inch, Mid 2014)
2.8 GHz Intel Core i7, 16 GB Memory , TVPaint PRO 11.0.8, 64bit
NVIDIA GeForce GT 750M 2048 Мb
Wacom Cintiq 27 QHD Touch - Wacom Intuos Pro 5 - driver version 6.3.29-6[/b]

spyderheart
Posts: 69
Joined: 22 Jan 2013, 03:11

Re: TOOLS X LAYERS - Assign a layer to a tool and switch both with one click.

Post by spyderheart » 30 Jan 2018, 18:30

Elodie wrote:
30 Jan 2018, 07:25
That's a great, great tool ! Thank you for sharing !
Thanks Elodie!
There are a couple of George requests that could make it even better :D
http://forum.tvpaint.com/viewtopic.php?f=34&t=11097
http://forum.tvpaint.com/viewtopic.php?f=34&t=11204
Animationriver wrote:
30 Jan 2018, 13:12
Elodie wrote:
30 Jan 2018, 07:25
That's a great, great tool ! Thank you for sharing !
Cool! Great tool! Now Elodie :D can do cool iterations with this tool! Probably I can already expect a new small video on this topic!)) How to use this tool X layers? )) :D

Big Thaks for spyderheart! :D
Thank you! I've tried my best to to make the tool self-explanatory but you are absolutely right that a quick video always helps. It's on my to do list.
David
--------------------------------------------------------
TVPaint 11 Standard 11.0.8
Macbook Pro Retina 15" mid 2014 // 16GB RAM // 1TB SSD // 2.8 GHz Intel Core i7 // NVIDIA GeForce GT 750M 2048 MB // OS 10.10 (Yosemite)
Wacom Cintiq 13HD Touch // Driver: 6.3.15-2

User avatar
Cardin Collins
Posts: 37
Joined: 06 Sep 2010, 17:59

Re: TOOLS X LAYERS - Assign a layer to a tool and switch both with one click.

Post by Cardin Collins » 30 Jan 2018, 18:53

Looking forward to trying this out. This seems like it will be very helpful. Thank you for sharing.
TVPaint PRO 11.0.8 (64bit)
1 - Desktop: Intel Core i7-3770K CPU 3.5GHz, GeForce GTX 750 Ti, 16 GB, Win 10
2 - Tablet/Laptop: Sony Vaio Flip15a - Intel Core i7 (4th Gen) 4500U / 1.8 GHz, NVIDIA GeForce GT 735M, 16 GB, Win 10

User avatar
Lise
Site Admin
Posts: 655
Joined: 10 Dec 2015, 19:41

Re: TOOLS X LAYERS - Assign a layer to a tool and switch both with one click.

Post by Lise » 31 Jan 2018, 08:30

I made a quick video for the Japanese forum. I post it here too.

I recorded in a hurry so it is not "top-quality" but I hope it will be useful to apprehend the tool.
toolstolayer.mov
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Animationriver
Posts: 151
Joined: 02 Jul 2017, 09:04
Location: Moscow
Contact:

Re: TOOLS X LAYERS - Assign a layer to a tool and switch both with one click.

Post by Animationriver » 31 Jan 2018, 13:54

Lise wrote:
31 Jan 2018, 08:30
I made a quick video for the Japanese forum. I post it here too.

I recorded in a hurry so it is not "top-quality" but I hope it will be useful to apprehend the tool.

toolstolayer.mov
Thank you for the video.
But...
www.youtube.com/c/animationriver
MAC OS 10.11.6 , MacBook Pro (Retina, 15-inch, Mid 2014)
2.8 GHz Intel Core i7, 16 GB Memory , TVPaint PRO 11.0.8, 64bit
NVIDIA GeForce GT 750M 2048 Мb
Wacom Cintiq 27 QHD Touch - Wacom Intuos Pro 5 - driver version 6.3.29-6[/b]

Post Reply