Problem importing multiple images of different sizes

Please use this part to report bugs & errors, ask questions & "How to..."
Post Reply
User avatar
Soom
Posts: 715
Joined: 25 Jul 2011, 16:25
Location: World
Contact:

Problem importing multiple images of different sizes

Post by Soom » 30 Mar 2016, 21:21

I have a bunch of images I need to import into one file. They all are of different dimensions.
I created a project with the maximal resolution that should fit any of these original size images. Yet, when I import them as a sequence, most of them get cropped, except the first one. I tried with or without stretching and aspect correction - same result. It seems that TVPaint limits the dimensions of other images according to the first imported image, and ignores the scene size. So if next image after the 1st is, let's say - wider, it gets cropped on the sides, even though there is enough room in the project itself.
That's on TVPaint 10.5...
At home: MacBook Pro, Os 10.10.3 (2.2 GHz Intel Quad-Core i7, 16 GB RAM), Cintiq 21", TVP Std 11.0.3
At work: PC, Windows 7, Cintiq 22", TVP Std 11.0.3

User avatar
slowtiger
Posts: 2196
Joined: 08 May 2008, 21:10
Location: berlin, germany
Contact:

Re: Problem importing multiple images of different sizes

Post by slowtiger » 30 Mar 2016, 21:41

Had the same problem. Workaround: duplicate the largest pic and name it so it will be the first to import.
TVP 10.0.18, Mac Pro Quadcore 3 GHz, 16 GB RAM, OS 10.11, QT 7.7.3

User avatar
Soom
Posts: 715
Joined: 25 Jul 2011, 16:25
Location: World
Contact:

Re: Problem importing multiple images of different sizes

Post by Soom » 30 Mar 2016, 23:48

slowtiger wrote:Had the same problem. Workaround: duplicate the largest pic and name it so it will be the first to import.
I thought about it later, but first I thought of another workaround, which works for anything without searching for the biggest picture or changing their names - I automate all the pics with Photoshop to create a stack, and then save as PSD. Then I open the PSD in TVPaint - although it imports layers instead of frames - that's fast to fix. your method should be faster, but I wonder what happens, if you don't have one picture that has both biggest width and height?
At home: MacBook Pro, Os 10.10.3 (2.2 GHz Intel Quad-Core i7, 16 GB RAM), Cintiq 21", TVP Std 11.0.3
At work: PC, Windows 7, Cintiq 22", TVP Std 11.0.3

User avatar
Mike
Posts: 1033
Joined: 16 Feb 2006, 08:58

Re: Problem importing multiple images of different sizes

Post by Mike » 31 Mar 2016, 05:37

Soom wrote:... Then I open the PSD in TVPaint - although it imports layers instead of frames - that's fast to fix...
You can import psd file as a new layer containing all the images (will have the size of the clip).
Go the [New] popup (in header layer stack) > Import Footage > select the psd file > choose the parameters
TVPaint Team

User avatar
Soom
Posts: 715
Joined: 25 Jul 2011, 16:25
Location: World
Contact:

Re: Problem importing multiple images of different sizes

Post by Soom » 31 Mar 2016, 13:55

Mike wrote:
Soom wrote:... Then I open the PSD in TVPaint - although it imports layers instead of frames - that's fast to fix...
You can import psd file as a new layer containing all the images (will have the size of the clip).
Go the [New] popup (in header layer stack) > Import Footage > select the psd file > choose the parameters
Will they be then as frames on 1 layer, and not as multiple layers?
At home: MacBook Pro, Os 10.10.3 (2.2 GHz Intel Quad-Core i7, 16 GB RAM), Cintiq 21", TVP Std 11.0.3
At work: PC, Windows 7, Cintiq 22", TVP Std 11.0.3

User avatar
Mike
Posts: 1033
Joined: 16 Feb 2006, 08:58

Re: Problem importing multiple images of different sizes

Post by Mike » 31 Mar 2016, 14:24

Soom wrote:
Mike wrote:
Soom wrote:... Then I open the PSD in TVPaint - although it imports layers instead of frames - that's fast to fix...
You can import psd file as a new layer containing all the images (will have the size of the clip).
Go the [New] popup (in header layer stack) > Import Footage > select the psd file > choose the parameters
Will they be then as frames on 1 layer, and not as multiple layers?
Yes
TVPaint Team

User avatar
Fabrice
Posts: 10079
Joined: 17 Jul 2007, 15:00
Contact:

Re: Problem importing multiple images of different sizes

Post by Fabrice » 31 Mar 2016, 16:04

you have tools in the v11 (maybe also v10) to "verticalize" a layer (put each image into a separate layer).
Fabrice Debarge

Post Reply