Connect points like PS using 'Shift'

Please use this part to report bugs & errors, ask questions & "How to..."
Post Reply
the_duajisin
Posts: 3
Joined: 02 Nov 2011, 08:02

Connect points like PS using 'Shift'

Post by the_duajisin » 06 Sep 2015, 18:32

Hi guys,

It's pretty self-explanatory really - is there a way to connect points while drawing using a hotkey? In Photoshop you can hold Shift and turn pressure sens off and the line get connected.
Is there a similar workaround in TVP?

Thanks,

User avatar
Broughtvulture
Posts: 31
Joined: 09 Jul 2015, 00:58

Re: Connect points like PS using 'Shift'

Post by Broughtvulture » 06 Sep 2015, 20:28

I'd recommend using the Bezier Spline Tool. You can click around to create points and hold Ctrl to move any existing points, pressing Esc will cancel the Path you created while pressing Enter will create the path based on the color and brush you last used.
Windows 7 64-bit
FX 8350 8 Core - 16 GB RAM
TVPaint Professional 11.0.8 64-bit

BNV

the_duajisin
Posts: 3
Joined: 02 Nov 2011, 08:02

Re: Connect points like PS using 'Shift'

Post by the_duajisin » 06 Sep 2015, 22:19

Hiya,
thanks.

I was wondering if there's a friendlier way, instead of going in-and-out of a tool, while continuosuly drawing. Using beziers just kills it form me - haha

cheers

User avatar
D.T. Nethery
Posts: 2595
Joined: 27 Sep 2006, 19:19

Re: Connect points like PS using 'Shift'

Post by D.T. Nethery » 07 Sep 2015, 00:55

the_duajisin wrote:Hi guys,

It's pretty self-explanatory really - is there a way to connect points while drawing using a hotkey? In Photoshop you can hold Shift and turn pressure sens off and the line get connected.

Is there a similar workaround in TVP?
To connect two points with a straight line (like in PS hold Shift will make a straight line between two points) use the Line tool in TVPaint.
(keyboard shortcut = L )
Line Tool.jpg
Line Tool.jpg (38.9 KiB) Viewed 36360 times


.
MAC OS 10.12.6 , Macbook Pro Retina 15-inch, Mid 2015,
2.5 GHz Intel Core i7, 16 GB Memory , TVPaint PRO 11.0.8, 64bit -
Wacom Cintiq 21 UX - Wacom Intuos Pro 5 - driver version 6.3.20-8

User avatar
Peter Wassink
Posts: 3555
Joined: 17 Feb 2006, 15:38
Location: Amsterdam (Basse-Lotharingie)
Contact:

Re: Connect points like PS using 'Shift'

Post by Peter Wassink » 07 Sep 2015, 09:09

I think that what the_duajisin wants is a function that looks like what the "Filled line " tool UI delivers before you apply.
see image:
linetool.png
linetool.png (17.15 KiB) Viewed 36344 times
i want to draw lines like this and not only filled shapes.
i know that is what i would like to see added to the straight line tools menu!

surely this would be super easy to do for any selfrespecting graphics programmer :P :wink:

And Also, it would make the two drawing modes a bit more equal.
the "free form" pull down has four items, but the "straight line"pull down only two!

viewtopic.php?f=21&t=9282

and Also... its rather the hip thing at the moment...:
https://www.pinterest.com/santiagor/low-poly/
Peter Wassink - 2D animator
• PC: Win10/64 Home - Xeon Quadcore E5410@2.33Ghz - 12Gb RAM
• laptop: Win10/64 Pro - i7-4600@2.1 GHz - 8Gb RAM

User avatar
Peter Wassink
Posts: 3555
Joined: 17 Feb 2006, 15:38
Location: Amsterdam (Basse-Lotharingie)
Contact:

Re: Connect points like PS using 'Shift'

Post by Peter Wassink » 05 Mar 2020, 14:38

#bump#

Just got this request from a student
I told her yes you can do that.... but then i realised i only remembered this request and forgot it was never actually implemented! :oops: :mrgreen:
Peter Wassink - 2D animator
• PC: Win10/64 Home - Xeon Quadcore E5410@2.33Ghz - 12Gb RAM
• laptop: Win10/64 Pro - i7-4600@2.1 GHz - 8Gb RAM

User avatar
Hironori Takagi
Posts: 106
Joined: 14 May 2018, 10:15
Location: Tokyo, Japan
Contact:

Re: Connect points like PS using 'Shift'

Post by Hironori Takagi » 06 Mar 2020, 03:00

Does the issue you are discussing refer to the "Ctrl + Shift + Click" line drawing that was possible in 11.0.8?
TVPaint 11.0.9, Windows10 Pro, DELL Precision M3800 / Mac OS 10.15, Apple Mac Pro(Late 2013)

User avatar
Peter Wassink
Posts: 3555
Joined: 17 Feb 2006, 15:38
Location: Amsterdam (Basse-Lotharingie)
Contact:

Re: Connect points like PS using 'Shift'

Post by Peter Wassink » 10 Mar 2020, 19:57

Yes! thanks Hironori! it was there after all. I just didn't not remember that key combination.

It might be a good idea to also have it in the pull down as an option.... if only for reasons of alerting the unaware new users to its presence.
(or helping forgetfull veteran users finding it back! :? )
Peter Wassink - 2D animator
• PC: Win10/64 Home - Xeon Quadcore E5410@2.33Ghz - 12Gb RAM
• laptop: Win10/64 Pro - i7-4600@2.1 GHz - 8Gb RAM

Post Reply