Some custom brushes disappeared and TVPaint is showing a currupt message

Please use this part to report bugs & errors, ask questions & "How to..."
Post Reply
User avatar
Soom
Posts: 835
Joined: 25 Jul 2011, 16:25
Location: World
Contact:

Some custom brushes disappeared and TVPaint is showing a currupt message

Post by Soom » 06 Apr 2021, 01:23

Hi
After installing TVP 11.5.1 and deleting the previous versions, a few custom brushes have stopped working and TVPaint is showing a weird message with no text (see screenshot).
I have checked the .dip file it shows, and I cannot find it in any of my previous Time Machine backups, which probably means that these custom brushes had a different name.
I am not sure if deleting previous TVP versions caused this, because all my config prefs stayed intact in the Library folder and also it only affected a few random brushes — the rest is fine...
Screen Shot 2021-04-06 at 01.26.06.png
Screen Shot 2021-04-06 at 01.26.06.png (91.78 KiB) Viewed 387 times
Hackintosh, OS 10.13.6, Cintiq 22", TVP Pro 11.5.1, http://danasb.com

User avatar
Xavier
Site Admin
Posts: 823
Joined: 01 Oct 2019, 11:08

Re: Some custom brushes disappeared and TVPaint is showing a currupt message

Post by Xavier » 07 Apr 2021, 11:17

Not sure here about what to say. First of all, this message box is definitely to improve ! at least put a message.

The custom brushes are saved as dip files in your cache folder. Do you find the file that is mentionned by the message box in your user library (~/Library/tvp*) ?
From a command line, you can run this :

Code: Select all

find ~/Library/tvp* -name yourfile.dip
Alternatively, try exporting the brushes from TVPaint 11.5.0 and then import them into TVPaint 11.5.1.

Weird, anyway.
Short but strong

User avatar
Soom
Posts: 835
Joined: 25 Jul 2011, 16:25
Location: World
Contact:

Re: Some custom brushes disappeared and TVPaint is showing a currupt message

Post by Soom » 08 Apr 2021, 12:07

The .dip files in the error messages did exist in the /Library/tvp animation 11/default/CustomPanel/ folder. However it seemed that they were created just during the last installation of TVPaint, because no other traces of those files were found in my previous backups.

It was only 3 brushes that were modified from other brushes, so I have recreated them quickly. Once I have updated the brushes with new ones (I used Edit Brush > Grab Current tool, so that the brush icon on the custom panel did not change), the .dip files were gone and the brushes work again. So it's all good now. But it's a bit strange that these brushes were "destroyed" by a new TVP installation...
Hackintosh, OS 10.13.6, Cintiq 22", TVP Pro 11.5.1, http://danasb.com

User avatar
D.T. Nethery
Posts: 2958
Joined: 27 Sep 2006, 19:19

Re: Some custom brushes disappeared and TVPaint is showing a currupt message

Post by D.T. Nethery » 08 Apr 2021, 14:44

Perhaps this is a similar issue ? --

The HB pencil in Tool Presets v3 shows the icon still present , and the tool works, but every time I click on HB Pencil I get this odd pop-up message,

16f6a479-dafa-4e4d-b10e-75492a5e47db.dip - OK

ToolPresetsv3.png
Click OK and nothing happens ... but the tool still works to draw with. It's a strange thing that it only happens with that one tool in the Tool Presets v3 panel.
It seems to be saying something is missing (?). This started happening on the update to 11.5.1 , not before.

Fortunately, an easy fix. Delete Tool Presets v3 , then restart TVPaint and it regenerates the tool bar and now the HB pencil functions normally on selecting it , without the odd pop-up message appearing. But I thought perhaps this was related in some way to the problem Soom is experiencing, so I am reporting it.

Animator, TVPaint Beta-Tester, Animation Educator and Consultant.
MAC OS 10.14.6 , Macbook Pro Retina 15-inch, Late 2013,
2.3 GHz Intel Core i7, 16 GB Memory , TVPaint PRO 11.5.1 - 64bit ,
Wacom Cintiq 21 UX ,Wacom Intuos Pro 5 , Wacom driver version 6.3.39-1

User avatar
Xavier
Site Admin
Posts: 823
Joined: 01 Oct 2019, 11:08

Re: Some custom brushes disappeared and TVPaint is showing a currupt message

Post by Xavier » 08 Apr 2021, 16:08

Weird :shock:

In any way, the popup message is not very explicit and such behaviour was clearly unexpected :(
The idea was just to show a message when a file couldn't be imported into TVPaint.

So yesterday I dug into the code to at least put an actual message ; but in the end I believe that we'll get rid of this popup message, once for all. Too many side effects.
Short but strong

User avatar
Soom
Posts: 835
Joined: 25 Jul 2011, 16:25
Location: World
Contact:

Re: Some custom brushes disappeared and TVPaint is showing a currupt message

Post by Soom » 15 Apr 2021, 21:03

Things are worse on Windows - now I have copied my config from Mac to Windows, and NONE of my custom brushes work! all show this funny message with the .dip file. I know I can go back to Mac, export my panels, and import them again into new TVPaint installation, but this is A LOT OF WORK... :'(
Copying config files used to work with previous versions without any problems... Somehow TVPaint 11.5.1 corrupts copied configuration files...

UPDATE: after trying some troubleshooting I noticed, that every time I click a custom brush that doesn't work, a completely new .ini file is created in the CustomPanel folder but there is no .dip file with that name. It seems like TVPaint is giving custom brushes new names and never finds their .dip files
Hackintosh, OS 10.13.6, Cintiq 22", TVP Pro 11.5.1, http://danasb.com

Post Reply