My project disappeared - nothing in the timeline Topic is solved

Please use this part to report bugs & errors, ask questions & "How to..."
Post Reply
BruceM
Posts: 227
Joined: 17 Jan 2014, 15:39

My project disappeared - nothing in the timeline

Post by BruceM » 04 May 2019, 20:58

Help! I am a day into a project and had an issue which required restarting my computer. I made sure that i saved my work before restarting.
When the computer restarted, I clicked on the TVP file, which is on my desktop. TVP opened, but my project isn't visible. There's nothing in the timeline.

I've checked the TVP file on my desktop and it has 8MB stored in it, so I'm thinking that the project must be in there still.
Does anyone have an idea of how I can retrieve my project?

User avatar
slowtiger
Posts: 2325
Joined: 08 May 2008, 21:10
Location: berlin, germany
Contact:

Re: My project disappeared - nothing in the timeline

Post by slowtiger » 04 May 2019, 21:19

Most likely: click "project" in the timeline panel, then choose your clip.
TVP 10.0.18, Mac Pro Quadcore 3 GHz, 16 GB RAM, OS 10.11, QT 7.7.3

BruceM
Posts: 227
Joined: 17 Jan 2014, 15:39

Re: My project disappeared - nothing in the timeline

Post by BruceM » 04 May 2019, 23:02

Slowtiger,

I tried that and what I'm seeing in the "project" view is this image attached. There are two vertical white rectangles with horizontal green lines through them, and I can see tiny type at the top of the frame with my project title in it.
When I click on them, it simply pops back to the timeline view.

BruceM
Posts: 227
Joined: 17 Jan 2014, 15:39

Re: My project disappeared - nothing in the timeline

Post by BruceM » 04 May 2019, 23:10

Oops, I forgot to attach the image. Here it is...
Attachments
Project view.png
Project view.png (13.51 KiB) Viewed 1546 times

User avatar
slowtiger
Posts: 2325
Joined: 08 May 2008, 21:10
Location: berlin, germany
Contact:

Re: My project disappeared - nothing in the timeline

Post by slowtiger » 05 May 2019, 08:30

You see the 2 clips inside your project. One of them is empty. The other one should contain your artwork.
TVP 10.0.18, Mac Pro Quadcore 3 GHz, 16 GB RAM, OS 10.11, QT 7.7.3

BruceM
Posts: 227
Joined: 17 Jan 2014, 15:39

Re: My project disappeared - nothing in the timeline

Post by BruceM » 05 May 2019, 15:22

You're right! When I click on the right side rectangle, and then drag my curser along the timeline, the images are there. My problem now is that I don't know how to get that clip to open into the normal timeline, with the different layers, where I can continue to work on it.
Do you know how I can get that to happen?

User avatar
slowtiger
Posts: 2325
Joined: 08 May 2008, 21:10
Location: berlin, germany
Contact:

Re: My project disappeared - nothing in the timeline

Post by slowtiger » 05 May 2019, 17:19

See manual about project and clip.
TVP 10.0.18, Mac Pro Quadcore 3 GHz, 16 GB RAM, OS 10.11, QT 7.7.3

BruceM
Posts: 227
Joined: 17 Jan 2014, 15:39

Re: My project disappeared - nothing in the timeline

Post by BruceM » 05 May 2019, 22:54

I've gone through the Project and Clip portion of the manual, but am still not understanding how to get my timeline view back with my project in it.
I don't mean to be a pest, but I'm running out of time. Can you give me a clue?

User avatar
slowtiger
Posts: 2325
Joined: 08 May 2008, 21:10
Location: berlin, germany
Contact:

Re: My project disappeared - nothing in the timeline

Post by slowtiger » 06 May 2019, 08:15

Didn't you ever doubleclick on one of the rectangles? These 2 are your clips. One empty, one (hopefully) full. There's 2 riders there: project and timeline to switch between these views.
TVP 10.0.18, Mac Pro Quadcore 3 GHz, 16 GB RAM, OS 10.11, QT 7.7.3

BruceM
Posts: 227
Joined: 17 Jan 2014, 15:39

Re: My project disappeared - nothing in the timeline

Post by BruceM » 06 May 2019, 11:44

Yes, I've been trying that. When I double click on them individually, all that it's doing it popping the view back to the Timeline view, which shows nothing in it but the single empty instance with two dark horizontal bands - one across the top and one across the bottom (image attached).
When I single click on the Project on frame 2 (the right side rectangle), it makes it so that if I drag the curser across the timeline, I can see my animation drawings appearing in the project window. However, there's still nothing appearing in the timeline - no drawings, no levels, etc..

Does it sound like what I'm experiencing is possibly software glitch?
Attachments
Timeline view.png
Timeline view.png (8.35 KiB) Viewed 1507 times

User avatar
slowtiger
Posts: 2325
Joined: 08 May 2008, 21:10
Location: berlin, germany
Contact:

Re: My project disappeared - nothing in the timeline

Post by slowtiger » 06 May 2019, 12:35

OK, that sounds like something buggy. You need help from admins.
TVP 10.0.18, Mac Pro Quadcore 3 GHz, 16 GB RAM, OS 10.11, QT 7.7.3

User avatar
Paul Fierlinger
Posts: 7657
Joined: 03 May 2008, 12:05
Location: Pennsylvania USA
Contact:

Re: My project disappeared - nothing in the timeline

Post by Paul Fierlinger » 06 May 2019, 12:44

Have you tried reinstalling TVP?
Paul
http://www.slocumfilm.com
Desktop PC Win10-Pro -64 bit OS; 32.0 GB RAM
Processor: i7-2600 CPU@3.40GHz
AMD FirePro V7900; Intuos4 Wacom tablet

User avatar
Thierry
Site Admin
Posts: 2003
Joined: 07 Jan 2013, 08:28

Re: My project disappeared - nothing in the timeline

Post by Thierry » 07 May 2019, 15:05

*issue solved via email with Bruce :)*
P.S. Si votre question a trouvé réponse, marquez votre sujet comme Résolu.
P.S. If your question has been answered, mark your topic as Solved.

---
Avatar by Colombine Majou
---
Thierry CANTET

User avatar
Paul Fierlinger
Posts: 7657
Joined: 03 May 2008, 12:05
Location: Pennsylvania USA
Contact:

Re: My project disappeared - nothing in the timeline

Post by Paul Fierlinger » 07 May 2019, 15:22

Thierry, would you mind telling us what went wrong so that we can all learn from it. I'm also curious to hear if it's just a MAC issue or not?
Paul
http://www.slocumfilm.com
Desktop PC Win10-Pro -64 bit OS; 32.0 GB RAM
Processor: i7-2600 CPU@3.40GHz
AMD FirePro V7900; Intuos4 Wacom tablet

Post Reply