How do you do shutter focus/blur effects in TVpaint?

Please use this part to report bugs & errors, ask questions & "How to..."
Post Reply
holyax
Posts: 63
Joined: 19 Oct 2012, 11:06

How do you do shutter focus/blur effects in TVpaint?

Post by holyax » 11 Apr 2019, 11:47

Hi everyone! I have a scene with 2 layers, one is foreground and one is background. How do I make the layer with the foreground blurry for a few seconds and the the background normal? And then vice versa?

I guess its in multiplane camera somewhere :)

User avatar
slowtiger
Posts: 2321
Joined: 08 May 2008, 21:10
Location: berlin, germany
Contact:

Re: How do you do shutter focus/blur effects in TVpaint?

Post by slowtiger » 11 Apr 2019, 12:06

There's a blur FX, try that?
TVP 10.0.18, Mac Pro Quadcore 3 GHz, 16 GB RAM, OS 10.11, QT 7.7.3

holyax
Posts: 63
Joined: 19 Oct 2012, 11:06

Re: How do you do shutter focus/blur effects in TVpaint?

Post by holyax » 11 Apr 2019, 13:00

slowtiger wrote:
11 Apr 2019, 12:06
There's a blur FX, try that?
Yes, I tried that but it only offers a blur radius (so I cant make the whole layer blurry, just the area around the circle.

User avatar
D.T. Nethery
Posts: 2414
Joined: 27 Sep 2006, 19:19

Re: How do you do shutter focus/blur effects in TVpaint?

Post by D.T. Nethery » 11 Apr 2019, 13:21

holyax wrote:
11 Apr 2019, 11:47
Hi everyone! I have a scene with 2 layers, one is foreground and one is background. How do I make the layer with the foreground blurry for a few seconds and the the background normal? And then vice versa?

I guess its in multiplane camera somewhere

You could set up layers in the Multiplane Camera stage to get a rack focus effect , but as suggested by Slowtigre, you could simply apply the Gaussian Blur FX (FX Stack > Blur > Gaussian Blur) , by starting off with one layer blurred and the other sharp .... the first layer (blurred) has keyframes set to transition from blurred to sharp , the second layer (sharp) has the same keyframes inverted to transition from sharp to blurred.

Image
Attachments
focus shift.gif
MAC OS 10.12.6 , Macbook Pro Retina 15-inch, Mid 2015,
2.5 GHz Intel Core i7, 16 GB Memory , TVPaint PRO 11.0.8, 64bit -
Wacom Cintiq 21 UX - Wacom Intuos Pro 5 - driver version 6.3.20-8

User avatar
slowtiger
Posts: 2321
Joined: 08 May 2008, 21:10
Location: berlin, germany
Contact:

Re: How do you do shutter focus/blur effects in TVpaint?

Post by slowtiger » 11 Apr 2019, 13:30

holyax wrote:
11 Apr 2019, 13:00
Yes, I tried that but it only offers a blur radius (so I cant make the whole layer blurry, just the area around the circle.
Uhm, what? Of course any effect affects the whole layer (or a whole selection).
TVP 10.0.18, Mac Pro Quadcore 3 GHz, 16 GB RAM, OS 10.11, QT 7.7.3

User avatar
daninski
Posts: 169
Joined: 01 Oct 2015, 12:13
Location: Budapest/Newport
Contact:

Re: How do you do shutter focus/blur effects in TVpaint?

Post by daninski » 11 Apr 2019, 13:48

Just a gaussian bur will effect the whole layer unless you've got a selection active?
http://www.daninski.com
Award winning director with an iMac from about 2013 and a cintiq from about 2009, there's some RAM too.

User avatar
slowtiger
Posts: 2321
Joined: 08 May 2008, 21:10
Location: berlin, germany
Contact:

Re: How do you do shutter focus/blur effects in TVpaint?

Post by slowtiger » 11 Apr 2019, 13:50

Well of course!
(Didn't you even test this?)
TVP 10.0.18, Mac Pro Quadcore 3 GHz, 16 GB RAM, OS 10.11, QT 7.7.3

holyax
Posts: 63
Joined: 19 Oct 2012, 11:06

Re: How do you do shutter focus/blur effects in TVpaint?

Post by holyax » 11 Apr 2019, 14:04

D.T. Nethery wrote:
11 Apr 2019, 13:21
holyax wrote:
11 Apr 2019, 11:47
Hi everyone! I have a scene with 2 layers, one is foreground and one is background. How do I make the layer with the foreground blurry for a few seconds and the the background normal? And then vice versa?

I guess its in multiplane camera somewhere

You could set up layers in the Multiplane Camera stage to get a rack focus effect , but as suggested by Slowtigre, you could simply apply the Gaussian Blur FX (FX Stack > Blur > Gaussian Blur) , by starting off with one layer blurred and the other sharp .... the first layer (blurred) has keyframes set to transition from blurred to sharp , the second layer (sharp) has the same keyframes inverted to transition from sharp to blurred.

Image
YESSSSSSS!! Thank you so much!! Thats exactly what I wanted!!!

❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤

Post Reply