Stupid problem with a floating project window Topic is solved

Please use this part to report bugs & errors, ask questions & "How to..."
Post Reply
User avatar
skomdra
Posts: 119
Joined: 14 Aug 2010, 14:32

Stupid problem with a floating project window

Post by skomdra » 28 Aug 2018, 10:54

Hi,

I might be doing something wrong, or missing something hidden in the interface which I am not aware of. Every now and then I end up with the situation that every project which I open (or I make a new one) opens in the floating zoom window.

(I know it is sometimes useful to have floating windows, especially if you have more monitors. But on my HD cintiq this is irritating.)

I don't understand why is this default behavior? And how to setup TVP to have default windows non floating and then if I really need it to float I can click the icon.

I was looking into preferences and didn't find anything which sets this window behavior. And funny enough - for some reason sometimes this doesn't happen. It behaves exactly like I want to, the new project or loaded project is nested in the interface so I can jump from project to project by simply clicking one of the tabs. And then, I don't know why, goes back to the floating windows horror. It makes me insane.

(this happens on the windows 10 machine which I use in the office)

Can anyone of you wonderful people show me the way? Thank you!
-----
TV Paint 11.0.3-64 bits ; iMac (Retina 5K, 27-inch, Late 2014) ; OSX 10.12.5 (16F73) ; AMD Radeon R9 M295X 4096 MB; Wacom Driver version: 6.3.22-3

Padruig
Posts: 7
Joined: 04 Jul 2011, 16:33

Re: Stupid problem with a floating project window

Post by Padruig » 28 Aug 2018, 20:52

It sounds like you might be hitting a shortcut key to toggle the interface-inlay view. I cannot remember the default shortcut key for this but you can find out what it is by viewing your shortcuts and searching for inlay view.

Hope that helps.

abron
Posts: 2
Joined: 02 Aug 2018, 00:02

Re: Stupid problem with a floating project window

Post by abron » 30 Aug 2018, 18:41

I just got this problem too, it randomly started floating my project windows instead of opening them in tabs nestled together. I'm very new to TVP so I have no idea if I pressed something to cause this. I did try going into view>inlay view but this causes all except one project window to be visible. to see the others I have to uncheck inlay view, and I'm back to all my floating windows.

I'm running TVP11 Pro 11.0.8 on OSX 10.13.6

any help would be greatly appreciated!

User avatar
skomdra
Posts: 119
Joined: 14 Aug 2010, 14:32

Re: Stupid problem with a floating project window

Post by skomdra » 30 Aug 2018, 19:26

I second that, inlay view has nothing to do with it. And my colleagues in the studio are experiencing the same thing, sometimes it opens as tabbed windows, sometimes it opens as floating window. It has no sense.
-----
TV Paint 11.0.3-64 bits ; iMac (Retina 5K, 27-inch, Late 2014) ; OSX 10.12.5 (16F73) ; AMD Radeon R9 M295X 4096 MB; Wacom Driver version: 6.3.22-3

Cardin Collins
Posts: 52
Joined: 06 Sep 2010, 17:59

Re: Stupid problem with a floating project window

Post by Cardin Collins » 30 Aug 2018, 19:30

The Inlay View does not have an assigned shortcut on the default configuration. So unless you changed the shortcut yourself, the only way to accidentally trigger the inlay view is to select it in the drop down window. There is an option, "New Zoom Window", which will create a new floating window. It does have a default shortcut which is the 'M' key.

Its likely that you inadvertently hit 'M' causing a new zoom window to appear. To get rid of these extra windows, hit the x in the right hand corner of the window. Don't confuse the window 'x' with the project tab 'x' though. You can have multiple windows open for the same project.

Pretty handy feature. I for one, do find the TVPaint interface extremely intuitive. For those willing to put forth the effort to learn it. It takes time to adjust but its worth it :D

To avoid confusion, I think maybe the New Zoom Window option shouldn't have a default shortcut. I remember being frustrated with this at one time as well.
TVPaint PRO 11.0.8 (64bit)
1 - Desktop: Intel Core i7-3770K CPU 3.5GHz, GeForce GTX 750 Ti, 16 GB, Win 10
2 - Tablet/Laptop: Sony Vaio Flip15a - Intel Core i7 (4th Gen) 4500U / 1.8 GHz, NVIDIA GeForce GT 735M, 16 GB, Win 10

User avatar
skomdra
Posts: 119
Joined: 14 Aug 2010, 14:32

Re: Stupid problem with a floating project window

Post by skomdra » 30 Aug 2018, 20:01

Makes sense, Cardin, thnx, I will give it a try tomorrow! And I do agree, the interface is intuitive, this is the first time it made me frustrated in years :D
-----
TV Paint 11.0.3-64 bits ; iMac (Retina 5K, 27-inch, Late 2014) ; OSX 10.12.5 (16F73) ; AMD Radeon R9 M295X 4096 MB; Wacom Driver version: 6.3.22-3

Cardin Collins
Posts: 52
Joined: 06 Sep 2010, 17:59

Re: Stupid problem with a floating project window

Post by Cardin Collins » 30 Aug 2018, 23:03

skomdra wrote:
30 Aug 2018, 20:01
Makes sense, Cardin, thnx, I will give it a try tomorrow! And I do agree, the interface is intuitive, this is the first time it made me frustrated in years :D
I forgot to mention that right clicking on the auto-fit icon (the two-headed diagonal arrow) in the bottom right corner of the project window will also create a new zoom window. I think I may have accidentally done that before.

Another aspect of this that may be confusing is that it seems the zoom window attribute gets transferred from one project to a newly created one. I think this is why a new project sometimes opens in a floating window.
TVPaint PRO 11.0.8 (64bit)
1 - Desktop: Intel Core i7-3770K CPU 3.5GHz, GeForce GTX 750 Ti, 16 GB, Win 10
2 - Tablet/Laptop: Sony Vaio Flip15a - Intel Core i7 (4th Gen) 4500U / 1.8 GHz, NVIDIA GeForce GT 735M, 16 GB, Win 10

abron
Posts: 2
Joined: 02 Aug 2018, 00:02

Re: Stupid problem with a floating project window

Post by abron » 31 Aug 2018, 01:05

I found my problem, because I unintentionally moved my menu bar from up top to the side, it removed all of the project tabs, so when I opened new projects they would open in floating windows as like additional zoom windows. That's why when I'd close them the dialogue box would ask me if I want to close that view window, and the project would still remain open though hidden.

I found the solution here:
https://www.tvpaint.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=9615

just moving that menu bar back to the top solved the floating windows for me and revealed all the projects as tabs

Post Reply