2 layers of the same colour create strange edges after export Topic is solved

Please use this part to report bugs & errors, ask questions & "How to..."
Post Reply
ahohner
Posts: 3
Joined: 01 Mar 2017, 16:03

2 layers of the same colour create strange edges after export

Post by ahohner » 11 Jul 2018, 07:35

Hello,

I'm working on tv paint 11 pro with a mac. I was doing a test to draw different parts of a stadium on different layers export them separately on alpha channel (mov - rgba(32 bits) - no background) and then recompose them in After Effects.
We did a test and after the export, these strange outlines appeared where the layers overlap. It is not super visible but disturbing enough. I've never experienced similar in Tv paint, and whilst drawing in the software I did not see it, so I don't know if it is something with how I exported or does After Effects do this? Does anyone have an idea?

Thank you!
Attachments
stadium error1.jpg
stadium error1.jpg (94.17 KiB) Viewed 2156 times

User avatar
slowtiger
Posts: 2230
Joined: 08 May 2008, 21:10
Location: berlin, germany
Contact:

Re: 2 layers of the same colour create strange edges after export

Post by slowtiger » 11 Jul 2018, 08:01

Have a test and export the upper layer with 1. pre-muliplied alpha 2. without pre-multiplied alpha. Import to AFX and render. On of the should work fine now. Remember that you have setings in AFX as well about how to treat alpha. Write down the setting (in both programs) that works and stick to it.
TVP 10.0.18, Mac Pro Quadcore 3 GHz, 16 GB RAM, OS 10.11, QT 7.7.3

ahohner
Posts: 3
Joined: 01 Mar 2017, 16:03

Re: 2 layers of the same colour create strange edges after export

Post by ahohner » 11 Jul 2018, 08:09

aaand that worked. thank you!

I don't use often afx I usually work with people who uses afx. But I had the feeling it might be the causes of problems.

User avatar
slowtiger
Posts: 2230
Joined: 08 May 2008, 21:10
Location: berlin, germany
Contact:

Re: 2 layers of the same colour create strange edges after export

Post by slowtiger » 11 Jul 2018, 10:37

The two multiply settings make sense when exporting stuff which will be bright elements on dark or dark elements on bright, since they tint the feathered outline to bright or dark, respectively. I just can't ever remember which does which, so I do a test every time ...
TVP 10.0.18, Mac Pro Quadcore 3 GHz, 16 GB RAM, OS 10.11, QT 7.7.3

Post Reply