boiling

Please use this part to report bugs & errors, ask questions & "How to..."
Post Reply
User avatar
Catriona
Posts: 19
Joined: 10 Apr 2018, 09:34
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

boiling

Post by Catriona » 30 May 2018, 12:19

Hi folks - I've searched and failed to find the answer on this one. If my character stops moving but I want some boiling, I just want the last two images to repeat indefinitely. I thought I'd get this by setting the repeat images value and then making the end value loop, but no, it repeats from the start of the sequence, not the last two images. Then I read something about faux fixe but I can't find it by right clicking. I'm sure it must be something simple but I'm tying myself in knots.

thanks

Catriona

User avatar
slowtiger
Posts: 2208
Joined: 08 May 2008, 21:10
Location: berlin, germany
Contact:

Re: boiling

Post by slowtiger » 30 May 2018, 12:44

Create your repeating frames. Expand the last frame so it has lots of exposures. Select the second frame in this instance. Right-click inside this, there's the option for faux fixe. In your case, you'd type "2". Done.
TVP 10.0.18, Mac Pro Quadcore 3 GHz, 16 GB RAM, OS 10.11, QT 7.7.3

User avatar
hellofilms
Posts: 104
Joined: 12 Nov 2012, 12:13
Location: Älvkarleby, Sweden
Contact:

Re: boiling

Post by hellofilms » 30 May 2018, 13:01

Faux fixe is called "repeat images" it the latest version.

/ Mattias
Windows 10 - TVpaint 11 standard - Wacom Intuos Pro

User avatar
Catriona
Posts: 19
Joined: 10 Apr 2018, 09:34
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: boiling

Post by Catriona » 30 May 2018, 13:06

Thanks both, that helped me get there. I also hadn't realised that it was counting frames rather than images so I needed to put in a repeat value of 4 to have it switching between 2 images on twos.

User avatar
D.T. Nethery
Posts: 2319
Joined: 27 Sep 2006, 19:19

Re: boiling

Post by D.T. Nethery » 11 Jul 2018, 18:46

I still can't get Repeat Images - Random to work . I think there is a bug. Can a TVPaint developer confirm ?

Example: I have 6 tracebacks that I'd like to expose at random for a 'shimmering' (boiling) effect instead of a dead hold.

I have 1 , 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 .

I created 72 exposures following the last image (6) .

Here is the type of pattern I'd expect to see as "random" exposures:

1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 2, 5, 1, 6, 4, 3, 5, 1, 4, 2, 6 ,3, 2, 5, 3, 4, 1, 6 , 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 2, 5, 1, 6, 4, 3, 5, 1, 4, 3, 5, 1, 4, 2, 6 ,3, 2, 5, 3, 1 , 4 , 6, 2, 5 , 1, 3 ... and so forth .


However , if I set the Repeat Images Value to 6 , I get:

1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 2, 4, 6 , 2, 4, 6 , 2, 4, 6 , 2, 4, 6 , 2, 4, 6 , 2, 4, 6 , 2, 4, 6 , , (repeat of the same drawings 2, 4, 6 looping over and over , not a random exposure.)

If I set the Repeat Images Value to 5, I get:

1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, (repeat of 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 looping , not a random exposure.)

If I set the Repeat Images Value to 4 , I get :

1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 , 4, 6, 4, 6, 4, 6, 4, 6, 4, 6, 4, 6, 4, 6, 4, 6, 4, 6, 4, 6, 4, 6, 4, 6, (repeat of two drawings 4, 6, looping , not a random exposure .)

If I set the Repeat Images Value to 3 , I get:

1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 , 4, 5, 6 , 4, 5, 6 , 4, 5, 6 , 4, 5, 6 , 4, 5, 6 , 4, 5, 6 , 4, 5, 6 , (repeat of 4, 5, 6 , looping , not a random exposure.)

If I set the Repeat Images Value to 2 , I get :

1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 , 6 ---------------------------------------------------------------------- (a repeat of 6 , no animation , just a hold . )

If I set the Repeat Images Value to 1 , I get:

the same result as 2 , just a repeat of 6 , as a hold , no animation.


If I set the Repeat Images Value to a higher value than 6 , such as 8 , I get this:

1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 , 4 , 6 , 1, 2, 4, 6, 1, 2, 4, 6, 1, 2, 4, 6, 1, 2, 4, 6, 1, 2, 4, 6, (a repeat of 1, 2, 4, 6 , looping , not a random exposure . )


Is this a bug , or is there a mis-translation of how the term "random" is being used in this case ?

I would understand "random" defined as: "proceeding, made, or occurring without definite aim, reason, or pattern" ... without arrangement , in a haphazard manner. "

In this case it would be in the sense of "occurring without definite pattern" .

So my understanding of exposing 6 drawings in a random manner would be something like this:

1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 2, 5, 1, 6, 4, 3, 5, 1, 4, 2, 6 ,3, 2, 5, 3, 4, 1, 6 , 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 2, 5, 1, 6, 4, 3, 5, 1, 4, 2, 6 ,3, 2, 5, 3, 1 , 4, 5, 2 , 6, 3

This random exposure can be used for things like a "boiling" traceback cycle or for "staggered" animation , where there is a violent trembling or shaking effect.
Random Staggered Exposure.png


.
MAC OS 10.11.6 , Macbook Pro Retina 15-inch, Mid 2015,
2.5 GHz Intel Core i7, 16 GB Memory , TVPaint PRO 11.0.6, 64bit -
Wacom Cintiq 21 UX - Wacom Intuos Pro 5 - driver version 6.3.20-8

Svengali
Posts: 1185
Joined: 28 Dec 2006, 10:08
Contact:

Re: boiling

Post by Svengali » 11 Jul 2018, 21:20

After testing, the Random option in Repeat Images definitely looks broken to me, as well.

In light of the post I made concerning randomized stamping in place (from an AnimBrush), your mini-tutorial on "stagger vibration" options makes me think there is an opportunity for a plugin that could automate and
"shape" the generation of those various, semi-randomized options... something beyond pure randomized numbers in a given range. hmm.

Random Walk algorithms?

sven
Desktop: tvp Pro 11.0.8-64bit, Win8.1 - 24GB ram -2TB HHD - 256GB SSD - intuos4 - d.ver.6.3.15-3
Android Tablet: release 11, Samsung Galaxy Note10.1 - 32GB internal - microSD 32GB

User avatar
melanie
Site Admin
Posts: 309
Joined: 12 Sep 2017, 07:13

Re: boiling

Post by melanie » 18 Jul 2018, 11:14

We are adding this bug to fix in our To-Do List
Mélanie Do Monte • Sales & Support

Post Reply