Highlight

Please use this part to report bugs & errors, ask questions & "How to..."
Post Reply
User avatar
daninski
Posts: 153
Joined: 01 Oct 2015, 12:13
Location: Budapest/Newport
Contact:

Highlight

Post by daninski » 20 Dec 2017, 11:18

Quick question, I'm just investigating the new stuff whilst I have some free time, with the colour group option, is there any way to pick the second colour? So the shade isn't always black? I know you can do that with the gradient group, but the light source moving about is nice. Unless I'm just doing it wrong and I should use both?
http://www.daninski.com
Award winning director with an iMac from about 2013 and a cintiq from about 2009, there's some RAM too.

User avatar
melanie
Site Admin
Posts: 285
Joined: 12 Sep 2017, 07:13

Re: Highlight

Post by melanie » 27 Dec 2017, 15:56

If you are not using the Gradient Group, you can only change the color of the light, not the shadow. The only way to change the shadow color in the Highlight is in the Gradient Group.
Mélanie Do Monte • Sales & Support

User avatar
melanie
Site Admin
Posts: 285
Joined: 12 Sep 2017, 07:13

Re: Highlight

Post by melanie » 28 Dec 2017, 11:13

In this example I disabled the Color group to use only the Gradient Group:
gradient group.png
I chose to use 3 different colors in my gradient, the white being the light, the blue the color of my form and the red my shadow.
I set the profile as such to give a depth impression with the Highlight and get a better display of the different colors of my gradient.
If you wish to animate your Highlight, you need to generate keys with the Angle value.
Mélanie Do Monte • Sales & Support

bestazy
Posts: 1
Joined: 23 Jan 2018, 16:43

Re: Highlight

Post by bestazy » 24 Jan 2018, 08:00

Hi all!
I've been using TVPaint for quite a while. There's one issue I haven't resolved though. I'm trying to shade on a different layer without going over the colored area. Shading on the same layer as the color won't cut it because It would be difficult to later adjust the shading if I'd want to change something. Anyone know a TVPaint function similar to Photoshop or Paint Tool Sai's clipping mask?
Cheers

User avatar
daninski
Posts: 153
Joined: 01 Oct 2015, 12:13
Location: Budapest/Newport
Contact:

Re: Highlight

Post by daninski » 24 Jan 2018, 13:43

If you're talking about the clipping mask then the stencil function is the same in TVPaint isn't it?
http://www.daninski.com
Award winning director with an iMac from about 2013 and a cintiq from about 2009, there's some RAM too.

Elodie
Posts: 13913
Joined: 06 Jan 2009, 09:53
Location: Metz

Re: Highlight

Post by Elodie » 25 Jan 2018, 06:07

@Dan : Not really. Stencils are an interesting solution, but not in that specific case.

If Bestazy wants to use the Highlight, he should better create an extra top layer combine the Fx "colour > image source", define that source to be a coloured layer (or anything else), then add the Highlight (with the option " light only" ticked).

User avatar
daninski
Posts: 153
Joined: 01 Oct 2015, 12:13
Location: Budapest/Newport
Contact:

Re: Highlight

Post by daninski » 25 Jan 2018, 08:24

Ah ok, I do that by duplicating the matte / colour layer and then doing the highlight on that dupe layer, with light only selected.
http://www.daninski.com
Award winning director with an iMac from about 2013 and a cintiq from about 2009, there's some RAM too.

Elodie
Posts: 13913
Joined: 06 Jan 2009, 09:53
Location: Metz

Re: Highlight

Post by Elodie » 25 Jan 2018, 16:22

That's possible too :)

Post Reply