Wacom ExpressKey Remote + TVPaint (ENG or different language)

Please use this part to report bugs & errors, ask questions & "How to..."
Post Reply
User avatar
Animationriver
Posts: 61
Joined: 02 Jul 2017, 09:04
Location: Moscow
Contact:

Wacom ExpressKey Remote + TVPaint (ENG or different language)

Post by Animationriver » 02 Nov 2017, 15:09

Hello! Question to the developers of software.
I have a remote control for hot keys "Wacom ExpressKey Remote". Especially for TVPAint I collected hot keys. I have a button = the "UNDO" command. When the MAC OS system is in English ALL OK! But if the MAC OS system works in a different language (in my case Russian) ... I GET the "Save" command on this button. WHY? This is very unexpected, when in the process of work I expect "UNDO".
A technical consultant from WACOM Knows about this problem, and has received this question many times. His answer is: The driver from WACOM has nothing to do with such a problem. This can be solved only by software developers and MAC OS developers.
My question is:
In the new version of the TVPaint program, can you get the same effect from pressing the button on the remote control in English and Russian (another keyboard layout language)? Or not?
Thanks!

User avatar
Elodie
Site Admin
Posts: 13298
Joined: 06 Jan 2009, 09:53
Location: Metz

Re: Wacom ExpressKey Remote + TVPaint (ENG or different language)

Post by Elodie » 02 Nov 2017, 16:55

Animationriver wrote:
02 Nov 2017, 15:09
A technical consultant from WACOM Knows about this problem, and has received this question many times. His answer is: The driver from WACOM has nothing to do with such a problem. This can be solved only by software developers and MAC OS developers.
If you use CMd + Z in TVPaint (with your keyboard, not with the ExpressKey), what does happen ? Does it undo or does it save ?
Questions or problems regarding the forum ? Please contact me by PM
Question regarding TVPaint or need a quotation ? Please contact me by email

User avatar
Animationriver
Posts: 61
Joined: 02 Jul 2017, 09:04
Location: Moscow
Contact:

Re: Wacom ExpressKey Remote + TVPaint (ENG or different language)

Post by Animationriver » 02 Nov 2017, 17:21

Elodie wrote:
02 Nov 2017, 16:55
Animationriver wrote:
02 Nov 2017, 15:09
A technical consultant from WACOM Knows about this problem, and has received this question many times. His answer is: The driver from WACOM has nothing to do with such a problem. This can be solved only by software developers and MAC OS developers.
If you use CMd + Z in TVPaint (with your keyboard, not with the ExpressKey), what does happen ? Does it undo or does it save ?
Ок. Little video in Attach.
MAc Os Sierra 10.12.6
Thanks!
Attachments
cmd+z.mp4
(9.32 MiB) Downloaded 7 times

User avatar
Elodie
Site Admin
Posts: 13298
Joined: 06 Jan 2009, 09:53
Location: Metz

Re: Wacom ExpressKey Remote + TVPaint (ENG or different language)

Post by Elodie » 03 Nov 2017, 04:08

you could just answer me :lol:
Questions or problems regarding the forum ? Please contact me by PM
Question regarding TVPaint or need a quotation ? Please contact me by email

User avatar
Animationriver
Posts: 61
Joined: 02 Jul 2017, 09:04
Location: Moscow
Contact:

Re: Wacom ExpressKey Remote + TVPaint (ENG or different language)

Post by Animationriver » 03 Nov 2017, 05:23

Elodie wrote:
03 Nov 2017, 04:08
you could just answer me :lol:
I apologize, some of my behaviors are useful. But sometimes they are redundant.
Thank you for taking this condescending. :D :D :D
p.s. in fact)), I already started to do video when came your additional question)
fun

User avatar
Elodie
Site Admin
Posts: 13298
Joined: 06 Jan 2009, 09:53
Location: Metz

Re: Wacom ExpressKey Remote + TVPaint (ENG or different language)

Post by Elodie » 03 Nov 2017, 06:32

I didn't want to look condescending! :shock:

It's actually a very good habit to record videos and post screenshots, don't change this habit!

I was just expecting a simple answer to my question because I'm on my phone and I cannot download the video right now... Which means I won't be able to watch the video and answer you before a few hours.
Questions or problems regarding the forum ? Please contact me by PM
Question regarding TVPaint or need a quotation ? Please contact me by email

User avatar
Elodie
Site Admin
Posts: 13298
Joined: 06 Jan 2009, 09:53
Location: Metz

Re: Wacom ExpressKey Remote + TVPaint (ENG or different language)

Post by Elodie » 03 Nov 2017, 08:00

I watched the video. It does not answer my question.

Again :

If you use CMd + Z in TVPaint (with your keyboard, not with the ExpressKey), what will happen ? Is the result different when using Russian keyboard and American keyboard ?

Edit :

I've just tested :
The ExpressKey just links buttons to keys from the keyboard. So, when you change Keyboard options in Mac OS, it changes the keys too. If the key from the keyboard changes from "Z" to "W" > when you think doing CMD + Z, you're doing CMD + W, which mean you're asking to quit TVPaint.

Conclusion : the issue comes from the way Mac OS manages Russian Keyboard. We cannot fix that.
Questions or problems regarding the forum ? Please contact me by PM
Question regarding TVPaint or need a quotation ? Please contact me by email

User avatar
Animationriver
Posts: 61
Joined: 02 Jul 2017, 09:04
Location: Moscow
Contact:

Re: Wacom ExpressKey Remote + TVPaint (ENG or different language)

Post by Animationriver » 03 Nov 2017, 14:32

Conclusion : the issue comes from the way Mac OS manages Russian Keyboard. We cannot fix that.
[/quote]

Thank you for your experiment.
I am very glad that we understood each other.
I found a solution that closes this button problem on the "Wacom ExpressKey Remote".
It is very radical. But relieves the unexpected embarrassment during work.
Ta-daaamm))
I removed all the keyboard languages except English. And as long as I do not return the second language - I will work quietly in TVPaint.

p.s.the problem is completely solved by a script that deletes and returns the second language to the MAC OS ... but I do not know how.
Attachments
Снимок экрана 2017-11-03 в 17.23.03.jpg
Снимок экрана 2017-11-03 в 17.23.03.jpg (65.36 KiB) Viewed 83 times

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 22 guests