No preferences in 11.06? Topic is solved

Please use this part to report bugs & errors, ask questions & "How to..."
Post Reply
User avatar
David_Fine
Posts: 488
Joined: 29 Aug 2014, 16:39

No preferences in 11.06?

Post by David_Fine » 05 Oct 2017, 22:14

Just installed 11.06 and now the preferences option is greyed out, so unavailable. Why is that and how do I get preferences back?
David Fine
iMac late 2014 3.5 GHz, 32GB RAM
Snowden Fine Animation Inc.
Vancouver, Canada

User avatar
Elodie
Site Admin
Posts: 13292
Joined: 06 Jan 2009, 09:53
Location: Metz

Re: No preferences in 11.06?

Post by Elodie » 06 Oct 2017, 06:17

What ? :shock:
Questions or problems regarding the forum ? Please contact me by PM
Question regarding TVPaint or need a quotation ? Please contact me by email

User avatar
David_Fine
Posts: 488
Joined: 29 Aug 2014, 16:39

Re: No preferences in 11.06?

Post by David_Fine » 06 Oct 2017, 06:36

"What?" indeed. The menu item is grey and I can't access TVPaint preferences at all. What's going on? I just tried reinstalling 11.03 and it has the very same problem. I don't know when this happened as I don't go to preferences every day, but it is not limited to 11.06.
David Fine
iMac late 2014 3.5 GHz, 32GB RAM
Snowden Fine Animation Inc.
Vancouver, Canada

User avatar
Elodie
Site Admin
Posts: 13292
Joined: 06 Jan 2009, 09:53
Location: Metz

Re: No preferences in 11.06?

Post by Elodie » 06 Oct 2017, 06:55

I mean, could you post a picture or something ?

Edit : nevermind, you are talking about "preference" Mac-menu type...

You can access them in Edit > Preferences.
Questions or problems regarding the forum ? Please contact me by PM
Question regarding TVPaint or need a quotation ? Please contact me by email

User avatar
daninski
Posts: 101
Joined: 01 Oct 2015, 12:13
Location: Budapest/Newport
Contact:

Re: No preferences in 11.06?

Post by daninski » 06 Oct 2017, 07:16

Shift+D if you're lost :)
http://www.daninski.com
Award winning director with an iMac from about 2013 and a cintiq from about 2009, there's some RAM too.

User avatar
D.T. Nethery
Posts: 2077
Joined: 27 Sep 2006, 19:19

Re: No preferences in 11.06?

Post by D.T. Nethery » 06 Oct 2017, 10:59

Elodie wrote:
06 Oct 2017, 06:55
I mean, could you post a picture or something ?

Edit : nevermind, you are talking about "preference" Mac-menu type...

You can access them in Edit > Preferences.
Which raises a question about the interface design on the Mac version of TVPaint: Why cause confusion for Mac users by having "Preferences" listed in the menu under TVPaint Animation 11 Pro if it is greyed-out and is not a way to access the Preferences in TVPaint ? :|
No Preferences access under TVPaint Animation menu.jpg
No Preferences access under TVPaint Animation menu.jpg (28.09 KiB) Viewed 459 times
Why is that there at all , when to get to Preferences the user must go to Edit > Preferences ?
Access Preferences under Edit menu.jpg
Access Preferences under Edit menu.jpg (66.31 KiB) Viewed 459 times
.
MAC OS 10.11.6 , Macbook Pro Retina 15-inch, Mid 2015,
2.5 GHz Intel Core i7, 16 GB Memory , TVPaint PRO 11.0.6, 64bit -
Wacom Cintiq 21 UX - Wacom Intuos Pro 5 - driver version 6.3.20-8

User avatar
Elodie
Site Admin
Posts: 13292
Joined: 06 Jan 2009, 09:53
Location: Metz

Re: No preferences in 11.06?

Post by Elodie » 06 Oct 2017, 12:02

D.T. Nethery wrote:
06 Oct 2017, 10:59
Which raises a question about the interface design on the Mac version of TVPaint: Why cause confusion for Mac users by having "Preferences" listed in the menu under TVPaint Animation 11 Pro if it is greyed-out and is not a way to access the Preferences in TVPaint ? :|
That's because that menu is not made by TVPaint but by Apple. There is probably a way to link both preferences but we have other priorities right now.
Questions or problems regarding the forum ? Please contact me by PM
Question regarding TVPaint or need a quotation ? Please contact me by email

User avatar
David_Fine
Posts: 488
Joined: 29 Aug 2014, 16:39

Re: No preferences in 11.06?

Post by David_Fine » 06 Oct 2017, 12:36

Oh wow, I was looking at it under the wrong menu. Not sure why I forgot it was hidden under the Edit menu, which is unique to TVPaint on a Mac. I wonder why is is put in such an unconventional place so that we end up with an unusable pref link. I mean, I know we have a very simply workaround, but it must make it confusing for new users (and old forgetful users).
David Fine
iMac late 2014 3.5 GHz, 32GB RAM
Snowden Fine Animation Inc.
Vancouver, Canada

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests